1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General LG Spectrum 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kruzz902, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. kruzz902

    kruzz902 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    13
    7
    16
    Student
    New Jersey
    So the Spectrum 2 recently leaked for Verizon and I was wondering if they would upgrade Spectrum users with the Spectrum 2 when replacing phones through insurance. That's how I got my Spectrum in the first place because I originally had the Revolution and it got damaged so they replaced it with a Spectrum. So back to the question, whenever the Spectrum 2 comes out, you think they would do the same for current spectrum users?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nickg2

    nickg2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    16
    0
    35
  3. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    I'd actually be surprised if Verizon got the Spectrum 2 AND the Optimus VU. They're certainly very different, just would be interesting.
     
  4. admiral ackpoux

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    47
    4
    16
    The spectrum 2 as well as the VU are both set to come out for VZW

    LG Optimus Vu for Verizon Pictured in the Wild – Droid Life

    The link shows here it's ready to go with VZW branding and all but release date on both devices are still up in the air. ICS for the OG Spectrum(can't believe we can use that term already), will hopefully be right around the corner. Will probably hit when it does for the Rezound or if nto shortly after simply because the Rezound had more advertising and was closer to a flagship for VZW IMO. Only time will tell, but other than design, internal memory, and the .2" of screen, they are pretty much the same phone. Just have to wait and see
     
  5. Lightswarm

    Lightswarm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    164
    21
    58
    Spectrum 2? Well that's most certainly interesting. But I feel that both Spectrums are still pretty nice phones. LG should've packed the new one with a quad core processor. So that way they don't only have their Optimus 4x HD to compete with S3.

    Ehh I'm not even hoping for ICS right now. I'd rather think that it'll come in a months time. Until then, outdated software it is!
     
  6. jlove1974

    jlove1974 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012

    Jun 22, 2012
    27
    2
    16
    Southeast US
    Meh, looks like a RAZR to me, with a .2 inch bigger screen, same amount of ram and same CPU speed. Definitely not worth to upgrade to from a spec, and if I were it would be to a Galaxy SIII. Bring on ICS and the roms to follow....
     
  7. StarScream2109

    StarScream2109 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,393
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    5,393
    1,472
    313
    Male
    Air Commander
    Cybertron
    well I can say this you guys are lucky :D my ZTE warp will never see an official ICS the only way will be with AOSP ICS or CM9 seeing as i'll be recieving this phone very soon i am looking forward to the ICS update to bring you guys a excellent ROM :D
     
    PinkyTheDevil and Lightswarm like this.
  8. neilster1

    neilster1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    I seriously doubt you'd see a spectrum replaced with the 2, insurance or not.
     
  9. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    So it's this phone with ICS, NFC and a screen interface like the gnex and razr. Not impressed. I would have thought they'd increase the ram or cpu.
     
  10. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    they did ;) just not the cpufreq ;)
     
  11. ups2525

    ups2525 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    89
    26
    23
    UPS driver
    Converse (10 miles from DT San Antonio)
    The Spec 2 undoubtedly will come pre loaded with 4.0 and in regards to the hardware the Spec 2 is rumored to be similar to our beloved Spec. If this proves to be true will it be possible to simply pull ICS from the Spec 2 and load it on our Spec's???
     
  12. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,720
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1,720
    350
    163
    Custom Furniture Building
    Williamsburg, VA
    it does have different hardware though. It has an s4 cpu and probably a different gpu as well.
     
  13. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    It will either have the ardeno225 or ardeno320 depending on which msm8960 chip.

    8960 has ardeno225 8960T has ardeno320. I'm gonna say its the 8960 with ardeno225.

    Spectrum has ardeno220

    Regardless of it being the same series i can almost guarantee you it will have newer GPU blobs
     
  14. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    At least not yet, my bro-in-law just got his Thunderbolt replaced with a Rezound when is LCD started flaking out.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...