1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Listening to Music

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Mehta23, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    So on my new computer I've yet to install iTunes cos I wanted to try out other things. ATm I have Winamp, and although I haven't begun to explore its features in detail, I was wondering what you guys use to listen to , or even if you use anything at all...

    I was thinking that I could use Youtube and Grooveshark ( or even subscribe to Spotify) , but are there any real benefits to using an actual application?

    I also like the idea of syncing my phone to my computer library , so if there's anything I should know about , please share....
     

    Advertisement

  2. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    I use Amarok, which used to require a *NIX type of operating system. There are versions for Windows, but I haven't tried them. Banshee is another good one.

    One of my favorites that runs on almost everything is VLC. VLC does a lot more than is immediately apparent. There's a web interface, a command line interface, skins and all sorts of bells and whistles all in one single download. VLC might be the only media player that you'll need. I just don't care for it for playing music. My personal likes/dislikes.
     
    argedion likes this.
  3. pbf98

    pbf98 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,114
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    1,114
    182
    143
    Male
    .NET Developer
    MN
    The only media players on my pc is Widows (because it comes standard) and Spotify.

    I spend 9.99 a month for spotify because I like the service and I can have my playlists on the go where ever I am. The only thing is, if you have your own music on your playlists at home that isn't on spotify, you have to also have it on your phone to listen to it.

    Spotify offers 320kbps streaming music (to their premium subscribers) which is I believe the highest quality out today.

    iTunes just gets worse and worse imo.
     
    Speed Daemon likes this.
  4. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    9.99 USD , right? With my student discount ( ta da! ) I can get it for
     
  5. pbf98

    pbf98 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,114
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    1,114
    182
    143
    Male
    .NET Developer
    MN
    Oh yes! USD I usually try to put that on any amount anywhere I post.

    Another thing about Spotify they say in their terms you can only listen to it from one source at a time. Most places / services that say this do not enforce it. Spotify does! When you try to play music from a second source on the same account it will pause the other one.
    You also have the option of being able to save the playlists for offline play as well which is a nice feature.
    If you're thinking about getting Spotify, I would suggest downloading it, they do have a free version it just has adverts in between every so many songs. Then they will also offer you a free 30 day trial most times.
    I have it on all my computers and use it at work even.
     
    Mehta23 likes this.
  6. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Only because you said the quality was the best !
     
  7. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I use VLC and Google Play. With VLC I can play anything local on my harddrive with no issue and with Google Play I can play on my computer, phone, and any other devices. Went to New Orleans earlier in the year to visit mom plugged my phone into the stereo and streamed from google play the entire trip never lost signal once.
     
  8. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,971
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,971
    3,604
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    +1 for VLC. It's my main Video and music player. Handles anything I throw at it and I have always found it safer than WMP (which always seems to want to let media files launch IE/active X stuff). I also use MediaMonkey for organizing artwork/ID3 stuff.

    Been meaning to checkout if my local library has any way of lending audio.
     
    Mehta23 likes this.
  9. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    The nice thing about VLC is that on most operating systems, it has all of the codecs and libraries built-in, so there's no need to run all over the Internet to get support for oddball file types, and it doesn't try to fight the OS by using the codec/library file locations. This quality makes it a great USB key program, BTW.
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  10. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,872
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,872
    1,767
    633
    /home/
    I like VLC for video, and foobar2K for music. Very light weight.
     
  11. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    On Windows machines I prefer VLC, all I need to use. I like keeping stuff lean and clean. Heck, on Linux I use MOC (Music On Console) and VLC.
     
  12. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    The main reason I liked Winamp was the desktop version was alright to use, and I thought I could sync my music with my phone... but my desktop doesn't have Wifi, so I can't.....

    Anything that can?
     
  13. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,264
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    1,264
    712
    273
    Semi-retired developer
    The Shire
    Google Music and Amazon MP3 will sync with android devices, no need for WiFi on desktop, just good old ethernet.
     
    Mehta23 likes this.
  14. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    How about USB? Most computers have that. IJS

    The desktop computer itself doesn't need Wi-Fi as long as there's Wi-Fi on your local area network. If you don't have a Wi-Fi "router" WAP or an Ethernet to Wi-Fi bridge, now may be a good time to invest in one. I never had a good reason to use Wi-Fi for an extended period of time until I got my first Android device. Now it's a must-have for me.

    Rather than relying on a music player to have a built-in sync feature, I use my favorite, rsync, as a stand-alone application to keep all of my data files in sync. I especially like the `bandwidth=' argument when I'm uploading files over an asymmetrical Internet connection. I use rsync provided through Cygwin on my Windows boxes. On other peoples' Windows boxes, the XCOPY utility is still a good way to do it when there's nothing else.

