1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lg Optimus M and Clockworkmod? Does it Work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Brickey, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. Brickey

    Brickey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    So I am dowgraded to 2.1 and rooted with ginger break.
    I just got a new LG Optimus M. After trying to install custom recovery my phone went into
    Fastboot mode. I followed the get out fastboot thread to no avail, tried soft reset,nothing.
    I finally had to hardreset my phone using lgnspt in emergencey mode, which zeroed out my settings. Even after trying to Flash Stock rom 2.1. I couldnt get service. I used Qpst nothing.
    So I took my phone to metro told a half truth and got a new phone. I want to avoid this headache from happening again my question is this. Has anyone here with an LG Optimus M successfully Installed ClockWorkMod and rom Manager???
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crex321

    Crex321 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    142
    14
    38
    Male
    Food >:3
    They aren't really for our phones. I tried to get the CWM recovery and I went into fastboot as well. Try a different recovery like Joneidys, or another somewhere in the All Things Root.
     
  3. NeoSabin

    NeoSabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    237
    46
    43
    To your left
  4. edgchacon

    edgchacon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    256
    59
    53
    There was a tutorial using ROM manager before. Then i think ROM manager was updated and it broke using ROM manager on the Optimus M.

    Just follow the manual directions and forget ROM Manager, doesn't do too much for our phone anyways.
     
  5. undacova

    undacova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    338
    68
    53
    ClockworkMod Recovery works great on our phones, you just need to flash it any other way besides Rom Manager. I would recommend going to xda and downloading FlashimageGUI, it makes it much easier to install any recovery.

    Rom Manager will work for our phones someday but for now stay away, lol.
     
  6. Brickey

    Brickey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    Okay I have Flash image GUI. Can you tell me exactly how install this. using terminal emulator? I could not get adb to work
     
  7. NeoSabin

    NeoSabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    237
    46
    43
    To your left
    Make sure you downloaded the recovery.img too.
    Open terminal emulator then type
    su

    Then

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system

    Then

    cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image

    Then

    chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_ image

    Then

    mv /system/ etc/install-recovery.sh /system/etc/ install-recovery.sh.bak

    Then

    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img

    Then

    sync

    please don't type "Then" in terminal emulator. It represent the next line to type after hitting enter. Make sure both files are saved to the root of your SD card.
     
  8. Brickey

    Brickey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    Uggh I followed the directions and nothing works
    Sigh :( I just cant flash...i keep getting an error system bin
    Not found read only file system. Everytibg is on the root
    and everything is spelled,typed and spaced right.
     
  9. undacova

    undacova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    338
    68
    53
    is your phone rooted?
     
  10. NeoSabin

    NeoSabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    237
    46
    43
    To your left
    Lol, I assumed he was when he/she said " So I am dowgraded to 2.1 and rooted with
    ginger break."

    Unless it didn't go well.

    Brickey can you try again with each command in terminal emulator then hold your finger on the screen choose copy all and paste here?
     
  11. Verneverne

    Verneverne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    79
    7
    16
    I may be missing something here, but Flash Image GUI off of the market works just fine.

    Find the recovery image off of PG's link, download, open Flash Image, select flash recovery, find the image on your SD card and then flash it.

    Thats the method I used. No commands needed.
     
  12. NeoSabin

    NeoSabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    237
    46
    43
    To your left
    2 separate methods, I see the confusion. I thought he got the flash_image file not the app.
     
  13. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #82
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    CWM does work, I have it on my phone. However, the caveat is that Rom manager needs to be a certain version level for the instructions to work. I think it was 4.3.3.0 but I'm not positive. Now, once you have CWM flashed you can get the upgrades to RM from the market. RM will work to flash different roms. CWM will work as a good recovery a well. Now if you can't find the correct version of RM, then using the flash image GUI will also work well.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...