1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General LOCATION - help please

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bud Bottle, May 18, 2010.

  1. Bud Bottle

    Bud Bottle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    This is a problem i've always had, even before the update...
    GPS is enabled and the device still can't find my location. in google maps you hit my location and it just searches...then says location unavailable. Now its bothering me because i want to use the new navigation and you can see how that is a problem. its also screwing up my weather widget.
    Thanks in advance for any fix ideas...
     

    Advertisement

  2. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Have you checked: Settings>Location to see what your configurations are?
     
  3. Bud Bottle

    Bud Bottle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Yeah, a lot of times. GPS, wireless network, both...
     
  4. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    stand on the roof and use binoculars to find the Google Satellite.
    Then hold your Eris in your hand and say "There Can Be Only One"
     
  5. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    How about the hard reset (factory reset)?
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Hmmm...that would be about 88-95% sarcasm? ;)
     
  7. Bud Bottle

    Bud Bottle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    9
    0
    5

    I was thiking that. Would that erase all my contacts? If so, since they all seem to be sync'd with google (gmail) would they all be safe?
     
  8. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Yes, it would erase your contacts, but if they are google contacts they will be restored when your phone is setup/initialized. You can check by navigating to People>Menu>View too quickly reference how many of your contacts are google, or phone.
     
  9. Bud Bottle

    Bud Bottle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    9
    0
    5

    One more question...
    I looked at People>Menu>View and it says how many of each (gmail or phone) but not which ones. is there any way to see which contacts are phone so i can change them over to gmail?
     
  10. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    You can log into your Gmail account and see which of the contacts are there. From what I recall, you may have to re-enter each of the non-google contacts as google. Should probably verify that part though. I know there is an "export" option on the phone, probably to a .csv or .txt file or something. I've never actually used it.

    Apparently there is some Market Apps that may do this trick. "Export Contacts" is one I just read about, but I have never used it, and therefore cannot vouch for it's usefulness. :D

     
  11. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    oh yes
     

Share This Page

Loading...