1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General lock screen bug

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Angelsfan, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    So I set up a PIN to my lockscreen originally. Went to settings to turn off and the option is no longer there. As a matter of fact, no options at all for lock screen. I'm starting to get really annoyed by all these issues. Thank god I haven't had the locking up and screen not coming on one (yet).
     

    Advertisement

  2. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    doesn't make sense. if you have setup a pin, then when the screen goes to sleep, you should have to enter pin. if that's not happening then the pin is not setup.
     
  3. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    Just the lockscreen option in the menu is gone. I still have to enter the pin when tab comes out of standby. I called Samsung about this and they said this was the first time hearing about this particular issue. Told me to wait a few days for Touch update. Stating it might fix it. I would attach a screen shot on here but this site will not let me attach a pic from my phone or tab (lame).
     
  4. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    ok. decided to turn my computer on so i can attach the screen shot i took of the setting screen. if you have a tab to compare, you'll notice the "lock screen" options to be completely gone from mine. now i have a PIN locked lock screen that i can't change the PIN for or remove.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    i've not configured a lock screen, but is using the Owner info (they both are options under the Lock screen). I have them both on mine currently (have had it for 3 weeks.)

    maybe it's the same "feature" that is zapping my downloaded .jpg files from the tab.
     
  6. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    So I decided to update with touch wiz. Guess what? My lock screen option is still missing. wtf. Oh well. I just hope the bugs are gone.
     
  7. andromede77

    andromede77 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    just got my tab yesterday and am trying to setup a pin to lock the screen, but each time i try to set the lock screen on, the screen toggles back to the previous upper menu. Anyone gets the same pb? Thanks
     
  8. Cpt Streamline

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5

    Ive got exactly the same problem. Anyone got any solutions?
     
  9. Cpt Streamline

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Ok i figured this; i was being a complete idiot. You click the list of options, no lock, unsecured, pin etc, to select what you want to do. I was thinking that each one would lead to another set of options. So i just clicked unsecured to get the original lock screen back.
     
  10. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    Yeah but I don't even have the option to do that anymore. Every option for the lock screen is gone. It's not a big deal so I'm living with it for now. I really don't feel like doing a system reset as suggested by the Samsung tech.
     
  11. leddra2k

    leddra2k Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Right this is really annoying now! Surely there is a fix for this? I cant encrypt my tab until I set a PIN! Well there is no set PIN option under Location and Security!! Grrrrr
     

Share This Page

Loading...