1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

List Apps Not to Kill

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bartjunited, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. bartjunited

    bartjunited Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #676
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    120
    2
    36
    Im currently using TaskKiller & Taskpanel to control memory usage on the phone (someone pls let me know if i should use something else).

    I have a habit in Taskpanel to hit the option of "Kill All Background Tasks" which does the job & frees up a lot of memory.

    However I use the Notes App & Remind Me App a lot & want to be able to ensure these are NOT killed when i do this as otherwise the reminders dont work.

    Does anyone know how to do this is either of these apps or what other app i could use instead of these 2 to control mem usage.

    cheers

    Bart
     

    Advertisement

  2. RicoUX

    RicoUX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    User Expperience Architect
    London
    Use Advance Task Manager, you can add apps to the ignore list.
     
  3. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009

    Jan 14, 2009
    547
    6
    61
    1. Why are you "killing " apps ?
    2. The Android system kills apps when it needs memory,all by itself.
    3. Want to free up memory ? Clear your cache.
    4. Want to clear cache ? Search the forums, I have posted 4 times today about it.
    5.uninstall task/app killing apps. They take up space, use up memory and waste battery.
     
  4. ianr

    ianr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009

    Aug 7, 2009
    253
    18
    38
    taskiller has an ignore list, put it in the list and just use that.

    As for the need to kill apps, it is useful from time to time, last time I used it was to kill something that was slowing the phone down, it kept coming back, I eventually tracked it down to "VLC Remote" and uninstalled it. I don't use it that often though as android does the job itself most of the time, that's if apps behave themselves!
     
  5. steveg

    steveg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    my hero works much better with TaskPanel installed and keeping a check on the programs. I put most programs on the Ignore list, but some I dont need to run for god knows how long after i exit out of them. clearing cache does NOTHING for available memory and phone slowdowns...unless you have like zero space left on your phone from an overwhelming cache.

    i used my hero without taskpanel installed for a week and i saw a noticeable slowdown of the functions of the phone, including typing. with taskpanel up i'm always running around 50mb of memory free, keeping my phone nice and snappy.
     
  6. bartjunited

    bartjunited Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #676
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    120
    2
    36
    So is the general opinion that we should kill apps when not using0or clear the cache.


    On this note anyone know to stop multiple apps opening in the background which you have not opened yourself e.g the native messages app seems to open in the background even though I dont use it as I use handcent
     
  7. pdxgeek

    pdxgeek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    0
    5

    1. Because if you get below 40mb or so, SMS messages start not getting delivered to your phone. That is huge to me.

    I have been using just Task Panel, I tell it to try and keep 70mb when it does it autokill every 5 minutes. So far it has worked, I think.

    The unfortunate thing is that you dont KNOW you arent receiving the texts, unless you have the sending party inform you that they sent a text and you never received it. I think that is a big reason why this isnt a bigger issue, just because most people may not have not caught on to it yet.
     
  8. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    279
    14
    38
    Engineer
    Florida

    I have not experienced that (About not receiving texts when under 40mb). I hadn't reset my phone in a few days this past weekend and I was texting back and forth while around 28MB in my memory. It's not that big of a deal. Something else was probably causing the lack of messaging, or it's phone specific. My phone slows down, but still works fine under 40mb memory free.
     
  9. MattW

    MattW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    68
    2
    16
    IT researcher
    Cheshire, UK
    To add apps to TaskPanel's ignore list:

    Start the app
    Hit home (so the app is still running)
    Open Taskpanel and long press the app you want to ignore which will open up a pop up menu for it
    Select 'ignore'
     
  10. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    to kill or not to kill? that is the question. i've had my Hero for just over a month. like everyone else as soon as i got it i installed taskiller. every time i spent 5 minutes on my phone i'd kill a bunch of apps afterwards. it became an obsession. then this last week ive said enough is enough, ive stopped using it and my phone is so much better now. don't stress it, you've gotta let it do its thing, go with the flow man. :cool: be cool.
     
  11. MattW

    MattW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    68
    2
    16
    IT researcher
    Cheshire, UK
    Agreed.
    I've only had mine a few days and as it's also my alarm clock (having discovered that it won't switch itself on in response to an alarm event :rolleyes: ) I just kill all (minus a couple of ignores) and switch off mobile data before I go to sleep to save some battery life. For the rest of the day I just leave it to itself :)
     
  12. ianr

    ianr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009

    Aug 7, 2009
    253
    18
    38
    I've never had the SMSes not being received issue either, pdxgeek are you using the standard messaging app?
     
  13. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    To free up memory (RAM, not flash).

    Which takes time, slowing down apps while they are running. And sometimes it doesnt do a very good job. Quite a few force closes are due to memory allocation issues. If you have an app that sometimes force closes, killing all other tasks to free up memory before you run the program can often stop it force closing.

    Wrong. Wrong x4.

    Do you understand the difference between flash memory (i.e. non-volatile storage) and RAM? Application caches are stored in non-volatile storage, not RAM. Task killers free up RAM. Apps that are running require RAM. Apps that are not running do not.

    Proof:
    Find an app with some data cached. Switch off the phone. Switch it on again - the cache is still there.
    Check the amount of free RAM with, say, TaskPanel X. Clear the application's cache. Observe that the amount of free RAM has not changed.

    They dont use up memory or waste battery if they arent running. Just avoid auto task killers, do it manually as and when you actually need to.
     
  14. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    Oh, and for the OP, this is the contents of my ignore list in TaskPanel:

    3G Watchdog
    Calendar
    Clock
    Google Mail
    Mail
    Messages
    PC Synchronization
    Touch Input
    TouchFLO

    To add an app to the ignore list in taskpanel, long click it in the list, and select 'add to ignore list'. You can remove items from the ignore list by selecting [menu] -> manage ignore list.
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I don't bother, personally. I reckon the Android developers know a bit more than I do anyway, and leave well alone. This works just fine for me.
     
  16. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    98
    13
    18
    UK
    I used advanced task killer which has a quick 'end all' button. I don't know what HTC does or doesn't know but i do know that after a while my virtual keyboard becomes very sluggish when typing unless i occasionally shut down stuff.
     
  17. acithium

    acithium Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    I use advanced task killer because my Samsung Galaxy has minimal RAM, I can only squeeze around 32 Megs free if I kill everything. Usually I'm around 17Megs free, and i don't even do a lot with this phone. Android runs really sluggish sometimes. Thank God for advanced task killer, or iI would be stuck.
     
  18. carnaige

    carnaige Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Hi there

    Sorry, newbie here...

    Have just got a HTC hero and have installed advanced Taskiller and have the android task bar showing on a homepage.

    How do i actually add apps to the ignore list..?

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  19. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    Hold down on the app. Add to ignore list. It's best to hide the ignore list which you do through menu/settings.
     
  20. carnaige

    carnaige Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Hi... tried that but when i hold down on an app it just asks me where i want to place it one the homepage...

    hmmmmm
     
  21. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    step 1 : tap taskiller icon to open said taskiller application

    step 2 : notice a list of applications that are currently 'active'

    step 3 : hold down on one of the applications you want to ignore eg. clock, touchflo etc. a dialogue box will then pop up

    step 4: select the option 'ignore' from said dialogue box

    step 5: after adding all the apps you want to the ignore list, press menu and tap settings. select 'hide ignored applications'

    step 6: have a lie down :D
     
  22. carnaige

    carnaige Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Thanks - worked fine!

    Thought i had tried that last night but obv not!

    Cheers
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...