1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Loading Back-up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by na3r0k, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. na3r0k

    na3r0k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Once i've loaded my rom i noticed that obviously everything is deleted. How do i load my back-up (using titanium backup) back onto my phone once the rom is installed.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do you have the pro version? if you do go into tb select the phone menu button, select batch and the restore all apps with data option. just do not restore system data.

    if you do not have pro you can select the backup and restore tab at the top. and indivually restore your apps.
     
  3. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Are you asking to reload your setup before you flashed a new ROM, or are you asking how to restore your apps?
    To reload your original setup, you need to restore your nandroid backup. You made one right? ;)
    Go into recovery and select backup / restore then select restore. Select the nandroid you created. It will reload your original setup exactly as it was when you made the nandroid.
    If its just the apps, use titanium like Ocn said. :D
     
  4. na3r0k

    na3r0k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I guess i need to make a nandroid backup, and yes i believe i'm asking to reload my setup before i flashed. Pretty much not just the apps to restore, but having my old sms/contacts and anything else that might've been on the phone before flashing.
    With that said, is there a good help guide into setting up a nandroid backup? I'm assuming using just titan alone won't be enough.
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    a nandroid backup is done through recovery. if you followed the guide you made one before you booted up. steps 12-14.

    a nandroid backup is a complete snapshot of the current state of your phone. you can select restore in recovery if you want to go back to an earlier point. it is used mainly as a safety net in case something goes wrong. or if you do not like a particular rom and want to go back.

    as far as your contacts go link them to google that way when you flash your next rom just log in and you have your contacts back.

    as far as text messages go, certain apps like go sms will back them up to the card.

    hope that helps.
     
  6. na3r0k

    na3r0k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Ah icic, yea i did create the nandroid. I've just flashed miked rom but it obviously wipes everything on my phone, ic that my titanium backup is still on the sd, but i can't access it, do i need to just redownload the app and then restore the backup that way?

    Edit : so i've re-downloaded my titanium backup pro app, however after installation I can't locate the app anywhere...
     
  7. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    It will be in your app drawer.
     
  8. na3r0k

    na3r0k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    probably a dumb question but where is the app drawer?
     
  9. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    On your main home screen you have the bottom bar (Rosie) with the phone in the middle. The button to the left will take you to your app drawer. If titanium isn't in thete, power down your phone, go into recovery and just wipe the cache partition and the dalvik cache. Just these two nothing else. Reboot your phone. It will take a few minutes extra to boot, this is normal be patient. Check the app drawer, if titanium backup isn't in there, try to redownload from the market.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...