1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lock screen not enabling

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 4ndr3w807, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. 4ndr3w807

    4ndr3w807 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hello everyone, this is my first time posting to the forums but I'm looking for an answer that I can not find scouring the internet or the forums.

    I recently had my Galaxy S2 through Tmobile replaced and now the default settings that are on it do not allow me to have a lock screen. The standard swipe to unlock or the other password options are not showing after turning the screen off and back on. I have checked the timer settings for the lock to kick on and it is set to automatic but still nothing.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. xXchrizhurtyXx

    xXchrizhurtyXx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    487
    216
    88
    School
    Bronx NY
    Factory Reset your phone.
     
  3. yoda1138777

    yoda1138777 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 21, 2012

    May 21, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    Hi how are you if you are still having this issue I know the answer as it has happened to me and I had to search the internet to find out why.

    If your phone is set up now and still does not enable the lock screen the bad news is to get it back you will have to reset the phone (back to the state that you received the replacement)

    The trick is now when you set the phone up and it asks you to put in your Gmail account etc. DO NOT DO THAT SKIP IT and tell it you will do it later, if you do not do this step something happens in the setup when it pulls your account and settings from Google Servers. Once you skip that and let the phone set its self up you can now get all of your Gmail account stuff and the lock screen will be back.

    Enjoy
     
    GarTheConquer likes this.
  4. alextop30

    alextop30 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    798
    123
    93
    Male
    security and surveillance and finance
    Windy City of Chicago
    hmmm this is a strange one I have heard this happen to numerous people and to me once or twice. What I ended up doing was just pulling the battery out of the phone while it was still on and putting it back on. After this my phone was locking its self. However, if that does not work, you should definitively try resetting to factory defaults and adding the google and other accounts after the set up menu has gone. I don't really understand why these bugs do not finally get fixed but T-Mobile is to blame just as usual because they do not want to release ICS!
     
    GarTheConquer likes this.
  5. msork

    msork Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Aug 23, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    I purchased an unlocked phone with Android 2.3 on it. At that time the screen locking was working OK. Then I upgraded it to Android 4. The screen locking stopped working. In addition the long press on the Power button just shuts down the phone instead of bringing up a menu of "Silent mode/Data network mode/Airplane mode/Power off/Restart".
    I tried to clean the cache, restore the factory settings and pulling the battery as suggested in this thread, but nothing helped.
    Any further ideas?
     
    GarTheConquer likes this.
  6. cpresto

    cpresto Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I actually had this same problem and did not want to reset my phone. All u have to do is go to security settings and where u select if u want a password or whatever and click swipe. Don't click none because that means u won't have a lock screen at all. Hope this helps!!!
     
  7. GarTheConquer

    GarTheConquer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    7
    1
    26
    BOO-YEAH!!! The live battery removal did not work so I did exactly this ^ after backing up my stuff and it worked perfectly! Thank you very much Yoda!!!
     
    Apptitude Games likes this.
  8. GarTheConquer

    GarTheConquer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    7
    1
    26
    Thank you! The live battery removal did not work for me either so I did a factory reset and made sure not to sign-in to gmail until after setup was complete and now my lock screen is working like a charm! :D
     
  9. regserv

    regserv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013

    Jun 3, 2013
    15
    1
    16
    nope that does absolutely ef all
     

Share This Page

Loading...