1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Esteem - Rebooting at will? An Update is coming!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ære, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88
    Just want you all to know, LG is aware of the minor issues of the newly released Esteem. LG also recommends to do a hard reset, not a soft reset and which they claim that it will fix those minor issues.

    (hard reset) volume UP and Down at the same time, then power key hold ALL 3 until you see the LG boot logo come up, release. Recovery menu pops up, select wipe/clear data, wait once it's done, reboot. presto! :)

    There will be an update soon and yes, over the air.

    I can post more about the details later,

     

    Advertisement

    focusonme628, GIRLDROID856 and reilus like this.
  2. papichulo916

    papichulo916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    188
    30
    43
    student
    the 916
    Didn't even know there was an issue...
     
    infojluna likes this.
  3. floridachill71

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Right behind you
  4. JWhipple

    JWhipple Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    256
    40
    43
    Melbourne, FL
    [quote="
     
    double1 likes this.
  5. sealuva

    sealuva Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    92
    2
    16
    Male
    What is a FOTA update? I think the last three letter stand for "Over The Air", how about the "F"?
     
  6. betsuni78

    betsuni78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    118
    17
    38
    San Francisco
    Firmware?
     
    sealuva likes this.
  7. JWhipple

    JWhipple Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    256
    40
    43
    Melbourne, FL
    Correct
     
  8. Alexg314

    Alexg314 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Was taking a nap and woke up to the LG logo and "Download is in progress. Do not disconnect cable." Could this be it?
     
  9. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88
    Yes,

    That is one issues for sure! Reboot or Reformat. If not take it back in, the company should be aware of this as LG is and they're creating and update for it.

    You're issues I've only see a few times.

    Hang in there. LG's on it!
     
  10. crienn

    crienn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    32
    6
    16
    Miami, FL
    Hmm Ive gotten a message of FOTA failed this morning. Prob. because I rooted the phone yesterday with bloatware removed woops. But phone seems to be working great since day 1. Any chance will be seeing it on the metro website for manual update?
     
  11. double1

    double1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    159
    25
    43
    I ju st got the update. It seems to fix the 4g. It's working great now but could just be because the network is not busy right now.
     
  12. Flinsman

    Flinsman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Is there a way to check the phone (about phone, ect) to check if has been updated?
     
  13. 123KrisC

    123KrisC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Yeah I just woke up this morning and saw a pop up on my esteem saying that it has been updated.

    EDIT:
    I just found out that the update removes root access, but running the run.bat root still works. :)
     
  14. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    no more root?
     
  15. yahhboy

    yahhboy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011

    Sep 3, 2011
    786
    86
    78
    FL

    I think he means the update took away root and then he just ran the rooting process again and he had root :)
     
  16. Nuknfutz

    Nuknfutz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    80
    23
    18
    Here's a good one. My phone died last night while showing the update screen. Still having 4g connection issues. Is it probable i didn't get the update since phone croaked out? Thnx n advance
     
  17. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88

    yes. If it interupted the DL and Install, yes.

    Just go into the Corp store and have them send an email to have the network team do a manual push.

    I do it for customers when things like this happen.

    Hope this helps.

    and if they don't know what you're talking about, kindly ask for the store manager and if he/she still is clueless have them email their customer OPS team. They'll. Trust me lol

     
    XBarbarian and Nuknfutz like this.
  18. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88
    Those who have the FOTA update.

    Did anyone happen to catch if the baseband version # is dif or kernel# etc.

    Also, is any able to extract the new update so it can be manually installed for those who either have not yet received the update or was interupted or having 4G/3G connectivity issues to DL over the air.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88
    Ok.

    So I answered my own question.

    LG well this is why I enjoy LG products. They have their own update software for their phones (including ones sent from the provider as fota)

    go to this link so you can update your Esteem Mobile Support

    how do you know your Esteem has the new update..

    simplely check under settings/about phone, and look at your baseband or SW version. If yours says, MS910ZVA then you have the stock OS version, after the update it will show MS910ZVB

    Hope this helps those who would rather update now than to wait.

    *note* yes, you'll have to run oneclickroot again for the Esteem.

    and QPST or LGNSPT for the 3023/3024.prl update, the phone is still rootable.

    Enjoy!
     
  20. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    The OTA's will end up being a big problem in the future when they figure out how we are rooting our phones and plug they whole. If they can just send a signal to our phones whenever they want to unroot us. We have to find a way to disable this feature, if we want an update we could always do it manually using the method stated above.
     
    Gmash likes this.
  21. Alexg314

    Alexg314 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Updated, thanks!
     
  22. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    Whats in this update?
     
  23. papichulo916

    papichulo916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    188
    30
    43
    student
    the 916
    really i could care less about this update. mine hasn't updated and i'm actually quite happy with how the 4g is working, no issues for me.
     
  24. geetarstar

    geetarstar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    50
    5
    16
    +1 would like to know as well.
     
  25. Luna_11987

    Luna_11987 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    When I click the link you put on, I am taken to the websiter where I first must download the drivers. When I go to corresponding provider: Metro pcs there are two driver files to download. Do I download both?Even though one of the files says optimus android?

    I rooted my phone, would I have to unroot the phone before I do this process? I have been having the issue of the: Download is in progress. Do not disconnect cable. I dont know what else to do :(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...