1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Location setting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ladera, May 3, 2010.

  1. Ladera

    Ladera Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    197
    58
    53
    Do you use "Use wireless networks" or "use GPS" for your location setting, with an eye towards preserving battery life? I've heard that using GPS can be better on battery life because it only draws power when an application needs to use the GPS (which shouldn't be too often). I also heard that the wireless network setting uses more power because it is constantly using power.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    I use the GPS setting all the time, but it does certainly use more power. I prefer just to charge more frequently and have better location services.
     
  3. Ladera

    Ladera Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    197
    58
    53
    So does GPS take more power than simply using network for location when the phone is idle? Which programs besides maps use the GPS?
     
  4. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    546
    158
    93
    I use GPS, which does drain more battery - but only when apps that need it are actively getting a location fix. I don't find that it puts too much drain on the battery. But then again, I leave my 3G connection turned on all day, so what do I know? :p
     
  5. Ladera

    Ladera Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    197
    58
    53
    Thanks. Does the weather widget use the GPS? If so, is it only when it updates? Do you use the network plus GPS or just GPS?
     
  6. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    546
    158
    93
    I think the HTC weather widget just uses the standard location feature. No real reason for it to use GPS. Sync weather and see if the satellite GPS icon pops up.

    And I use both location and GPS.
     
  7. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Just watch your taskbar, the GPS with the green signal bars is when the GPS is actually on, and it's not that often. I leave mine on all the time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...