1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Optimus V won't receive some incoming calls, caller hears busy signal

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hoodaddy, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. hoodaddy

    hoodaddy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have an LG Optimus V (Virgin Mobile) and it will routinely not respond to incoming calls. Instead, the caller hears a busy signal. They are not able to leave a voicemail. This does not happen all the time, or to specific individuals (as far as I can tell). Has this problem happened to anyone else?
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Hey Hoodaddy,

    I moved your post to the Optimus V section. Hopefully they can give you some solid answers there.
     
  3. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    You're going to need to talk to Virgin Mobile about that. It sounds like either call routing problems at their end, or a bad radio in the handset. Either way they can help, but you'll probably be getting a new phone out of the deal.
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Before you do as brotherswing mentioned try taking out the battery, then holding the power button down for 30sec. Then reinstall battery and power up.
    If this doesn't fix the problem (and your not rooted) try going to the privacy menu and doing a factory reset.
    If this doesn't fix the problem then you might want to take brotherswing's advice.
     
  5. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    What exactly does taking out the battery do?
    What does it reset?
    How does the power button being pushed down do anything when the battery is not in the phone?
    Why is this always handed out as a fix-all?

    I'm not being a smartass.. my questions are sincere.
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I've never really understood how it work on so many things, it just does. It like cutting a heifers tail in a particular spot to cause it to bleed a little when it's eaten a poisonous weed and is on deaths door. 15 min latter it's up on all fours and tracking straight. A veterinary couldn't even tell you how it works(or even believe that it does).
    If kind of the same thing here. I've seen it work on such a diversity of problems, but don't get me to lying as to how it works. It's just a good last ditch, don't know what to do option.
     
  7. Leemann

    Leemann Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    53
    8
    36
    Near here
    The phone can be somewhat reset by taking out the battery.
    The power button powers the phone on draining any capacitors that have strored a charge after power removed from phone.
    The last one can't say.

    Lee
     
    Petrah likes this.
  8. dana19962001

    dana19962001 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have LG phone from Virgin Mobile. I purchased in Oct 2011. And I have same issue ever since. There is no problem to receiving the call, text and email, but whoever call me always get busy signal especially from cell phone.. I called virgin mobile tech and tried to solve this problem since then, It has been 6 month and I still have same problem. Some times they said it is phone problem and other times they said it is net work problem. Anyway, I am looking for different cell phone carrier.
     
  9. 350X

    350X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    every notice on those TV commercials, people offering free txt or calls to any network??

    cause sometimes they limit who you can talk to on those crazy contract plans, like a grudge match, id find out what servie or kind of plan those having trouble have. Its probably their own fault for a f'ed up contract plan the cute girl in the mall talked them into with goofy limitation in fine print, they probably gotta pay $1 extra to call any network.
     
  10. jsang

    jsang Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem. Did you find a solution yet??
     
  11. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    It's probably something that has to be fixed by VM. I would exchange it.
     
  12. Fhyl

    Fhyl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have the precise same issue, except with a LG Optimus Chat and with Koodo mobile; I can send and receive SMS just fine, and call other, but when I receive a call, the phone ring for 1/2 a second and then cuts the line, while the other person hears a "busy" tone. When I tried to ask Koodo for their help, they basically tried to make me believe it was a hardware issue (i.e. my fault, thus not covered by warranty) and make me pay the whole thing to get a new phone. Considering every other aspect of the phone is working just fine, I refuse to believe my phone is genuinely broken (especially not "by my fault"). Funnily enough, I also got my phone in October 2011, but the problem only started occurring in March 2012.

    Anyone got any luck getting this issue fixed and/or not having to pay for what really looks like a software issue?
     
  13. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Sounds like a problem with the app.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...