1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

List of quirks and/or bugs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lawlhai, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. figgarro

    figgarro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Anybody have any issue with their Calendar and syncing? It seems to sync, but for some reason it repeated one of my tasks everyday for the life of the calendar.

    I'm using the stock calendar and the smooth calendar widget.
     

    Advertisement

  2. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,619
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,619
    4,623
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility

    Menu > settings > Applications >Manage Applications > All tab. Find Calendar and Calendar Storage, clear data for both of them. Either force a sync in accounts or wait for the next sync and your calendar should be fine.
     
    figgarro likes this.
  3. lefty421

    lefty421 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    There is an easy fix for that. First you uncheck the notifications in the stock messaging app, then just replace the stock messaging app icon in the home row with the Handcent icon. Problem fixed...... I'm a fan of 2.2 ..... it rocks ;)
     
    egkor likes this.
  4. cujo2344

    cujo2344 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    I updated manually, my concerns are not that major, but still annoying.

    Slow reaction time when opening programs or waking my phone from being locked.

    The auto-rotate to the new angle has been WAY TO sensitive and VERY ANNOYING, can I turn it off to only rotate to the keyboard and vertical?

    And the fact that google disabled sleeptimer PISSES ME OFF ROYALY. I like using sleep on the slingplayer so it does not run all night, ugh.

    Otherwise, there have not been any major advances from the upgrade, my GPS was always fine for the most part and haven't been utilizing any flash.

    Tempted to go back to 2.1
     
  5. figgarro

    figgarro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Okay, I tried this with a force sync had the same problem. Cleared the data again and currently waiting for the next sync to happen.

    Could there be any other data that I should try to clear?
     
  6. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,619
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,619
    4,623
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    Unfortunately, that's all I've got. Crossing my fingers that the next sync works for you!
     
  7. figgarro

    figgarro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    It did not work, I think its getting hung up while syncing. When viewing the Data & Sync page the sync symbol goes away when its done syncing the other items such as contact, email..etc, but it the symbol stay on the calendar one.

    FYI: Got it fixed finally, had to delete the offending reoccurring event, once I deleted it all cleared up. Re added the event and all is well. Thanks pastafarian for you help.
     
  8. rogand

    rogand Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Yes, that's ultra-stupid. They could have fixed that by choosing check-boxes instead of radio-buttons. Or by just not violating good customer software experience rules and reducing old functionality when adding new ones.

    I had a fairly clean, unrooted 2.1 and did a proper OTW update including battery pulls and clearing caches (I think I got all of them anyway) and basically completely wiping everything, but am experiencing a number of small issues. Only two are truly crippling though. As a few others have reported, I'm getting horrible lags where all the icons on all 7 screens sometimes disappear, and can take 5-10 seconds to reappear. It happens often enough that I haven't narrowed it down to a single set of steps to repeat, but seems to generally involve either
    1) using the home or back key
    2) going between portrait/landscape (or vertical/horizontal or whatever we call that)
    3) opening keyboard (sliding it out/open)

    If a call comes in during this lag, it doesn't always respond quickly enough for me to answer said call, and I lose it.

    This is horrible, and is making me think about going back to 2.1, even though I like a lot of little things about 2.2 vs 2.1 (lots of subtle improvements to the contacts app, for instance -- actually, if I could have 2.1 with 2.1 contacts, I WOULD go back)

    Lastly, the epic no longer sees my car stereo's bluetooth anymore. Finds nothing on a scan. Strange. Worked fine on 2.1

    Anyone find either a bluetooth, or screen-lag-and-disappearing-icons fix yet?

    I could live with the rest of the little issues pretty gladly if I could get those 2 handled.

    thanks
    roger
     
  9. joerich

    joerich Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Fixed my problem with compass off by 180 degrees. This also fixed a problem I had with Words with Friends continuously scrambling my rack whenever the phone was NOT laying flat. I suggest anyone having issues with highly sensitive screen rotation issues might try the fix above (calibrating the horizontal with the phone turned upside down).
     
  10. AbuNaeemah

    AbuNaeemah Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Grand Prairie, TX
    I manually updated my Epic a couple of weeks ago through the Samsung website download and directions. Since then, I've tried to watch a couple of flash videos through the stock browser, and it seems like the video is playing at normal speed, but the sound is REAL slow.

    Anyone else experience this or know how to fix it?
     
  11. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    268
    55
    53
    Have you hard reset the phone using the keys? That would clear the Dalvik cache. Then before your add any apps, see if those specific issues are fixed.
     
  12. rogand

    rogand Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Hi, Thanks for the answer. I haven't done that since the upgrade process.
    Is there another method to clear the cache? Jeez, I hate to reinstall all those dozens of apps again, and it takes a while even using 'Backup Everything" and then all apps have to be config's again. Willing to do it if it has a high chance of success though. What's the exact button sequence for this? Again, if there's another method, I'd of course prefer that.

    thanks
    roger
     
  13. trer

    trer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Quirks after using the update.zip method on non-rooted Epic.

    1. When opening the keyboard, there is a long lag time before the icons appear on screen after they have shifted from portrait to landscape (and vice versa). Strange thing is, the dock icons rotate instantly, it's the rest of the screen icons that don't. I think this is a touchwiz thing since when i open the keyboard whilst in an application (messenging, facebook, etc.) there is no lag.

    2. Video Camera lag- i'm getting incredible lag when using the video camera. Most of the videos i make are plodding and slow when i move the camera around while recording. Back with 2.1, it was smooth with no lag and a blast to use. Now with 2.2, it sucks.

    3. Intermittent wifi connection issues - this has only happened 2-3 times, but when i turn on the wifi, i'll get an error msg (in wifi settings menu). I then have to turn it off and back on again before it connects.

