1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Stylo swap logic board

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Naturesninja, Jul 13, 2016.

  1. Naturesninja

    Naturesninja Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    3
    2
    6
    Female
    Hello community,

    I am new here so please go easy on me. My husband recently bought me an LG stylo for boost mobile which I broke the first day :( So I have been looking around at replacement screens and they cost as much or more as he paid for the phone. I came across brand new ones for less, but they are Virgin mobile versions. What I am wanting to know is if I can buy one of those and put my logic/motherboard/sim out of the boost phone into the virgin mobile version without having to go through the process of actually swapping the screens, as it would be easier for me (him). Thank you for your time!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,221
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,221
    3,190
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  3. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA
    Might as well just buy another one.

    The prices of the Stylo will probably drop since the Stylo 2 and Stylo 2 Plus are now out.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,126
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,126
    14,090
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If you do swap out logic boards, better check that the donor board's IMEI, MEID or ESN is clear, and isn't blacklisted. Because that can't be changed. Are Boost and Virgin phones interchangeable, can they operate on each other's network? Because this is CDMA I believe.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,221
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,221
    3,190
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    I think they broke the screen on the Boost Mobile Stylo. They want to use the Virgin Mobile Stylo screen and body to replace it by putting the original Boost board into Virgin Stylo.
     
    Naturesninja and mikedt like this.
  6. Naturesninja

    Naturesninja Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    3
    2
    6
    Female
    Hello, and thanks everyone. The last thing Jfalls63 said is exactly what I am trying to do. The Boost phones are still about $100, while I can get a new Virgin Mobile version for about $50, which is less than what the screens are going for. Except I will get a spare battery, stylus, and back cover in case I need one by buying the Virgin Mobile version.

    I tried to replace my glass after I dropped it in the parking lot outside of where I just bought it (trying the card trick) but ended up breaking the lcd in the process. I figured it would be easier to just drop the old motherboard into a new frame with the lcd already intact. I was just unsure if the two phones are identical (Ebay replacement screens/frames show just stylo ls770, but not carrier, so I am thinking it is?). I'm not big into all the bells and whistles, I just like the size of the stylo, and it having a stylus slot (already bought a spare battery and nice case too), otherwise I would probably just buy something else.

    Again, I appreciate your help. I think I'll bite the bullet and buy the Virgin model.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  7. Naturesninja

    Naturesninja Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    3
    2
    6
    Female
    Just thought I would update since I hate reading threads looking for an answer only to find that the OP never said how it turned out in the end. Turned out to be the same, no problems with motherboard install, back up and running. Chances are the Sprint model is swap-able too, I would imagine.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...