1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Volt screen flickers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HelenaR3, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    Hi,
    I've had the LG Volt for 2 weeks and I just noticed that the screen flickers a few seconds after I turn the WiFi on. :( Is that normal? :thinking:

    Thank you in advance.
    ;):)

    CORRECTION: The screen flickers a few seconds after IT CONNECTS TO THE WIFI and I've had the phone for 10 days.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013

    Oct 7, 2013
    169
    35
    63
    Male
    Disabled
    Columbia, MO
    You may have gotten a lemon!
    I tested my WiFi and no flickering.
    Have you dropped your device recently?
     
  3. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    No, I haven't drop my phone :(
     
  4. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    CORRECTION: The screen flickers a few seconds after IT CONNECTS TO THE WIFI
     
  5. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    I am not experiencing that, either. The only indication I get when swithing from Wi-Fi to Mobile Data and back is the change in icon/ color.
     
  6. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Do you have any widgets whose display would be affected by switching WiFi on/off? Just a thought.
     
  7. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    I have some icons and the weather widget.
     
  8. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
  9. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    That does not look normal. You may want to try removing one installed app at a time in reverse order of installation, and see if the issue goes away. The apps list can can be sorted in installation order under the app screen Settings > View apps by, so you can see the order in which apps were installed.

    If he device has been rooted, that can affect how apps interact with each other and the Android system, which can cause problems. Giving advice on rooted phones is above my pay scale.

    Edit: Before anything, try a soft reboot by powering down, removing the battery for 30 seconds, put the battery back in, and powering back up.

    Other forum members may have better ideas. Good Luck!
     
  10. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Clearing cache might help too
     
  11. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    I tried clearing cache and soft reboot and the problem still persist.
    If I exchange the phone at Best Buy Are they're going to transfer the number of this phone to the new one? And what about my credit? Am I going to lose it? 😫
     
  12. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    Best Buy should be able to transfer your number with no problem. I am not sure what you mean by your credit, but your Virgin Mobile account should be unaffected.
     
  13. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    When I say "my credit" I'm talking about the money I paid for my plan ($55) 😉
     
  14. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    Your Virgin Mobile account will be unaffected. If they swap out the phone, it should take about 20 minutes to have you up and running. If you have an SD card, make sure they pull it from the old phone and put it in the new one.

    You will have to re-load the apps and custom configure the phone.

    Good Luck!
     
  15. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    Thanks for your help! 😃😄
     
  16. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    I made a reset to the phone and it looks like the screen doesn't flicker anymore, I was going to exchange it tomorrow but I'll see how is it doing today...
     
  17. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    I talked too soon... I'll exchange it tomorrow...
     
  18. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    Please post your result. Others may have problems like this.
     
  19. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    The problem still persist, I'll exchange the phone tomorrow.
     
  20. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    Well, I exchanged the phone and got a different problem 😩😫. See top right of the pic.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    WiFi wasn't working yesterday and just checked that the screen of this phone flickers when it connects to the wifi too!
     
  22. dizzle16

    dizzle16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    298
    69
    53
    Male
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I've never noticed this problem on my device. Don't think it would bother me if it did. But you paid $ for it. I'd keep taking it back until they get it right
     
  23. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    I think what the pic shows is what is called light leakage. I read in another forum that this seems to be common problem with the Volt. From what I can figure out, it does not get worse, nor does it go away.

    Take it back to Best Buy and get an exchange. Good Luck (again).
     
  24. HelenaR3

    HelenaR3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    SoCaL
    The other one I had didn't have the problem with the screen. I'm just going to be sure the new one has a good screen and keep it even if the screen flickers, my husband is getting annoyed because I'm going to exchange it again. BTW I went to a different store Yesterday.
     
  25. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    The flickering may not be an issue with the phone, but with wi-fi reception. Did you notice if it does it with ALL wi-fi? Test it at the store.

    Despite the problems you have had, I still believe the Volt is a solid device, and you will be happy with if you get one that is functioning properly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...