1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Location/GPS Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JSchu22, May 7, 2013.

  1. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    Does anyone else have issues with location accuracy in Google Maps? More often than not I must toggle GPS off then on for Maps to pinpoint my location. The location icon does not pop up in the status bar unless I do this toggle, clearly showing that its not doing it on its own. As far as I can see, I have all the necessary location settings on.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bls

    bls Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    106
    18
    38
    I leave my GPS off most of the time to save battery. When I want to use it to navigate, I map the destination, ask for Navigation, turn on the GPS, and it picks me up right away. No troubles so far.
     
  3. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    Problem or not, Ive considered going the as-needed way but I appreciate the immediacy of leaving it on. When it works that way of course, which it currently isnt.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2

    Menu, tools, manage a-GPS state, reset and then download; calibrate both pitch and roll and then compass.

    If anything will help with GPS accuracy, that will.

    BTW, from that dev:

     

Share This Page

Loading...