1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Optimus T contacts messed up!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bbygrlx3, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    So, there are two of my contacts that has another person's number as their numbers along with their own numbers so there are two numbers with one contact! I don't know if that made sense but like; one of my contact is called Bill and another is called William. Bill's number is with William. So when Bill is actually calling me it will say William is calling. How can I fix it?! :( Please and thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. varungnath

    varungnath Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    128
    17
    38

    Edit William's contact, cut (dont copy; if there is no cut option, then... long press on the number, copy and later delete that number) and paste it under Bill's edit info. Make sure that you remove Bill's contact detail from william's contact once this is done...
     
  3. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I'm sorry I don't really get it? Or I did it but it didn't work? :(
     
  4. varungnath

    varungnath Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    128
    17
    38
    ok....
    Go to W's Contact.... U will see 2 numbers in that, of which one is B's.
    Now click on the edit option under W's contact (Hope you know how to navigate to that option).
    Once you edit, go to the location on the screen where you find B's contact number.
    Do a long press (keep pressing on the location for a few secs) ... you might see a few options like 'Select all, copy all etc'.
    If you see the option copy all, click on that...
    Now you have copied B's number.
    Exit W's contact.
    Follow a similar step until edit for B's contact.
    Click on the blank location next to 'phone no'... Do a long press and youll see a paste option. Now paste it there.

    I know this stepwise procedure looks a bit childish, but this is the only way i could explain it ;).

    Also make sure that you delete off B's number which is still present under W's contact details by using the delete button on the keyboard.

    If you still facing the issue, just let know where exactly you facing it.
    Cheers
     
  5. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I'm lost after I copied Bill's number and exited William's contact.. LOL. Sorry.. :(
     
  6. trav2001

    trav2001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    550
    25
    68
    Maintenance Repair
    Mesa, AZ
    Are you still having problems with the contact?
     
  7. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Yes! :(
     
  8. edgchacon

    edgchacon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    256
    59
    53
    Are you sure the contacts are just not combined?

    I had 2 contacts both named Paul with same last name. One was a Jr.

    Android combined them, but google contacts on the web showed them as separate contacts.

    If you bring up the contact, hit menu there might be an option to split the contacts.
     
  9. Cramill

    Cramill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    203
    19
    38
    Software Developer
    Arizona
    I second this suggestion - maybe the contacts are merged or linked somehow.
     
  10. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I don't know. Probably. But like I deleted both of them and added it back to my contacts and it still combined together. -____-''
     
  11. bbygrlx3

    bbygrlx3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I'm sure because I deleted both of them before and added it again and they still combined together. You mean on my phone? I clicked the menu button for it and there isn't that option..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...