1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Link2sd problem with CM12 (MS323)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DMedina559, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. DMedina559

    DMedina559 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #169
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    431
    178
    78
    Male
    Android Enthusiast
    California
    I can't get link2sd to link any apps without them disappearing (or even open after linking to sdext [ext4]) on reboot, also link2sd plus force close link2sd
     

    Advertisement

  2. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    I'm getting the same here
     
  3. DMedina559

    DMedina559 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #169
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    431
    178
    78
    Male
    Android Enthusiast
    California
    I kinda found out why, I just don't know how to bypass it
    I noticed in 5.0 all user apps are installed in individual folders with the name base.apk (I assume because of ART?)
    Link2sd doesn't link them in individual folders, so they are just placed in /data/sdext2/base.apk, so when linking multiple apps, they're just replacing each other
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    Have you figured out a way to link these to SD card. I am using cm12 with aparted and it will not let me partition at all.
     
  5. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    Have y'all upgraded Link2SD and does it still occur?

    @jplsteel What do you mean won't let you partition?
     
  6. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    Its the latest links2sd and with aparted after creating a fat partition and an ext4 when I press create button it reads partition not found...I unmounted the sdcard before I started creating. I flashed back to simplicity just now and I'm going to try it on this one
     
  7. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    Why would you unmount? (I think I know why but I never did and it worked fine)...
     
  8. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    It wouldn't let me apply the changes after the partitions were made unless I unmount the SD card first
     
  9. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    Huh
     
  10. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    OK....Used the same method on simplicity ROM and it works perfectly....Must be a lollipop thing. Because L is running ART and it definitely takes up more internal storage for apps....my question is do you think being that the sdcard is now partitioned, If I flash back to cm12 if it will still be linked or partitioned?? Oh I have an 8 GB SD card what do you think a good partition would be for apps and cwm backups?
     
  11. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    It will be if you relink it in Link2SD
    I'm using 8GB. It's good for about one or two backups if you don't use big apps or music
     
  12. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    I'll do that...I have 2 backups now and no large apps.
     
    crutchcorn likes this.
  13. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    I flashed back from simplicity to cm 12 and relinked Link2SD and was asked to reboot and was stuck in boot loop. Has to use flash tool and start all over again. Back on cm12 now without link2SD
     
  14. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    Just wanted to double check... Y'all using 3.6.2, and Link2SD still not working with CM12 right?
     
  15. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    Uhm... Guys... IDK what y'all talking about... I got everything running just fine... Boots longer, but it worked. :)

    EDIT: I AM WRONG! :O Apps disappear upon link!
     
    #15 crutchcorn, Dec 27, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2014
    DMedina559 likes this.
  16. crutchcorn

    crutchcorn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    1,444
    752
    233
    Male
    Living
    Sacramento Area
    So I tried the native Link2SD (move to SD) method and got this issue...
    [​IMG]
    This is because sdcard1 should be labeled as external_sd in order to work
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...