1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General linking facebook with contacts on 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by icomeanon, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    ive seen several threads that are one or two posts a piece, but cant find an answer..

    ever since switching to 2.1 (now on the newest leak, and btw does anyone know how we'd force the OTA to take if it doesn't on its own?), i am unable to link contacts on my phone to facebook people, which means no pictures, updates, or anything else. anyone got a fix for it?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    hate to do this but im bumping myself
     
  3. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Make sure you've added a "Facebook for HTC Sense" account under Settings>Accounts & sync, as opposed to just using the Facebook app.

    I think you'll need to be more specific about what you've already tried, and what the phone is doing in response, in order to get more specific suggestions.
     
  4. bigE1669

    bigE1669 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    IT
    Illinois
    My question is why don't I get any notifications of updates in the notification bar. BTW, I didn't have any issues with facebook contacts like other people have had.
     
  5. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    facebook for htc sense is synced, updating every hour, 'sync contacts' is checked.

    When you go into people, select a contact (john doe, lets say, and you have john as a facebook friend), you click 'link'. then the facebook option. on 1.5, it would show you all your facebook friends, and let you search by name as well. well, on 2.1, both the original leak and this new one, it doesn't show anything nor can i search. i have tried linking facebook friends to people on my phone, but the facebook app doesn't give you that option, so i obviously couldnt. other than that, there's nothing that i can think to try.

    some people have problems with too many facebook contacts...i have NO contacts
     
  6. Syncopated8th

    Syncopated8th Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Food Demoer
    New ro
    But what about this issue? I've seemed to see that when you compose a message, text i'd say, and you get all your facebook people as well. I did that uncheck thing under sync and all that, and it got rid of all the facebook ppl in my contacts....but not under the sms app (native sms app).
     
  7. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    Not all of my facebook contacts are included when I go to link them. Its like the ones that were linked before just won't show up on the HTC Sense now. It is odd.

    Also my favorites in people do not show up in the "all" section. This is weird.

    On 2.1 (V1), they were linked no problem.
     
  8. hazeof3dd

    hazeof3dd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    102
    7
    36
    For those experiencing having their facebook contacts in their people app, are you checking the Menu>View option in the People app? Make sure Facebook is UNCHECKED. As far as linking Facebook goes, when I re-imported all my contacts, the ones who's names matched their names on Facebook automatically were linked, I just had to go in and manually link the ones who's were different, and did so with no problem...
     
  9. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    Actually just took a look at my facebook contacts... only the A's have made it in... and only up to "An" as in "Angelina".... anyone after is completely missing... wtf lol
     
  10. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    You're right that it's weird to not see the entire list of friends when you go through the steps you mentioned. It sounds like your phone isn't downloading your friend list from Facebook like it should. Something must be stopping that from happening. Things to check include:

    1. Is mobile network enabled?
    2. On the Facebook web site, is HTC Sense listed under Account>Application Settings>Granted Additional Permissions>Offline Access?
    3. Did you try disabling Google contacts sync and then manually hitting "sync now" on the Facebook for HTC Sense sync settings?
    4. Have you tried logging OUT of the Facebook app and then restarting the phone?
    5. Do you have any task killers running?
    6. Is Google calendar sync enabled? (Pretty sure it has to be enabled in order to sync other items that depend on a sync schedule.)

    Other than those troubleshooting steps, I don't know what else to try.
     
    icomeanon likes this.
  11. hazeof3dd

    hazeof3dd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    102
    7
    36
    Are you talking about who has been linked? Did you check to see if they are actually linked in the contact card? Or if its just that their pictures and statuses haven't updated yet. Or are you talking about when you try to link them, it only lists people up to An? That would be strange lol
     
  12. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    ^^^
    Yeah, the strange one. Its only downloading part of it... I wonder if spare parts is messing it up...
     
