1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

LiQuID FroZeN YoGurT v1.5 (FRG22 Built From AOSP Source!! - Custom SLaYHer KeRNeLs!!)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by liquid0624, Aug 24, 2010.

?

Poll closed due to new release for this ROM

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    48 vote(s)
    60.0%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    20 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    3 vote(s)
    3.8%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    5 vote(s)
    6.3%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    4 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    Thing is, I JUST re-organized my apps yesterday. I was getting ready to do my save and then flash the wm'd 1.5 theme when it drops.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    About the delay - i have experiance the same with in calls. I have had my phone idle for about 2 hrs this morning at work before i tried to call it from the desk phone. It rang 3-4 times before the answer screen loaded up. I then let it sit for 5 more mins and tried again, this time it took 1.5 rings. I do underclock my phone to 250 when screen is off to save batt life. This possibly making the phone recover and load slower when a call is incoming? Ill be doing more tests as today passes.
     
  3. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE

    The 11:00 a.m. upload that johngalt's post was referring to (which was actually referencing a post of mine) was about the v1.6 slayher kernels, NOT LFY v1.5). The ROM itself wasn't actually uploaded again, to fix the md5 sum mismatch, until around 6:12 p.m. yesterday (August 25th).

    If you do reflash the ROM, there's no need at all to wipe anything.
     
  4. rumdood

    rumdood Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Software Developer
    Southern California
    I've seen some of the lag that YankeeDudeL mentioned.

    There are times when I'll do something like open the app drawer and start to scroll and it just stops responding for 2 or 3 seconds and then suddenly catch up.

    The delay in waking to answer a call has only happened to me once. After that it's been pretty smooth.

    I've also noticed some "stickiness" when typing on the soft keyboard. The text will trail me by 4 or 5 letters, often with one letter expanded in the foreground of the keyboard like I had just hit it, even though it's way behind what I hit recently.

    I need to do some more methodical testing with it, but since I'm now 3 days from a major software launch of my own, my time for doing so is likely zero until Labor Day Weekend.

    Still, even with the stickiness the ROM is not unpleasant to use. As YankeeDudeL mentioned, when it doesn't stick it just FLIES. I'm wondering if it could be a relationship with the home apps. I'm using LauncherPro+ or premium or whatever the paid-for version is.
     
  5. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    What significance is the difference in the md5 sum ?
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I didn't wipe and it worked fine. I'm not sure what the difference between the two files are but it did make a big difference in my phone. Before I flashed the file with the correct md5sum my phone was almost useless. I was listening to a podcast yesterday running at 800 mhz and my screen quit working, it would not come on at all until the podcast finished, I could not stop the media even by unplugging my headset. My phone also started to reboot itself randomly. I tried to wipe and reflash the rom with the wrong file prior to realizing it was not the correct file and the problems remained.

    I do not think that it was just a peice of text that was changed as the file sizes are different something was missing from the original file I downloaded. I imagine Liquid would be able to verify or deny the was a change between the two files. As it stands now I still feel there was something missing from the original upload.
     
    digdug1 likes this.
  7. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    md5sum's are used to differentiate files from actual versions opposed to someone uploading a fake file trying to screw you over. Each file has a different md5sum that makes it unique.
     
    YankeeDudeL likes this.
  8. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    Iight.. got you. With me though I was just going to get the new file b/c well, it was the "new" file. I havent experianced any flaws besides the delay in the answer incoming call. Ive continued' testing that and it has been extreme..only 2 rings now after 30 mins phone idle.

    So i guess ill stick wit the rom i have until something comes up.
    To note, was this your first flash of a rom? This is for me, so my phone "history"(4 lack of a better word) may be cleaner than yours..which may have reason for your problems when you flashed..
     
  9. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey
    Just installed the other day, and loving it so far. WIRELESS TETHERING! How awesome is this!? Kudos to you my friend!
     
