1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General LG G4 can't receive / send multi-party or attachment texts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kenatsun, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    This seems similar to a problem reported (but not solved) at http://androidforums.com/threads/lg-g4-texting-problem.924735/, but maybe it's different enough to merit a fresh try.

    My new LG G4 can't send or receive texts that have multiple recipients and/or attachments. One-to-one texts without attachments send and receive OK. I think this boils down to: My MMS is not working, but I'm too new at this to be sure about the technical terminology. Specifically:
    • On incoming messages, I do receive a notice "New multimedia message. Receive?" with a "Download" button. But when i click the button I get the whirling circle for several minutes, then it times out, reports "unreceived message", and offers a retry (which also fails).
    • Attempts to send result in several minutes of "Sending..." followed by failure.
    • The brand of phone or carrier sending or receiving messages doesn't seem to matter, tho I haven't tested this extensively.

    System specifics: LG G4 model = LG-H811. Android version = 6.0. Service provider = Consumer Cellular (CC). The SIM card Consumer Cellular provided to me uses AT&T as the preferred carrier. When this SIM was in my previous phone, a Nexus 4, messaging worked OK.

    Here are some fixes suggested on other forums that I have tried (or, for the reasons stated, not tried):
    1. For many folks, the problem seems to start when they move their SIM from another phone to the G4. My new G4 (which I bought from http://www.ebay.com/itm/LG-G4-H811-...GSM-Unlocked-Android-Smartphone-/252408072534 listed as "new, unlocked") apparently was built for use with T-Mobile (indicated by a TMo boot-up splash screen and some un-uninstallable TMo apps), whereas the SIM I got from Consumer Cellular is tuned to AT&T. Consumer Cellular is sending me a TMo card to test that theory, and I'll report back here when I find out whether that helps.
    2. I don't have an APN set up at all, so the ideas in this thread that deal with APNs don't apply - unless having an APN is essential to MMS messaging?
    3. Turning WiFi off or on doesn't affect the symptoms.
    4. Turning Mobile Data off or on doesn't affect the symptoms.
    5. Changing the "Multimedia Settings" in the Messaging app doesn't change anything. Nor does the "Reset settings" option.
    6. I haven't tried any messaging apps except the stock G4 one, since this discussion indicates that alternatives like Textra haven't solved the problem for anybody.
    I'd be grateful for any further suggestions!

    ~ Thanks! Ken

    PS ~ FYI the thread at http://forums.androidcentral.com/lg-g4/538029-can-i-get-some-help-mms-issue.html discusses (tho so far has not solved) this same problem, which obviously is quite a stinker.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    870
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    Hello and Welcome :)
    You do need to set up your APN for MMS as it uses data (and for this reason Wi-Fi will have no effect either...except perhaps if you have WiFi Calling, though I am not sure about this. The sender can change their "SMS to multiple contacts" from MMS to sending separate SMS too.
    However, please set your APN details as stated here and this should fix your problem. If not let us know and we will have a look further.
     
    tube517, kenatsun and AMOCO like this.
  3. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Thanks, SavageRobot ~

    I set my APN per instructions you offered at here , activated that APN, rebooted the phone, and tried again. I'm afraid nothing changed.

    I also verified that my SIM card is ATT-compatible using the instructions at https://www.att.com/esupport/article.html#!/wireless/KM1062165. For what it's worth, a photo of my SIM is attached.

    I have disabled "WiFi calling" on this phone because when I enable it I get "Error 05 Invalid SIM", and the web forum advice I get is to just disable it. I don't know if this has any bearing on the messaging problem.

    So if you can do "a look further", that would be great!

    ~ Ken
     

    Attached Files:

  4. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Just found this at http://www.gottabemobile.com/2016/04/28/lg-g4-android-6-0-update-problems-fixes/, a post dated April 2016:

    Android 6.0 MMS Bug

    Countless reports all over the official Google product forums have confirmed there is a problem with MMS (picture messages) in Android 6.0 Marshmallow. They either fail to send, or don’t arrive correctly for users. Whether this be through Google Hangouts, the stock messenger app, or third party text applications like Textra. It just says “download” and images never work. We’re still waiting for LG to issue another quick bug fixing update, and the latest Google security patches for April.

    We aren’t experiencing this on the Nexus 6P, but it’s been a widespread problem for multiple different Nexus phones running Android 6.0 Marshmallow, and some with the LG G4 on Android M. Most users will have no problems with texts or picture messages, but if so, the only solution could be try another text app, or wait for Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow to arrive, as the bug was fixed in 6.0.1 which Google recently released.

    My G4 is running Android 6.0. Does anybody know if and how one can upgrade to 6.0.1, to see if that helps?

    ~ Tx again, Ken
     
  5. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    870
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    Ahh, I don't think I ran into this problem (luckily for me). I don't believe 6.0.1 is available officially for G4 yet, still just 6.0.0 unless going down the path of rooting and flashing custom ROM (this I would suggest isn't for you anyway).
    Although, reading around looks like some are saying it is released but LG still call it 6.0, what actual build are you on (V20"x"), the letter after V20?
    Roll out will depend on what model your device it (H815/811/815P...) also carrier specific etc, you can see in update centre if there is an OTA update available but I'm sure you would have already been informed if there was.
     
