1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

LiQuID FroZeN YoGurT v1.6 (FRG22D BuILT FRoM SoUrCE!!! GeT iT FaST BeFoRE iT MeLTs!!!)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by liquid0624, Sep 3, 2010.

?

RRS Poll - Please Rate this ROM only if you have flashed it.

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    49 vote(s)
    68.1%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    16 vote(s)
    22.2%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    4 vote(s)
    5.6%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    2 vote(s)
    2.8%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    1 vote(s)
    1.4%
  1. rumdood

    rumdood Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Software Developer
    Southern California
    I've figured out how to get a new LFY release to drop!

    All I have to do is decide I've finalized my current setup of the latest ROM and the next time I check the forums a new dot release will be out! :D

    I have 1.5 running like a dream right now, but the comments about improvement in 1.6 have me thinking that I'll be spending my lunch hour loading the newer update again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
    yeah me too...
    I hope 1.7 doesn't come out for a few months.. LMFAO
     
  3. Rollo_Tomasi

    Rollo_Tomasi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    35
    1
    36
    IT Tech Support
    Washington DC
    Thank you so much for this update, it rocks and I love LFY in general!

    I am running the 1.1k kernal /w the watermark'd theme but have one interesting issue..

    when i use the home switcher app to change to launcher pro i can set up my 7 windows and when i hit the Home button it takes me back to ADW...

    anyone else have this issue? i had it on LFY 1.5 and thought it was just a bug with the build but now I am thinking it's more

    any thoughts?
     
  4. morgan_allstar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    i just intalled this and it is freezing up on me big time. should i be deleting older zip files with the other ROMs or what?

    update: i just noticed that it freezes up when the little "refreshing" icon comes up.....i'm gonna let it sit a while and see if it clears itself up....
     
  5. brocja01

    brocja01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    225
    7
    36
    I can say that 1.6 is waaaaaay better for me than 1.5! I actually reverted back to 1.3 which ran awesome on my phone. The phone is snappy, doesn't get lagged down and the battery life is crazy good. I'm talking full day good. Can't believe it really. What a difference. I'm running 1.6 with the default kernel and the Revolution Theme. Well done Liquid and your team. Well done in deed!
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Umm, yeah, I know well the results of using a faster kernel - however, I also have 170+ apps installed on my phone (for a grand total of 258 when SDMove searches for apps that can be moved to the SDCard) and I have 2 spare batteries, one of which is fully charged while another is in the phone and the third is charging....

    I am fully prepared for battery consumption (other than that I faced in 1.5 - 80% in 3-5 hours was a bit too much), but I need the raw power b/c at any given moment I am connected to numerous IM clients, plus reading twitter, searching the web, etc. - and let's leave out gaming altogether for now, m'kay?

    My comments in the post you replied to were reflection on the changes from 1.5 and my previous experience with 1.6 - 1.5 was horrid on my phone, for a number of reasons, and this was a reflection that 1.6 was so smooth and fast that I actually forogt I was runnig stock - nothing more, nothing less.

    Incorrect. As I sated, they were tests I performed, and I reported back the results.

     
  7. morgan_allstar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    ok, got the bfy theme installed after i did the lfy rom and it will boot up and within 10-20 seconds it freezes and the screen eventually goes black and i can't get it back on....is anyone else having trouble with that theme? am i doing something wrong?
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I agree 1.6 is much more smooth than 1.5 for me as well. I may have misinterpreted you original post about the tests. I read it as you were blaming the rom with the issues as a result of the test when I have had problems with doing the same thing with ti backup. I understand now you are trying to speed the process of setting up a new rom with minimal errors once set up; which I appreciate, any way to speed up the process of setting up a new rom is great, given it works. I *believe* swype is tempermental to the build and find that running the installer is the easiest way to get it on my phone. However a way to get my widgets to stay on my home screen after a rom flash would be great.

    I was basing my point about the 1200 kernel on my own experience. My phone likes them for a day or two then it decides that it does not, I have not been able to identify the issue as to why it changes. And because my wife has seen me put my phone thru bootloops and crashes she refuses to let me touch her droid when I am talking about anything root related.

    I was not trying to flame you or call you inexperienced, interpreted your words as to problems with the rom which is apparently not what you meant.
     
  9. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    637
    102
    93
    Link doesn't seem to work for me...
     
  10. -AspenSTi-

    -AspenSTi- Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Washington
    Same here, i swapped the theme to the black and bold and now my maps works 100%. Sounds like the galaxy theme will cause some minor issues for some users...
     
  11. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Anyone know why I keep getting the "What's New in Gmail" popup everytime I open gmail? It's starting to get really tiring!
     
  12. docdl

    docdl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    38
    17
    18
    Running fine for me.
     
  13. jbulluck

    jbulluck Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    84
    6
    16
    Tampa, FL.
    I am having a difficult time trying to get my home screen to look like it does when you first install the Blueberry Theme...the icons for the App Drawer, SMS, Browser, Contacts and Phone are all blue!

