1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LG Optimus V won't go past splash after installing AOSPCmod via Rom Manager

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by osiff, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I installed AOSPCmod from Rom Manager and chose to backup and not wipe data and I let it complete and it rebooted to the ANDROID splash and froze I tried to take the battery out and try again but it keeps freezing
     

    Advertisement

  2. LNMoton

    LNMoton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    155
    17
    38
    South Carolina
    And this is why I don't root. Try taking the rom off. Maybe you should try a different rom.
     
  3. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Rooting and adding a custom rom are two different things.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,434
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Moved this to the All Things Root section here. :) ;)
     
    osiff likes this.
  5. mcflasher

    mcflasher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Try to make a full wipe every thing data cache user date and dalvik chache from recovery
     
  6. mcflasher

    mcflasher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Try to make a full wipe every thing data cache user date and dalvik chache from recovery and reinstall the rom and don't forget download the gapps
     
  7. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks :)
     
  8. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Is there a way I can restore to my backed up rom? I could through Rom Manager but I can't boot. Is there a safe mode I can use to access the backup?
     
  9. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Turn off the phone, press and hold the home, volume down, and power buttons. When the LG logo pops up release all three. You should boot into the recovery.
     
    osiff likes this.
  10. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    When I hit the power button to select something it just shows the rom manager logo and does nothing :thinking:
     
  11. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Scroll using the volume buttons and select using the camera button on the side.
     
    osiff likes this.
  12. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    THANK YOU! looking good :)
     
  13. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I know this is off topic but do I have to install a custom rom to use setcpu? If so what rom is the best for the lg optimus v and can be installed without wiping apps and data?
     
  14. j1232

    j1232 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #236
    Points:
    66
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    121
    6
    66
    Male
    Deli Cook
    Astoria, NY
    the LG Optimus models have been knows to BRICK with ROM Manager . . soo I suggest not installing it. . or using it.
     
  15. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    ROM Manager is now compatible with the "V" Just don't use:
    1. reboot into recovery. Phone might go into a recovery loop.
    2.Download ROM
    3.check for ROM updates
    4.Install from QR Code and Install ROM from SD card,as all ROM Manager will do is wipe cache partition and dalvik cache. This is good however for installing an update,a patch,a theme, a kernel which only require these two wipes.
    Every thing else works fine. Including "Flash ClockWorkMod recovery3.2.0.1 , which is a very good
     
  16. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well I only want to get a custom rom because I read somewhere that you have to have an overclockable rom to use setcpu. Is that true? And is aospcmod a good rom?
     
  17. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    asopCWMod is the recovery.
    The stock ROM will not go past the set CPU speed of 600MHz.
    You can download and install a custom recovery using ROMTools which will use a temporary root that will go away completely after the first reboot. The best tutorial can be found here http://androidforums.com/optimus-v-...el-rom-change-boot-animation.html#post3000366
    Then make a backup of you stock ROM in the new custom recovery(this is called a nandroid backup). YOU MUST MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR ROM IN THE RECOVERY.
    After you have made a nandroid then you can go here [Reference Guide] Optimus V Modding (READ THIS TO GET STARTED) - Android Forums and select the picasticks Kernel. It will take you to the site with more infro,plus the download site. This kernel when installed over the stock ROM will allow you to overclock to 800MHz or more(if your phone reboots on its own,go down two settings and this is where you can safely be overclocked to).
    make sure you never set the min. past 480MHz as this is where the phone will idle(set too high and the phone will use more battery and the battery will get hotter). My cpu is set to 480 min and 787max(yours will vary)

    To install the picasticks kernel do all these things:
    1.Make sure the LG drivers are installed from ROMTools.
    2.Make sure you have USB Debugging checked in the menu/settings/applications/development.
    3.Plug phone into your computer
    4.In your pulldown select USB connected(if it doesn't show up the first time unplug you cable from the phone and reinsert it).(If it still doesn't show go to USB debugging and turn it off,then back on as fast as you can). Then select the box that say's"Turn on USB storage". A window will appear,select OK. A window will pop up on your PC
    5.Put kernel zip(do not unzip) onto the root of the sd card(this means to put it somewhere near the bottom of the list of file folders on the sd card).
    6.click on the Icon on your PC's task bar for the safe removal of USB mass storage device and disconnect the phone from your PC.
    7.Go to pulldown and select "turn off USB storage"
    8.Wait for the sd card to boot up properly. Make sure everything runs right.
    9.Turn off power to your phone.
    10.Hold menu+volume down,then power button,all at the same time. When you see the LG logo you can let go of the buttons.
    11.In your recovery you will only need to: wipe cache partition,and then go to advanced section and wipe Dalvik cache.
    12.Go to "install zip from sd" card.Select "choose zip from sd card. Chose the picasticks zip that you put on the root of the sd card.
    13. After it installs go to "Reboot system now".
    14 It might take 5-10 minutes for it to reboot the first time.
    15. Download "No-Frills CPU" or "Set CPU"
     
    osiff likes this.
  18. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks :) It runs really fast now mine is stable up to 806. But what is the best ROM for the optimus v that doesn't require a data wipe?
     
  19. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    When you go from one ROM(whether it be the stock or a custom) to another you always need to wipe and format all data as well as 5 other things. This means that you will loose all data. You have to wipe all these things or the residual data will corrupt the new ROM and it will not function properly,freeze,or randomly reboot. .

    If you use Titanium Backup to backup all your apps(never reinstall a system app, just your downloaded apps)then once you have installed the ROM(and gapps if a Gingerbread ROM)and signed in to your google account,then download the titanium backup app from the Market and do a batch install of all missing apps + data(only use the "all missing apps + data" when doing a batch install). You might get some of the apps you originally downloaded with the google apps(gapps) which is why you should use the missing apps + data(this will restore just the apps data,like the level you attained on a game,etc.)
    Again,you do not want to restore a system app,as the ROM(and gapps if necessary)will have all system required apps necessary. If you download a backed up system app on top of those it will cause all sorts of system problems.
     
  20. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    OK thanks I'll keep that in mind. One last question: What app can I use to change the voltage on the CPU?
     
  21. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    You can try "No-Frills CPU" or "Set CPU"
     
  22. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Neither one has settings for the voltage. Is it in an advanced settings menu?
     
  23. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    I've read in another forum that nothing is out right now to change the voltage... but may be looked at in the future. I'm an overclocking junkie, but there's no way I would mess with the voltage on the phone. My home computer... ooooh yeah!!! You said yours is OC'd to a stable 806. That's great!!
     
  24. osiff

    osiff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks :) but I was going to undervolt to save some battery.
     
  25. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I would not go under 245min. anything under this with your max were it's at will actually cause more of a battery drain.
    Changing the voltage of the CPU is what you are doing when you change the CPU speed.That's why there is a number followed by MHz: as in 787MHzmax-480MHzmin
    you will also find that with the max at 806MHz and the min at 245 MHz that you will experience a lagg coming from screen off(phone idle)
    Try 806MHzmax-480MHzmin with the gov. set at on-demand,and then try interactive. You will need to let it run for a day at least with each gov. choice to make a solid comparison. Plus you will need to use the phone in the same manner,example: phone time 30min,web time 40min,game time 20min. for both the on-demand and the interactive.
    Also turn off everything unless you need to use it, then turn off when done(WiFi,3G,Sync.,GPS,Bluetooth,etc.)
    I might turn on Sync once a day for no more than 3min,then I turn it off.

    With the above Example you should get 1 1/2 to 2 days battery off charge time. This is really good for the "V"
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...