  6. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Here (attached) is a photo of my software info, in hopes that it will contain some useful clue. I'm inferring that the answer to your version question is 20i. Thanks again for sticking with me on this...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. atlantaacman

    atlantaacman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    15
    1
    16
    Mine sometimes does this and I have to hit the square button and clear all running apps. After that it seems to work again.
     
  8. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Update: I tried upgrading my phone from version 20i to version 20o (that last character is a letter "o" not a zero). Upgrade went fine but problem not fixed.
     
  9. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    870
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    Sorry, must have been half asleet, I thought you said you were on AT&T but you are actually on Consumer Cellular that uses AT&T. Try these settings, one for data, one for MMS

    ------------------------------------------
    Name: ConsumerCellular
    APN: att.mvno
    Proxy: 66.209.11.32
    Port: 80
    User Name: not set
    Password: not set
    Server: not set
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS proxy: not set
    MMS port: not set
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication type: PAP
    APN type: internet
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Name: ConsumerCellular
    APN: att.mvno
    Proxy: not set
    Port: not set
    User name: not set
    Password: not set
    Server: not set
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS proxy: 66.209.11.32
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication type: PAP
    APN type: mms
    --------------------------------------------------------

    Source: post #4
     
  10. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    I got rid of the APNs I had and added these. Sadly, nothing changed. I did it all again in case of typos. Still nothing changed.

    Is there any way to test these APN settings, other than just by trying to send MMS messages?
     
  11. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    870
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    Hmmm...this is turning to a pretty tricky one. When you are out of WiFi, or WiFi turned off, is there a letter or number in status bar next to your signal cluster (E/H/H+/3G/4G/LTE...)? Also when you are in your data settings, just before APN probably, what is your preferred connection type set at? Did you say you can access normal internet through browser or using WhatsApp or the like on data and you definitely have data plan set up on the phone?
    And you set up 2 APNs as above, not just one or the other, one for internet and one for MMS?
     
  12. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Since nothing else has worked, the only hunch I have left is that this "unlocked" phone is not fully unlocked, and T-Mobile software or firmware still operates at some level, and can only do certain things using the TMo network.

    By the way, the other problem with this phone, that I can't enable "wireless calling", also persists.

    I've discovered that the LG G4 comes in several different models, including H810, for AT&T networks; and H811, for T-Mobile networks. So I've ordered an H810. Will report back here on whether that one works.

    Thanks again SavageRobot and others for your suggestions.
     
  13. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Hmm! I just discovered that if I disable wireless (at Settings | Networks | Wi-Fi), I can't get internet (e.g. a web page). (Internet works fine with wi-fi on and connected.) Does that mean I don't have data plan set up on this phone? Settings | Networks | Mobile Data is set to "Connection allowed". See photo at https://goo.gl/photos/njmEzPh128q92p99A

    If "status bar" means the bar that's always visible at the top of the screen, no. See photo at https://goo.gl/photos/njmEzPh128q92p99A

    At Settings | Networks | More | Mobile networks | Network mode it says "Preferred network mode: GSM/WCDMA/LTE Auto". See https://goo.gl/photos/fweftKpD9w7ho88V7

    Yes. See photos of the setup at https://goo.gl/photos/byJjn63Z2JF7UjKMA
     
  14. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    870
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    Ahh, I forgot over the pond you have the different models for each supplier and all the carriers use different frequencies, may make a difference, I am unsure. Here in the UK it's pretty unified and one model will work across all networks once unlocked (in G4 case H815). See here the carriers different bands across there. I am unsure how it works over there but one of the other guys may be able to shine some light and let you know if this is the case being a Tmo phone with Consumer Cellular (AT&T) network.
     
  15. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It may be a service provider limit on the size of MMS' sent & received.
    To test this out,use a 3rd party text/messaging app such as TEXTRA that has settings for splitting long SMS messages & size of MMS.
    There's also a T-Mobile WI-FI Calling fix setting in the TEXTRA app,YMMV.
    This is one of the most popular texting apps available,simply because it strikes a good balance with added features & functionality that's easy to set-up/fine-tune.
    Simply put:TEXTRA works.
    Any further issues,I recommend contacting your service provider,it shouldn't take more than a few minutes to figure out if it's a limitation with the network.
     
  16. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    It's not a service provider size limit, because when I swap my SIM back into my old phone (Nexus 4), it sends/receives the same messages OK.
     
  17. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    Which texting app are you using?
     
  18. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    The standard one that comes with the G4. I've seen recommendations on various forums to try Textra, but the people who have tried it report that (whatever its merits as an app) it doesn't solve this problem. Also, I have a separate problem (can't enable wi-fi calling) that I'm pretty sure has nothing to do with the texting app.
     
