1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG v10 Unusual Charging Speed?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Aricchi, May 21, 2016.

1. Aricchi

Aricchi Lurker
    None

May 21, 2016
    I just purchased an LG v10 yesterday, new, from Verizon and I'm wondering if the charge is unusually slow and there may be some manufacturing issue or if I just have too high of expectations?

Using the Quick Charge, my phone claims to take about 2 hours and thirty minutes to charge from around 10%. Using the same Quick Charge cable but plugged into my desktop, my phone says it will take 5 hours and some minutes to charge.
    Is this unusually slow?

This is my first time using an Android device.
    Really appreciate any answers or suggestions, thank you!

Advertisement

2. eebvending

eebvending Member
    None

Feb 23, 2010
    Since nobody has responded yet I will jump in but unfortunately I can't answer your question definitively. I have a V10 as well so your topic caught my eye. I have only used the cable with the AC adapter so I can't say for certain if it is normal for the process to be slower when going the USB/PC route. However I do believe I have read on Android forums that it is indeed slower charging that way. Hopefully someone with more info will reply to this for you.

Aricchi and Mikestony like this.
  3. Mikestony

Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±

Sep 10, 2010
    Male
    Next to you
    I'd like to chime in also and I can attest to using the cable only via laptop will definitely cause the device to charge slower.
    I believe that is inherent in the computer usb port putting out a limited amount of current....I think .5 amp vs the wall charger using the same cable which is much higher, therefore charging the device quicker. :D

Thanks for the input @eebvending and you are correct about the slower charging via computer ;)

And @Aricchi, welcome to AF!!

Aricchi and KOLIO like this.
  4. Aricchi

Aricchi Lurker
    None

May 21, 2016