1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Lg vortex

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by warwolf477, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. warwolf477

    warwolf477 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    I have a lg vortex 2.2.2 rooted.
    How do i add a custom recovery to add a custom rom or do i need to downgrade to 2.2.1?
     

    Advertisement

  2. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    Nope, 2.2.2 will work fine. Use the one found here: http://androidforums.com/getitnowmarketing/330813-all-one-recovery-thread.html

    I have 2.2.2 rooted, and that's what I used. Don't let the 2.2.1 in the name fool you. That only refers to the version number of the Recovery and will not downgrade your Android.
     
    warwolf477 likes this.
  3. warwolf477

    warwolf477 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    still not working, boot back to Verizon.
     
  4. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    When you say it's still not working, what exactly do you mean? Are you getting an error message trying to perform the process? Is your phone currently rooted? Did everything go ok but you just can't get it to pop up into recovery? I need more detailed info to help you. I assure you it does work! :)
     
    warwolf477 likes this.
  5. warwolf477

    warwolf477 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    I got it working and added break neck mod v3, but now the camera doesn't work.
    Anyway to fix this?
     
  6. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    Well, I've not used that custom ROM so I can't say whether that's a common issue. However, I did a little research and saw that the dev made a note about Overclocking speed possibly affecting the camera. If you have overclocked your Vortex, try setting it back to 600 Mhz and see if the camera works then. If so, then you'll need to mess with the Overclock settings until you find one that works for you.
     
    warwolf477 likes this.
  7. warwolf477

    warwolf477 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    I just needed to restart it.
    It works now, overclocked to 787mhz and works great.
    Thanks everyone for the help.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...