  10. Sparky977

    Sparky977 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Rumdood just get me wondering. Maybe the minor lag issues are related to Launcher Pro, like he mentioned? I'm using it and have noticed lag a few times. Its not consistently laggy by any means though.
    I was having a worse time with it before reflashing the ROM. I had originally installed it over top of 1.4 themed with BnB. It just wasn't performing up to my expectations, so I did a clean install of 1.5, the 1100 kernel and the BnB theme. That seemed to take care of the call lag. But still getting the random lag.

    So, those of you experiencing the lag, what launcher are you using? What launcher are you using if you aren't getting lag?
     
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No my first flash was Chevy SS 4.6, then LFY 1.3, LFY 1.4, and now this rom. When in recovery and you do a factory reset then format boot and system it cleans your phone out and removes the OS, so the amout of roms you have flashed should not have any bearing on how your current rom works unless you don't wipe between roms which is not a wise idea anyways.
     
  12. SoDroid

    SoDroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    382
    76
    53
    Denver
    I'm getting some lag. Using LauncherPro in data/app. Also using the 1100 Slayher kernel, trying to decide whether to keep it on Interactive or Performance.
     
  13. Amrov

    Amrov Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    115
    9
    36
    Texas
    I'm using LauncherPro and getting lag. Was pretty bad at times this morning.
     
  14. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
    I am also using LauncherPro, and getting horrible lags

    I may go back to BB4

    This ain't working too well right now. I will use ADW for a little bit see if it helps though
     
  15. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    Noticed that when trying to play a clip from facebook. The phone asks to use "movies" or "video player". Each resulting in Error: File cannot be displayed or played.
     
  16. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Interactive works very well, preformance will have you running all out all the time so your battery will suffer. I am using sweeter home 2, and I have tried some different kernels and on almost all the kernels that do not have interactive the only thing that keeps me running smooth is preformance mode, with slayher's kernels interactive gives me better battery life and I my home screens are still smooth.
     
  17. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    To the lag issue, I have got some just recently.. handcent took 4 secs to load, and bumped my clock to 900-1100

    using launcher pro that came w/ rom
     
  18. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    Just switched to interactive..noticeable difference right away.

    What is the diff b/w the two?
     
  19. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    sorry for the overposting..but a youtube vid on facebook doesnt use the app like it used to. It forwards me to the youtube website then plays the vid.
     
  20. morgan_allstar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    need some advice/help. i followed the instructions and put the lfy ROM on my zip card, but when i went thru the steps and went to install it with clockword, it gave me an error saying "can't read /sdcard/LFYv1.5.zip (bad)"

    i just restored but wanted to ask before i try again.
     
  21. mig13

    mig13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    I keep trying to DL the B&B theme for 1.5 but it keeps telling me there are to many redirects and I can't get it. Is there a different link?
     
  22. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Performance has your phone running at the max you set in setcpu at all times. Interactive is more like on demand scaleing where when you unlock the cpu will go from idle state usually towards the min you have set in setcpu, then will scale down until it meets system needs only. The difference in on demand and interactive is that on demand will poll the CPU at predefined intervals to see if more or less is needed. Interactive does not do this and allows the CPU to change speeds as needed without polling.

    I have the 1200 mhz kernel on my phone, if I use performance I will run at 1200 all the time, with interactive I will run at 1200 when I unlock then run at lower speeds unless I need 1200.
     
    YankeeDudeL and bsems1000 like this.
  23. morgan_allstar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    the (bad) message came up again when i tried to install the blueberry theme....is my SD card jacked up or what???
     
  24. mig13

    mig13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    I just got the same. Using ROM manager and I did flash clockwork recovery mode before doing the install. Help
     
  25. mig13

    mig13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Ok, Morgan, in ROM manager you have to flash an older/experimental version (bottom button) first and when that is finished, flash back again (button at top). Then it will work. I'm booting up now
     
    morgan_allstar likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...