1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

LG L70 unlocked

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by ray4805, Nov 18, 2014.

  1. ray4805

    ray4805 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014

    Nov 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Real Estate
    Central Florida
    Hi I purchased 2 MetroPCS LG L70 phones to take back to the UK for my Grandkids. I unlocked them of course before I left. While in the Uk went to put in another carriers Sim card and it said insert MetroPCS sim card. So what can I do to make them except non Metro Sims. These phones were purchased from Metro but have never been registered to the Metro network.

    So is there a way around this problem. These are unlocked but not rooted

    Ray
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,122
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,122
    14,090
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Are you certain they are completely unlocked, when you "unlocked" them? What method did you use? If a phone is properly unlocked it should be able to accept any SIM. Unless MetroPCS has some additional activation thing, where the phones will only activate with their SIMs. Also isn't MetroPCS a CDMA/EVDO network, like Verizon? There is no CDMA/EVDO in the UK, so they may not work anyway.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,866
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,866
    16,296
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    MetroPCS used to be CDMA, but are moving to GSM and dropping the legacy CDMA support. So I think that bit should be OK.
     
  4. ray4805

    ray4805 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014

    Nov 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Real Estate
    Central Florida
    When I entered the code the message said unlocked, I mean can you unlock part of it ??
     
  5. markomarko92

    markomarko92 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    34
    3
    16
    Anyone have laf.img original for d325? tnx
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If you can link me a kdz I can get it for you.
     
  7. markomarko92

    markomarko92 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    34
    3
    16
    https://yadi.sk/d/GQYzlU5JbRLGi Here mate and tnx in advance. And i wolud appreciate if you can direct me to some tutorial for complete noob for restoring to stock lg rom
     
    LG D321 user likes this.
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    That particular file as been tampered with and should not be used. Do you have any other links we could use to acquire it?
     
    LG D321 user likes this.
  9. markomarko92

    markomarko92 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    34
    3
    16
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Every one of those are slightly different in size, though probably because they're just different firmware versions for what may be the same device. Let me know which one you want specifically. The last twitter link brings up a whole host of firmware and I'm not positive of the exact link you want.

    Also, do you want just laf or any other partitions while I'm at it?
     
    LG D321 user likes this.
  11. markomarko92

    markomarko92 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014

    Dec 10, 2014
    34
    3
    16
    This http://prntscr.com/5ia18f application sugested me to use 10d firmware for my d325 based on my imei. So i dont really understand differences between firmwares in links above. I'm trying to restore stock firmware and crutchorn told me that i need to restore original laf. So if you think that i need anything else for restoring to stock be free to extract. Sorry if i wrote something stupid, i'm new in this and any suggestions are more than welcome. Regards
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Check out this link:
    http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f177/how-get-lg-flashfiles-direct-kdz-1744645/

    Use the OP's intructs to input your imei. (also have to edit the hxxp to http of course). That should give you a page of info. Hopefully there will be a link to your firmware about halfway down that page. If so, please PM me that link. This way we get it straight from the source and don't take a chance on getting you the wrong laf.
     
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7460142/D325.zip

    There's your laf. So to be on the safe side, you may wish to fastboot boot that as a first effort rather than flash. If it works when booted you can either try to use download mode in that state or flash it at that time.

    So from fastboot mode, ensure you have a connection using the fastboot devices command. If that's good then go ahead and boot the laf.img:

    fastboot boot laf laf.img


    That should give you download mode provided you are in fact on 10d as discussed. So from there you can flash the kdz from the link you shared with me using this tool and instructs:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2432476

    I realize that is a G2 thread but you'll use the same tool and those instructs are pretty good. You'll be using the 2014 kdz tool, ignore all the stuff below that involving tot's. You're not doing that. If you want to try and retain your data, use the "normal" flash option. If you don't care, use the "CSE" flash option as it's cleaner and a full blown back to out of the box type flash.

    So again, the only difference for you is that you'll be using your kdz obviously and if you run into any driver issues, which I somewhat doubt, check the LG site for your phone's drivers and use those instead. They may end up being the same as listed in that thread anyway.
     
  14. nickyhickey

    nickyhickey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014

    Nov 4, 2014
    274
    103
    88
    Male
    Sales
    PHX AZ
    so i tried purchasing an unlock code from ebay. i used a link to a vendor provided in a thread, dont remember where exactly, anywho!
    apparently lg's server is down??? or something, thats what three unlock code "vendors" told me on eBay. i really want my damn phone unlocked and the found out the guy who gave it to me could've unlocked it whenever we just never called and of course i have no way to get in touch with him lol
    , if any one knows anything on this issue and the validity of what i was told, i would appreciate some insight.
     

Share This Page

Loading...