1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Lg Hidden Menu AP CP USB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alexsevers, May 17, 2012.

  1. alexsevers

    alexsevers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    While mindlessly wandering through the Hidden Menu ( ##LGSERVICEMENU in dialer ) on my Marquee I came across a section called AP CP USB Switching. What it does is allow you to change your usb type.. From what I've gathered elsewhere "
    AP = Application Processor
    - What is running your phone OS + UI
    CP = Cellular Processor (aka Baseband Processor, BP) - The actual radio/modem processor which does all the network stuff. (ARM based)"
    I don't know if anyone else had a problem with this.. but my phone got very hot when charging, especially when covered or tethering. Also, when plugged into computer and tethering, it would lose batter, quite quickly. Now, after changing to AP USB it stays a lot cooler and charges faster!
    Hopefully others can find this useful, provide information explaining it or maybe know of a better application/uses!
     

    Advertisement

    MrMondayNight likes this.
  2. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    Can anyone verify that this accurate & works without issues or screwing anything up?
     
  3. Capn069

    Capn069 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    238
    78
    53
    Male
    Georgia
    I have been running it like that for two days now. No screwups, charges a bit faster, runs a bit cooler while charging.
     
    MrMondayNight likes this.
  4. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    I wonder which is the default setting for it ie: CP (USB) or CP (UART) as it isn't clear which is set at factory
     
  5. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    638
    155
    93
    Michigan
  6. Capn069

    Capn069 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    238
    78
    53
    Male
    Georgia
    I wonder if somehow this had something to do with the USB benchmarks being so much higher? Maybe this had something to do with the increased performance.
     
  7. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    [quote="Sax
     
  8. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    Monster, do you have any insight as to what this setting/s is all about? Or is it just about charging.
     
  9. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    [quote="Sax
     
    stankdankster and Bionic Chronic like this.
  10. pooda50

    pooda50 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    how do i know what my service code is its asking for?
     
  11. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    download aLogcat (free) from market. Open it and start the log. Hit the "home" button on the phone and go to dialer and enter ##3282# go to "data profile" hit "edit" and enter 000000. It will say it is wrong, hold the home button and switch back to aLogcat and pause it. Hit "filter" and type msl

    After that you get that 6 digit code
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...