  13. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    I went into facebook (on my desktop) and deleted HTC Sense, then also removed it from my phone and re-installed it. Seems to be downloading my contacts correctly now. Instead of the first 70 contacts, it showed 82. And checking it a few seconds later it showed 100. Hoping to have all 900 of them over haha. =P
     
    icomeanon likes this.
  14. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    Ahh shit... its stuck at the first 100.
     
  15. hazeof3dd

    hazeof3dd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    102
    7
    36
    just let it do its thing like overnight, see if its any different tomorrow
     
  16. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Perhaps something is interrupting it. Try disabling all of your other syncs (including Facebook app) until all 900 friends are synced.
     
  17. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    1.) yes
    2.) yes
    3.) tried that
    4.) repeatedly
    5.) not since leaks started coming out
    6.) yes


    that seems to have done it!

    finally. thanks for the help all.
     
  18. 3ris

    3ris Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    38
    2
    16
    I am having the same problem... how did you get yours fixed icomeanon??
     
  19. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    How did you remove htc facebook from your phone? I am having this same problem. The only difference being that I get a notification that com.htc.bg has stopped unexpectedly and then force closes. I would really like to get this working, especially since it had no problems working on the first leak.

    Also, my contact card had zero problems linking to facebook. Can't figure out what's causing the process com.htc.bg to force close...
     
  20. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    3ris and robo:
    go into applications settings on facebook (on your computer, the actual website), and remove everything for android/htc sense. go onto your phone and remove the facebook account under accounts and sync. reboot your phone, then put "android for facebook" back onto your facebook and relink the account on your phone. fixed it for me. however, while everyone else is linked up, i am unable to link the contact card for myself to my facebook account, so my profile picture does not show up.
     
  21. Wiggz

    Wiggz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Sorry everyone but I am BRAND NEW to droids...

    I am having this issue too. How do I manually link people with my android 2.0.1? (have the motorola droid if that makes a difference) I'd like to try to do it manual before deleting everything...

    Also for the few people that ARE synced... I have either both of their names or just their last name programed in my phone. Does at least ONE of the names have to match or something b/c I have quite a few nicknames in my phone too (Im military everyone has a nickname lol).

    EDIT WOW I'm sorry I found this thread through a search and didn't realize it was HTC specific... I hope you guys don't mind if I leave it up though in case someone does have some thoughts still.
     
  22. K_love0x

    K_love0x Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Nail Technician/Cosmetologist
    Gerogia
    my question is... since i synced my facebook ALL of my friends show up when i hit the phone button and i don't want all of the people in there.. i only want like 20 numbers to show up how can i delete them or can i? My hubby updated my phone to 2.1 last night and i hate it... it deleted all of my contacts.. he said it wouldn't.. little did he know that it was the facebook contacts that it imported and not the actual people in my people app. and i know have to call people or email them for their numbers... i guess i'm gonna have to get used to it.. or break it and get 1.5 back
     
  23. mss12

    mss12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    Is there any way to not import every single contact from facebook...or a way to link your google contact with their facebook pic like you could on 1.5?
     
  24. icomeanon

    icomeanon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    174
    5
    36
    CSR/web-dev
    Northeastern Ohio
    mss12 - after you turn on facebook's sync, go through the contacts and go to "link" from the menu button. you will see google and facebook. click the facebook, if there is a 'linked' icon, and it will unlink them. i think.

    klove - there is a thread somewhere around here for that specific issue...i can't find it at the moment, but maybe someone else will be able to? i'm thinking it's in the 2.1 bugs thread...
     
  25. grahamdart

    grahamdart Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    when i try to sync facebook contacts i get an error message...

    com.htc.bg has stopped unexpectedly

    it's def related to this specific account and not the phone because i can sync contacts with other facebook accounts without a problem. i have tried 2 other accounts.

    i've already tried the methods listed above that suggest deleting and reinstalling the apps on facebook.

    i do have a large number of contacts on the account that's failing to sync (2700 or so). i figure this might be the problem.

    anyone have a solution?

    -legend
     

Share This Page

Loading...