1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LG revolution root trouble

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tikonwc3, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. tikonwc3

    tikonwc3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Excuse me for saying this, buttt "HAIIIII GUYSSS" excited to be on this forum :) but back to the point. I have been trying to root my lg revolution with no success, so i'm kind of confused about not mounting the sd card, how can i not mount it? I'm afraid I will brick the device and no one wants that. Secondly I have used the superoneclick tool but stops after the pushing command and help or suggestions welcome. thanks for reading!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    124
    5
    56
    Newport, RI
    The revo has two "sd cards" if you will. There is an internal and exteranl. The external is the one you see when you take off the back that you can remove. Mounting the SD card, which is the external one, will let your pc see it as a drive and allow you to copy files to it. This is not the SD card you are trying to write too when you are rooting your phone. You trying to access the internal LG "hardwired" sd card.

    The interanl sd card has the OS on it and rooting the OS allows you full control over the system. LG limits the apps you can install and uses, okay maybe its more Verizon than LG, but rooting defeats this handicap. When you brick your phone, you mess up the booting of the internal sd and you cant change out the sd card, therefore your phone is as good as a brick.

    To root, try this.
    Connect your phone in charge only mode Start S1C. When S1C says waiting for device, switch to internet connection and enable debugging via the Settings>Applicaitons>Development>USB Debugging. If it picks up and runs with it, you should be going fine. Reboot your phone and go the the marketplace. Try to install\run the app superuser. If it works, your golden, if not, let me know and we can try a different approach.
     
    tikonwc3 likes this.
  3. tikonwc3

    tikonwc3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    It worked! Thank you a ton for writing that all out to me I know it must have took a lil while, but im rooted now so thank you!!
     
  4. GrapezXD

    GrapezXD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011

    Sep 3, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I did all of this and it still failed. any suggestions?
     
  5. Tmeleski

    Tmeleski Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I downloaded super one click and pdanet to push the drivers on the phone. to my knowledge it was successful. my phone is in debug mode and i tried the usb charging only then switching it to internet and it picks up my phone but this is what happens


    SuperOneClick v2.1.1.0
    Checking drivers...
    Killing ADB Server...
    * server not running *

    OK 0.09s

    Starting ADB Server...
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *

    OK 4.22s

    Waiting for device...

    OK 0.07s

    2.2.2
    Getting manufacturer...
    LGE
    OK 0.03s

    Getting model...
    VS910 4G
    OK 0.03s

    Getting version...
    41a52bd
    OK 0.03s

    Checking if rooted...
    False
    OK 0.06s

    Installing BusyBox (temporary)... - Step #1
    3017 KB/s (1062992 bytes in 0.344s)

    OK 0.42s

    Installing BusyBox (temporary)... - Step #2

    OK 0.05s

    Rooting device... - Step #1
    3643 KB/s (585731 bytes in 0.157s)

    OK 0.23s

    Rooting device... - Step #2

    OK 0.02s

    Rooting device... - Step #3

    OK 0.02s

    Rooting device... - Step #4
    Failed to set prot mask (Inappropriate ioctl for device)
    OK 0.03s

    Rooting device... - Step #5

    OK 0.08s

    Remounting /system with read-write access...
    mount: Operation not permitted
    FAILED

    please any help would be very appreciated
     
  6. nightlyraver

    nightlyraver Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I have the exact same problem as Tmeleski. If anyone knows how to fix this issue, it would be much appreciated.
     
  7. dbeauch

    dbeauch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    sounds like you installed the v6 update from Verizon. If you have then you can't root the phone. Sucks I know....waiting on someone to figure out a way to do it. In the meantime you can downgrade to v4 and root. Google search it and you will find it easy.
     
  8. ashbear420

    ashbear420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    this needs to be said somewhere i know i had The same issues with the handheld play station device back in the day downgrading the firmware so you can use what you wanted not what they told you butt if you got a certain version with already existing updates then you cannot possibly jailbreak anything or whatever but everyone is like works works works then help nobody that says t doesn't
     

Share This Page

Loading...