1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Location Settings

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mdsj, May 12, 2010.

  1. mdsj

    mdsj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    63
    1
    36
    Corporate Sales
    Southern California
    I am trying to save battery on my hero. I know the GPS can drain the battery. However completely shutting all of the options to off makes nothing work that is location related and its a pain to turn all of them on and off when using or not using certain apps.

    The three settings are:
    Use wireless networks
    Location Setting
    Enable GPS Satellites

    Now I only have the Location Setting turned on. I have read a lot online that this doesn't use addtional battery power. Is that true or should I have other options selected to save power?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chroma

    Chroma Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    369
    25
    43
    I'm going to assume 2.1 has not been pushed to your device yet? In 2.1 there is a quick bar (shortcut bar...hardware bar, what ever the proper name for it is...) that you can put on the main screen that you can enable or disable certain hardware.

    You can tap the wi-fi icon to turn it completely on or off
    You can tap the bluetooth icon to turn it completely on or off
    You can tap the GPS icon to turn it completely on or off
    You can tap the background sync icon to turn it completely on or off
    You can tap the brightness icon to cycle between low-medium-high brightness

    And do all of it on the main screens without going into the settings menus.
     
  3. mdsj

    mdsj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    63
    1
    36
    Corporate Sales
    Southern California
    I dont have 2.1 but I can access all of those from the home screen if I put the widgets on the screen. I am mostly concerned with the location settings at the moment. Thanks for the help though, and I wish I could get 2.1. But I think pigs will fly first.
     
  4. DarkTLRrider

    DarkTLRrider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008

    Nov 29, 2008
    227
    14
    38
    Boise ID
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    It's only a problem when actively used. Unless you have apps that frequently use GPS automatically I'd suggest just leaving it on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...