    4. A few apps force closing now where they never did before, but that could be the apps and not froyo.

    Other than that, i've enjoyed the various updates (except teh messaging program with its iphone look). I don't wnat to go back to eclair necessarily (no global copy and paste!) but at least with eclair, everything worked. Even if it did have less features. Anyone else have similar problems?
     
  14. rogand

    rogand Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    That matches my phone exactly. A couple features are much nicer, but the darn screen lag is just horrible. I'd be better off with and EVO or no keyboard, as anytime I use it now, I get a lag, and if timed just right (wrong?) miss phonecalls now too. Not good for biz. In basic usability (for instance, the minor feature of using a phone as a phone) this has been a big step backwards. And I get to suffer my iphone-drone-friends making fun of my blank screen on my 'buggy little android box'. Grrrrr.
     
  15. Damar1979

    Damar1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    292
    49
    43
    I just reverted back to 2.1
     
  16. JDubbleTrouble

    JDubbleTrouble Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    112
    8
    36
    Eat Smoke Play Sleep
    North America
    im sorry but i will never revert back to 2.1 its just not enough for me to complain about to want to go back ive ran dk17 dk 28 and now eb13 so 2.2 has to stay on my phone now...it is funny how spare time developers can fix bugs at a much more precise and all around quicker rate than samsung and sprint but still ill take this stock eb13 rooted so atleast i could be open for the next ota fix or update if that happens....i think atleast i could be wrong about that but i dont think being rooted would stop that?
     
  17. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    231
    48
    43
    Work with blind kids
    Tucson Az
    Here is the Camera fix. Worked for me. I had big time lag when trying to record video at a Glassjaw show. I was pissed when I saw the video the next day. *anyways* Download the (epic_camera_fix-EB13.tar) file that is posted here:

    [PATCH][KERNEL] EB13 camera video lag & sports mode FC fix - xda-developers

    *then* do all this crap, found here:

    [PATCH][KERNEL] EB13 camera video lag & sports mode FC fix - Page 4 - xda-developers

    If you dont want to check the link, I just copy/pasted it for you here:

    1. Download Samsung_Mobile_Driver_V1.3.800_For_SPH-d700_Epic_4G.zip
    2. Unzip the file and install the driver
    3. Download Odin3+v1.61andepic.pit.zip
    4. Unzip the file and open up "Odin3+v1.61.exe"
    5. Put your phone into "Download Mode" by doing the following:
    - Pull out battery
    - Put in battery
    - Push and hold "1" on your keyboard
    - Power on device while holding "1"
    6. Plug your Epic 4G into the computer
    7. Download "epic_camera_fix-EB13.tar" provided in the first post in this thread
    8. Place the file in the "PDA" slot
    9. Start flashing

    You dont need to be rooted for this to work.
    Please remove if someone already posted this fix here.

    The guys over at xda are amazing!
     
  18. Slovak

    Slovak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    51
    1
    16
    I have also noticed a touchscreen delay, or should I say lag while pressing certain things, especially in the dialer while on the phone.
    For example, while on hold on a call if a recording says to press 1 for support etc., I press 1, or whatever number a recording says, and nothing happens, I have to tap the number I want to press again in order for it to register that I pressed a button.
    Extremely annoying.
    This also happens within certain apps, including stock installed apps, and on my home screen from time to time, but the worse is the dialer while on a call. Hard reset and battery pulls do nothing to fix this.
    Anyone else experience this?
     
  19. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    How do I make the damn sync icon go away? It's stuck.
     
  20. PhonerSapien

    PhonerSapien Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    68
    2
    16
    Yes, not especially with the dialer, but with any button or icon. Sometimes they seem frozen and unresponsive - sometimes you can get them to work with a long press or repeated insistent tapping. I don't have to pull the battery - it just sort of snaps out of it by itself. It's almost how the UI on an old PC works when the memory and swap file are being overlabored.
     
  21. Randy Navarro

    Randy Navarro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Bingo!

    Mine too. Downloaded 2.2 this morning and volumes are very low. All settings I could find in the phone are maxed to highest levels.

    Any help?
     
  22. Sedan_Clan

    Sedan_Clan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    99
    2
    16
    Law Enforcer
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Damn! I didn't even realize that I lost Paypal! Damn! :(

    edit: Paypal is in the market!



    It still works, it's just less sensitive. On 2.1, it was very easy to do; on 2.2, I have to attempt it a few times before it works.
     
  23. Sedan_Clan

    Sedan_Clan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    99
    2
    16
    Law Enforcer
    Rancho Cucamonga

    Settings > Sound > Vibrate > Never!

    This will allow you to silence the phone instead.
     
  24. huntm856

    huntm856 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    22
    15
    38
    Pharma QA/Regulatory specialist
    South Jersey
    Updated using Odin and the EC05x_DXC.tar (prerooted, RFS filesystem) this morning. Since then GPS has been wonky.

    Initial lock on is much quicker and more accurate, and gets more birds than the it used to (typically seeing 7 or more birds now, whereas sometimes it would struggle to get 4 or 5 before).

    But after a while it completely loses lock on all satellites. Tried toggling GPS on/off, re-loading ephemeris data using GPS Status, etc., and nothing seems to work except rebooting.

    Anyone else seen anything like this?

    Also anyone know how to get into the GPS settings menu? *#1472365# doesn't work anymore. I saw another, longer sequence beginning with *#*# posted as being the code for Froyo but it doesn't seem to work either.
     
  25. secant

    secant Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Select All feature when texting a group is no more. You now have to pick each name individually even when you want the message to go to everyone in the group.
     

Share This Page

Loading...