    Now that I have purchased Launcher Pro Plus a new version v0.7.7.3 was just released and the icons I mentioned above are grey now after I updated LPPlus...how in the heck can I get these to be blue again?? Its driving me to the brink of.....well i'll leave it at that! Anybody have any input on this please???

    I even tried to reinstall the Blueberry Theme again after the update for LPPlus and no luck....help!!

    Thanks in advance
     
  14. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Mediafire went down today...the joys of free hosting :D
     
  15. bluemsw

    bluemsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    90
    6
    16
    Tech
    so. cal
    Can anyone help me, I just installed the smoked frozen yogurt 1.6 with rom manager and now after the reboot following the installation my phone is stuck in the start screen boot loop.
     
  16. Raazazuul

    Raazazuul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    37
    1
    16
    I tried going to revolution theme from galaxy s hoping it would rectify my market force close issues i mentioned in an earlier post. Reloaded stock rom from scratch with wipe, rebooted and then went back and applied theme. Unfortunately, the issue has persisted. A real bummer because I love the aesthetics of this roms themes more than any other rom.
     
  17. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    I've been running the 1200 kernel for a few days now and have noticed my phone is hitting around 50C to 51C I have setcpu set to drop down to 800mhz when it hits the 51C threshold which is a little odd considering I have had no problems with 1200 kernels (slayher's kernels on both) on 1.4 and 1.5 heatwise. So I am going to drop down to the 1100 kernel to see if my phone likes it better, the question I have still being a noob to all this (1.4 was my first rom) is can I flash the 1100 kernel or do I need to wipe and reload the rom?
     
  18. bluemsw

    bluemsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    90
    6
    16
    Tech
    so. cal
    I Love the way the rom looks but its to complicated for me, after I got it to install the phone software was no where to be found either was my contacts. I wish i could get the look without all the work.
     
  19. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
    kernal no wiping
     
    kujayhawks77 likes this.
  20. jbulluck

    jbulluck Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    84
    6
    16
    Tampa, FL.
    You can flash the kernels, no need to wipe the entire ROM!
     
    kujayhawks77 likes this.
  21. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
    go to setting> applications>manage>look for ADW click on it, when it shows you all the info down toward the bottom right the should be "clear defaults" button. Now when you puch home it's gonna ask you which laucher to use, select Launcher pro and check make default...
     
  22. morgan_allstar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    grrrr....i need to try again, i love that blueberry look.
     
  23. Darkfyre97

    Darkfyre97 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Access Administrator
    Knoxville, TN
    Had / having some lag issues and general slowness with the Revolution theme, but this is the first ROM in a long time that doesn't have shitty Flash audio streaming (shitty meaning slow motion). When I switched from the stock kernel to Chevy's 1GHz med kernel, a lot of the lag and some of the home redraw issues went away, but they're still there. For the record, I'm using ADW but this is the first time I've had issues with redraw lag that I can recall. I also had some issues with market FCs after my initial install, but that was my fault, I think. Pretty sure I did too much at once. After I wiped x3, installed ROM, reboot, sync, intsall theme, reboot, sync, install kernel, reboot, sync, all my FC issues seem to have been resolved. Think I'll give the other themes a shot today to see if I can clear up the redraw lag.

    Overall, I'd give it a 9.5 outta 10, simply because Liquid has fixed whatever causes the issue with my Flash audio =) He's done something that no other dev has managed to do, so he's gained my loyalty and a donation ASAP. On top of that, this is a rock solid ROM thats ranking right up there with Simply Stunning and Cyanogen in this nerd's opinion and I'll definately keep coming back for more. Keep up the fantastic work!
     
  24. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    294
    37
    43
    Male
    In the burbs of SEPA
    This thing has been amazing so far.. the only little quirk that I've managed to find is when using the Voice Search app. Now, you can use this thing to do more than just search, but I get FCs specifically when I try to speak a text msg to someone. It'll recognize the command and show the dialog box with the addressee and the text, but once I hit the button to add more, it FCs.. repeatedly. Doesn't matter what the variation in actions is, it FCs every time..

    Granted, it isn't an option I use too often, but just thought I'd bring it up as something to look into as you work on 1.7..
     
  25. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    637
    102
    93
    I really like 1.6 with the Watermark'D theme.
    Battery seems to be as good or better than it was with 1.5 and I am getting similar quadrant scores as well, right at 1700 running Slayher's 1200.
    My flash/audio issues with 1.5 are now fixed.

    The only issue I have remaining is with voice search/texting/calling etc.
    The "send text to **" function works but if I click the microphone again to add more text I get a FC every time.
    If I do it all at once, ie "Send text to Fred.....Hey what time are we meeting?" then click send it works.
    Same goes if I open the program, click help then try to click the microphone I get a FC.

    Anyone else have this issue?

    EDIT:
    Gee, in the time it took me to type my post ne0lyfeism posted the same thing... ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...