1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Llama/tasker

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Rthomas529, Apr 5, 2016.

  1. Rthomas529

    Rthomas529 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    These apps are similar. My question is can they be used to change an in app setting?

    I.e. for lux when I connect to my car bt change my lux profile to "car".

    Obviously I could set it to kill lux and change the screen brightness and enable when bt disconnects. But I'm trying to use llama for higher functions.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

    What device are you using and is it root-ed?

    ... Thom
     
    electricpete likes this.
  3. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,073
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,073
    1,029
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    I don't use lux, but google suggests that the dev has provided tools for it to work with tasker.

    In the actions dialogue of Tasker, select 3rd party.

    Another thing Thom may be hinting at. When you are rooted, you can simulate screen taps... which gives you ability to adjust almost any settings by having Tasker activate it the same way you would. It can be a little clunky, but it works. When (like lux) there is built-in support or plugins, that's the cleaner way to go.
     
    Thom likes this.
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Yes ... root-ed screen taps. I have not been root-ed for years and have close to no experience with this capability in Tasker. Perhaps some others here can chip in.

    ... Thom
     
    #4 Thom, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  5. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,073
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,073
    1,029
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    This link explains how to emulate a tap in tasker when rooted. It's pretty easy. But clunky for a variety of reasons: if an app update moves things around then you have to update your Tasker task. Also if such tasker task executes when my phone is sleeping, when it tries to launch the app it brings up instead the sliding "lock" screen and never gets to the app.
     
    #5 electricpete, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
    Thom likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...