    For those who are afraid of text interfaces (or have faulty keyboards ;)), utilities like the Folder Synchronizer in Powerdesk do basic file sync with a nice GUI interface. There used to be a free, older version of Powerdesk...
     
  15. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues Choose compassion over cruelty
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,833
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    6,833
    5,747
    1,063
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    I have a Rhapsody subscription, $9.99/month, and use its Android app on my smartphones. On my computers--which are all Linux--I use my browser, SeaMonkey. Regardless, my playlists and other things are always accessible.

    Since so many people have mentioned VLC, I will, too! :) I love it. It's my go-to media player for actual files (as opposed to streaming, as with Rhapsody). It plays just about anything you can throw at it. It just works. :D
     
  16. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Yeah, I have USB. USB 3 even. But I'd prefer to do it over wifi, that way I don't have to be stuck at my desk.
    It's why I love Airdroid so much.
    And I don't know what IJS is...

    I have wifi,but my PC is connected with an Ethernet cable. I thought this meant Winamp wouldn't work...
    must-have for me.

    Thanks for the links, I'll try them out soon!
     
  17. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    Yes, I agree! These hand-held devices running Android are meant to roam free.

    Sorry 'bout that. IJS == "I'm just saying".

    Is your physical Wi-Fi network interconnected with your physical Ethernet network? Most Wi-Fi hubs have Ethernet ports, making it easy to bridge your physical networks together. The protocols that Wi-Fi uses are compatible with Ethernet networking, so it's simple to make the physical connection, just plug it in.

    If you have a physical connection, then how about the logical network(s)? If you're using a so-called "Wi-Fi router" (which is actually an Internet gateway/firewall that may or may not have any routing capabilities, with a wireless access point built-in) you should have the capability to seamlessly communicate between the Wi-Fi segment(s) and the Ethernet segment(s). Sometimes the "router" has a setting that keeps the wireless segment in a state where it can't see or talk with the Ethernet segment for security purposes. Check to see if this is the case.

    Although there are other network protocols, the only one that matters now is the Internet Protocol (a.k.a. "TCP/IP" or jist "IP"). Specifically, are your Ethernet computers using a different set of IP addresses than the Wi-Fi devices? Finding the IP address for the various network connected devices will give you your answer. Most home networks will have IP addresses that start with 192.168. and end with two more octets that can be numbers between 0 and 254 (1-254 for the last octet) in base-10 notation.

    If your Ethernet segment uses its own DHCP server, you'll need to disable it in order to bridge the two into one. Only one DHCP service at a time can work on a single logical network. You may have static IP addresses on your Ethernet segment (static IP is possible, but rarely done with Wi-Fi), but you'd probably know that because you configured them by hand. If the computer(s) on Ethernet and the wireless devices connected through your wireless access point (WAP) have identical first three octets and different last octets, you should be in business. For example, if your computer has an IP address of 192.168.0.2 and your phone is 192.168.0.130, you should be on the same network.

    All for now...
     
  18. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    *mind explodes*

    If it helps :

    Modem is connected to wifi router.
    From router, there is an Ethernet cable to my PC.
     
  19. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    Yes, that does help! That means that you have a physical connection, and as long as your computer is getting its IP address from the router, it should be on the same logical IP network (e.g. 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0). So far, so good.

    Do you have the Winamp Android client app on your phone? If so, see if you can sync with your computer. You may need Winamp for Windows running on your PC, and sync enabled; I not a Winamp user, so I don't know much beyond that.

    If you can't see your computer by name, you may need to have its IP address. You can find it in your Network control panel, or from a command prompt: Start, Run..., enter "CMD" (and enter), at the Command Prompt enter "IPCONFIG /ALL" and look for something like "Ethernet LAN Adapter" and below that "IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :". The 4-octet address on the right will be your computer's IP address.

    Good luck!
     
  20. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    I tried. When trying to sync, I can see my phone, but it just won't connect.
     
  21. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    Can you at least see the computer from the phone?

    Sorry that I can't help more, but I don't know what to look for in Winamp.
     
  22. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    It says do you want to allow the computer to connect to the phone....
     
  23. Speed Daemon

    Speed Daemon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2,033
    564
    213
    That's a good sign. Did you say yes?
     
  24. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,488
    Posts:
    27,894
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,894
    17,547
    3,488
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I normally use VLC for music listening. MP3s stored on the HDD. These days I normally download music from Baidu.
     
  25. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011


    Obviously, yeah. Then on my PC, I click to connect to my phone and nothing happens
     

Share This Page

Loading...