1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG G2 Screen Freeze (blank screen) ??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Inked, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    Hi guys [​IMG]

    Over the past couple of weeks I've been having problems with my screen jumping a bit when opening or closing an app.

    I fixed this by going into the developer options and turning off all the animation scales.


    But now my screen keeps freezing when i have the screen on for a few seconds and i need to hit the power button to turn the screen off and then turn it back on and i get a few more seconds before it freezes again.


    The thing is, i don't think its actually a screen fault as for the few seconds it does work, it works perfectly, and if for example the screen freezes wile the dial pad is on the screen, i can still dial a phone number and when i turn the screen off and back on again , everything i typed while it was frozen is there.


    I've tried a soft reset and a factory reset but nothing is working, and if it is a hardware fault I'm not sure what part to replace.


    Any ideas guys ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    Anyone ??
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I saw your thread originally but not really sure how to respond. :(

    I'm still not really but the fact its still doing that following a factory reset is concerning as it kinda points to a hardware issue OR possibly some process which is seriously hogging memory or the CPU. If that were the case though, I'd think you'd be seeing crazy battery drain. Or, the worst of all scenarios, failing memory or CPU.
     
    Inked likes this.
  4. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    1e3
     
    #4 Inked, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I would lean toward the LCD personally but it's somewhat of a guess. Only reason I say that is these screens have been problematic in more ways that one. I just replaced mine due to having a completely dead band of pixels. That's a well documented problem though. I haven't seen many people report the details you've been experiencing but maybe it's out there idk. You running a carrier branded G2 or no?
     
    Inked likes this.
  6. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    1234f
     
    #6 Inked, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  7. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    I was thinking it was the graphics card on the motherboard that was overheating but if that was the case then I wouldn't still get the LG logo even if the phones been on for a few days and I just keep my finger on the power button to reboot it.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I would say it wasn't super simple but not the worst either. It's a nerve thing more than anything. Various parts are held down with adhesive and you feel like you're going to break stuff when you're trying to pull it apart for the first time. There are 3 tools you need...a small phillips screwdriver, the tool to remove the back (plastic deal with a 90 degree lip on it to pry your way in there) and what they call the spudger, which is a rubberish wedge for prying up the aforementioned parts. I didn't have the latter so I fashioned one out of household parts I had laying around. Classic me to rig my way into something lol.

    Shoot me a conversation (formerly PM) when you're going in and I can be there to answer any questions you have in real time.
     
    Inked likes this.
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Inked likes this.
  10. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16

    I'm not bad at stripping electronics down and putting them back together (its what I do for a living....lol) but the thought of putting a heat gun to my phones screen is a bit daunting.

    My G2 is the f320 so the back just pops off and I don't have a great deal to remove once the back off as it already has a removable battery:


    http://img01.olx.com.pk/images_olxp...g-optimus-pro-g2-f320-for-sale-rawalpindi.jpg


    Thanks for the offer, and ill definitely send you a pm if I get stuck ;)
     
  11. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah maybe they have a better vid out there for your model because that's slightly different than mine. At least the screw positions and shapes of the dust covers are different. And the SIM is in a different spot as well. Most other G2's have a side access SIM. So not sure if the internals come apart a little different as well.

    The heat gun is the least scary step, just keep it a damn long way from the screen. Hair dryer would probably be a better choice to be honest but I did use a heat gun. It doesn't take much heat to loosen the adhesive for the screen. Hold it at a distance until your screen is good and warm, bordering kinda hot and you're good.
     
    Inked likes this.
  12. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    122344
     
    #12 Inked, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If you can pull the dust covers off and take a pic, I can tell you how much they differ on the internals just by looking at it.
     
    Inked likes this.
  14. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    12345
     
    #14 Inked, Dec 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Idk, maybe it's just not worth their trouble to dismantle a phone and fix it compared to just swapping it out.
     
    Inked likes this.
  16. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    12344
     
    #16 Inked, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  17. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If you have a windows machine, plug in the phone, open device manager and see what the phone is being called. That can give clues to some specific problems depending on how it's showing up.
     
    Inked likes this.
  18. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    12334
     
    #18 Inked, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  19. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I don't understand. That's specifically how it's recognized when in download mode (LGE AndroidNET USB Serial Port). So your phone is being recognized as though it's in download mode when you just randomly turn it on? But there's zero recognition when you are trying to boot to download mode with a fully powered off device?

    And how are you taking out the battery on a D800? I thought only the Korean model(s) had a removable battery? On all other G2's we just long press power for 15-20 seconds and it acts like a battery pull to fully power down the device.
     
    Inked likes this.
  20. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    12344
     
    #20 Inked, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  21. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Ah sorry I was confusing your thread with another person/thread. :oops:

    Anyway so I don't know for sure why your screen is black in download mode but you are seeing the LG logo so clearly the screen is functioning. I'm thinking/hoping this could be software related.

    Because the phone is showing up as it should in download mode, I would try to flash your stock firmware to the device while in download mode. I have not dealt a lot with the F320 models but I have seen files in my travels for the F320K, F320L and F320S. Which of those do you have? I couldn't tell from the earlier screenshot. The model # inside the back of the phone was a little blurry and I couldn't be sure.
     
    Inked and bberryhill0 like this.
  22. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    12344
     
    #22 Inked, Dec 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2015
  23. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    That's not a great sign then. Did you flash a tot or a kdz?
     
  24. Inked

    Inked Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    59
    4
    16
    Don't say that :(

    I think it was a kdz
     
  25. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If you used the 2014 kdz flash tool found on xda, which you most likely did, there are 2 flash options inside that tool..."normal" and "CSE". Most people instinctively pick the normal flash. If that's what you did, there's much more hope. You want to use the CSE option as that one does a true and full wipe and reinstall from scratch. The normal option tries to preserve some stuff and if there were a pre-existing issue, it may well not fix it.
     

LG G2

The LG G2 has a 5.2-inch display with 1080p resolution. It also has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM, a 13 megapixel camera, NFC, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...