1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lg Motion will NOT send mms, but I can receive them

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bg81486, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. bg81486

    bg81486 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I recently purchased the LG Motion. I have not been able to send a mms, but I am able 2 receive them. I rooted my phone, and still nothing. Ive tried stock ICS mms, stock android messaging app, nothing is working. Ive even tried changing the APN info. Somebody please help. Its getting really frusturating,
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crocididdle

    Crocididdle Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012

    Nov 22, 2012
    35
    2
    36
    Male
    Nonee c:
    Michigan
    sounds like you need a new one. problem with the phone itself.
     
  3. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Actually, it sounds like a problem with the towers.

    How do you know that it failed? What exactly does it do/say? Have you tried other messaging apps from The Play Store?
     
  4. chevy372

    chevy372 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012

    Nov 11, 2012
    37
    0
    15
    Did you update the PRL or verify what network you're connected to?
     
  5. bg81486

    bg81486 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    It just says "Message could not be sent" and when i touch the picture to delete it, it says "This message has failed to send. Please select an action for the message". I have tried GoSMS and handcent. Nothing is working. I have not updated the prl, but I have checked to verify the network. Im gonna try to update the prl now
     
  6. bg81486

    bg81486 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    My prl is 3029. I believe thats the latest update
     
  7. chicle

    chicle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    164
    25
    43
    I'm in Miami, FL and my prl is 3032.

    Call *228, option 5, and it should update you automatically.
     
  8. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Does it take a minute for the "Message could not be sent" message or is it almost instant? Have you tried different pictures? Did updating the PRL help?
     
  9. cubone

    cubone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    184
    29
    53
    Male
    Part Time Work/Freshmen :I
    Texas :F
    The Same thing happens to me but only with picture messages, this has never happened with my admire but somehow it's happening on my motion.

    On mine it just stays as sending...

    my prl is 3032, wifi or 4g don't help. Mabey the messaging app itself (LG) is not very useful, wonder if I replace it with another mms app would fix the prob.
     
  10. chevy372

    chevy372 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012

    Nov 11, 2012
    37
    0
    15
    Did you very you're not roaming and the network is set to metro pcs only and not automatic? Also have you tried flashing to stock, send out to verify it works, then root and test again? Did this work before routing? What version of android are you using?
     
  11. rickpcmp3

    rickpcmp3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012

    Nov 15, 2012
    31
    10
    18
    Male
    Reserve Chaplain
    West Central, FL
    I'm on the limited data $40 plan, and can receive txt w/ pics, but can't send them or longer script mms text. Is this because of my plan?
     
  12. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    i had this issue until i found out you can only send MMS through your mobile data.

    have you tried turning your wifi off while leaving 4G on and sending them?
     
  13. jbugsmommie

    jbugsmommie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    16
    1
    36
    Female
    LAW STUDENT
    USA
    call metro have the reset your phone. you will have to dial *228 you rphoen will reboot then your good to go
     
  14. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    This issue just started for me today. I try to send an MMS and it just says "sending" but the mms never sends. If someone sends me an MMS I get a box that says "download". When I click on it nothing happens.

    My phone has been rooted for over a month now & this has never been a problem. Of course in the store they want to do a master reset right away because that is their answer to everything.

    And I've called *228 twice now. After doing that I was unable to receive gmail on my phone & also I'm unable to use speech to text. When I try I get an "unable to connect" message.
     
  15. MONIKA71092

    MONIKA71092 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    were you able to fix your problem? i am having the same issue! they have reset my phone 3 times and it works for like 20 minutes then doesnt work again! ughhhhhhhh
     
  16. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    Yes, mine is resolved.

    I was just too embarrassed to come back & admit that somehow the data was turned off on my device.
     
  17. moesha44

    moesha44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013

    Feb 17, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    no not really it happened to me to but i found its because im under wifi so i restarted my phone and skipped the wifi and i was able to send pics again :thumb::proud:
     
  18. moesha44

    moesha44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013

    Feb 17, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    just restart phone skip wifi then finish setting everything else up and youll be fine atleast it worked 4 me
     
  19. Ubercharrge

    Ubercharrge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    542
    105
    113
    Apparently, the F update fixes MMS issues from pervious firmwares. Try flashing that.
     
  20. bnv_flooring

    bnv_flooring Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013

    Feb 28, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    same problem... finally installed chompsms... 2 min... replaces original app... works again... hip hip hurray
    ps dont uninstall original app
     
  21. LawWinner

    LawWinner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    To Change the Roaming mode to 'MetroPCS Only', click on
    Menu button (I'm guessing that's what it's called; it has 3 horizontal lines)
    System settings
    More
    Mobile networks
    System select
    MetroPCS Only

    Just fyi.

    For us newbies out there :). Hih.

    ~Shannon
     
  22. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Same exact thing happens to me and my wife on our phones. Resetting the phone fixes the sending part, but for the downloading part we have to do a battery pull.....which only fixes it temporarily. I think its a bug myself. We are both stock and have the f update. Honestly we didnt see this issue on d.
     
  23. LawWinner

    LawWinner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    4
    0
    5
     
  24. LawWinner

    LawWinner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    4
    0
    5

    Battery pull doesn't fix mine. I'm going to try a System Reset (*228 didn't work for me either).

    For other Newbies, that's:

    Menu Button (3 horizontal lines)
    System Settings
    (scroll down to Personal category) Backup & reset
    Factory data reset (**WARNING: ERASES ALL DATA ON PHONE**)
     
  25. LawWinner

    LawWinner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I disabled and re-enabled the WiFi and re-clicked on Download message and I got it this time. :) I haven't tried to send any MMS yet.

    How To:
    Menu button (3 horizontal lines)
    System settings
    Wi-Fi
    Click on blue dot in upper right corner to Disable. Click it again to Turn On Wi-Fi.


    Good Luck!
    ~Shannon
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...