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Since this is a T-Mobile branded phone, you will have to manually enter & enable the CC APN.
    The reason your NEXUS 4 worked without any problems is because it's a carrier free device, it will automatically use the APNs for the SIM Card inserted.

    Once you enter the new APN, make sure you actually select it as the one to use before exiting the settings, otherwise, the phone will continue to use the T-Mobile APN.

    If you continue to experience issues, find someone who is well versed in Android to assist you, whether it's a retail outlet /CC Customer Care, etc.....

    There is nothing inherently wrong with the G4 SMS/MMS functionality. The only time people experience issues is when they use phones intended for one network on another.
    Once the settings are correctly enteted & enabled, you should be up & running with no problems.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  20. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    I have entered APN settings per instruction in post #9 (see photos of the settings in post #13). Earlier, I tried AT&T settings in the link from post #2. None of these worked.

    I wonder about your last statement that these setting need to entered and enabled. Is there something I have to explicitly do to enable the settings, once entered? (I did save the settings I entered, of course, and I rebooted the phone before testing. Is there something more I should have done?)
     
  21. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Check here,but (of course) ignore the T-Mobile APN & ensure your CC APN is entered properly & follow the methodology listed:

    https://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-21995


    To set the Access Point Name (APN) and turn on data settings, follow these steps:
    1. From any Home screen, tap the Menu key.
    2. Tap Settings.
    3. If using List view, tap Menu > Tab view.
    4. Tap the Networks tab.
    5. Tap More.
    6. Tap Mobile networks.
    7. Tap Access Point Names.
    8. If available, tap the T-Mobile US APN (the bullet point fills with green). If not available, tap the Menu key, and then tap New APN.
      Note: A separate APN must be added manually for the Reset to default option to appear.
    9. Verify and update the following settings for the Data APN:
      • Name: T-Mobile US LTE
      • APN: fast.t-mobile.com
      • Proxy: <Not set>
      • Port: <Not set>
      • Username: <Not set>
      • Password: <Not set>
      • Server: <Not set>
      • MMSC:
      • MMS proxy: <Not set>
      • MMS port: <Not set>
      • MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
      • MCC: 310
      • MNC: 260
      • Authentication type: <Not set>
      • APN type: <Not set> OR Internet+MMS
      • APN protocol: IPv4/IPv6
      • APN roaming protocol: IPv4
      • Enable/disable APN: <greyed out unless there are multiple APN's>
      • Bearer: Unspecified
    10. Tap the Menu key.
    11. Tap Save.
    12. Tap the desired APN profile you want to use. The bullet point fills with green next to the APN profile.
     
  22. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Yes, that's basically what I did in entering the various APNs mentioned above.
     
  23. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Only other suggestion I have is to try the new SIM Card when it arrives.

    Please keep us posted on your outcome. :thumbsupdroid:
     
  24. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Breaking news:

    Today I received and set up my new LG G4 H810 (the ATT model).

    MMS via an ATT SIM does work on the H810! :D:D:D

    To get it to work, I had to:
    1. Upgrade Android from the 5.x that came with the phone to 6.0.
    2. Install the Consumer Cellular APN settings suggested by SavageRobot in post #9 above.
    Wi-fi calling, the other function that didn't work on my H811 (the T-Mobile model), also apparently works on the H810. However, my provider (Consumer Cellular) doesn't support wi-fi calling, so I can't confirm that. But the H810 doesn't throw the "Error 05 Invalid SIM" error that the H811 did.

    So: So far, all signs point to matching the G4 model to the network provider as the solution - and probably the only solution - to this problem.

    (BTW, the H810 has a problem that the H811 doesn't have: It can't do Qi wireless charging :mad::mad:. But this is a matter for another thread, see http://forums.androidcentral.com/lg-g4/532670-t-variant-wireless-charging-pma-again-qi.html.)

    When I receive a T-Mobile SIM that Consumer Cellular is sending me, I'll try that in the H811 and report back the results.
     
    #24 kenatsun, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
    SavageRobot and KOLIO like this.
  25. kenatsun

    kenatsun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013

    Feb 8, 2013
    14
    4
    16
    Final note: I had to return my H811 before the T-Mo SIM from Consumer Cellular arrived, so couldn't do that experiment.

    But I think the lesson is clear: Don't expect an "unlocked" phone that was built for a specific service provider to be fully functional with a different service provider!

    I've had it with the LG G4. I've returned both of the G4s I bought, and replaced my old dying Nexus 4 with... :thinking: another Nexus 4! Not the latest and greatest, but it's really unlocked, and it works as advertised.

    Thanks again for all your help in this thread.
     
    KOLIO and tube517 like this.

LG G4

The LG G4 was launched in 2015. It has a 5.5-inch IPS display and a 16MP camera with Laser Auto Focus and Color Spectrum Sensor. It has a 3,000 mAh removable battery and expandable storage. The G4 can be customized with 6 different leather back covers, and 3 different traditional back covers.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...