1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Locked out of rooted gs5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tj ginnis, Sep 8, 2017.

  1. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    Is there a way I can 'reboot' without loosing my root access. I do not want to do a factory reset. But i am locked out of my device
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,296
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,296
    16,910
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    In what way are you locked out?

    A factory reset will not remove root: all that does is wipe user-installed apps and data, it doesn't change any part of the system software. So if you have modified the system software (either rom or the boot image, depending on the root method/android release) to allow you to give root access to apps then that modification will remain after a reset. To remove root you'd need to reflash the phone software (which, despite the name, a factory reset does not do).

    Whether a reset is necessary, or even helpful, will depend on why you are locked out. The S5 is old enough that it probably doesn't have factory reset protection (as I recall this became standard with phones released with 5.0, and the S5 originally came with 4.4). If it had that then if you had forgotten your Google login credentials (which some people do, odd as that sounds) a reset would be a very bad idea.
     
    svim and lunatic59 like this.
  3. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    So what do I do when I do a reset and get to TWRP?
     
  4. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    So when I do a reset, and get to the TWRP program, what do I do?
     
  5. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    I must of shut off the keyboard, because when I restarted it , I can not log in.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,296
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,296
    16,910
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    OK, I don't know how you could "shut off the keyboard" other than uninstalling it - you can deselect additional keyboards, but I don't think it will let you do that for the system one. Of course if you uninstalled the system one after installing one of your own you might manage this - if that's the case then a factory reset will not make things easier, as that will leave you with no keyboard at all. But I'll assume that you mean that for whatever reason it won't give you a keyboard to enter your PIN or password. Please correct me if that's wrong. And if you have any information at all about what happened before this problem started, please also tell us that - we only know what you tell us, so the more information the better.

    So, since you have TWRP installed, are you using a custom ROM? If you have accidentally uninstalled the keyboard you could just reflash the ROM (without doing a reset if it's the same ROM) and that will fix it.

    Assuming that you still have the stock ROM, a simple thing to do is go into TWRP and delete the cache and dalvik/art. This is harmless: it will just mean that your next boot is longer as the dalvik or art cache is rebuilt, but if it's a glitch with the installed app or due to bad data being cached there is a chance this will fix it, and at worst it wastes a few minutes.

    If the phone boots up with an internet connection you could try installing a keyboard by pushing from the Play Store (from a web browser). But I suspect you'll have to enable it before it can be used, which will require getting past the lockscreen.

    If your keyboard has been uninstalled you could also try to install an apk using ADB - that won't work when running Android unless you can unlock, but you should be able to use ADB while in TWRP.

    It's also not clear whether it's actually the system keyboard app that's the problem. I've replaced and even removed system keyboard apps and I'm fairly sure the keypad in the lockscreen (which is I think your problem) doesn't change with the keyboard app (but not 100% sure, as it's been a while). If you've a USB OTG adapter you could see whether you could use a USB keyboard or mouse to unlock it, but if they keypad/keyboard isn't appearing on screen I don't think that will help.

    With a bit more description of the problem we could probably come up with something else.

    If you have used TWRP to make a backup then you could restore that - that will of course reset your phone to exactly the state it was in when you made the backup, so you could lose stuff like more recent messages, game progress or whatever. If you think the problem is in the ROM rather than the data you could do a selective restore, just restoring System but not Data (which would reinstall the system keyboard app but would not overwrite your messages etc).

    If the worst comes to the worst, nothing else works and you don't have an existing backup, use TWRP to make one before doing a factory reset. That way you've at least got a copy of your apps, data and current ROM. If you do that then the paid version of Titanium Backup can extract user apps and data from a TWRP backup, so you should be able to restore a lot of stuff that way (I don't think it will restore system data that way - you don't want to do that when changing ROMs, so I'd expect them not to include that option). This would be my last resort, but it's a possibility.
     
    #6 Hadron, Sep 8, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2017
    svim and ironass like this.
  7. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    I'm not worried about any apps, or losing data, or anything like that.

    I just want to get my phone back to root access.

    I deleted some system files that I guess I shouldn't of. That's why my keyboard stopped working.

    I use my phone for my buisness, so I needed it working, so through TWRP I just did a reboot.

    But using the root checker pro app, it said 'root access not properly configured'.

    So I know I am missing a step somewhere.

    Everything on my phone was backed up, but I don't know if the accual system itself was backed up at anytime.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    How do I 'reflash' the rom?
     
  10. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    BTW after I did the reboot, the keyboard came back.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,613
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,613
    38,493
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Have you installed SuperSU? Even if you're rooted, you need a root manager.
     
  12. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
    Do I install it when I'm in TWRP ?
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,613
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,613
    38,493
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
  14. Tj ginnis

    Tj ginnis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017

    Sep 8, 2017
    12
    0
    25
  15. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    658
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    SuperSU 2.82 zip from a Google search flashed in Twrp will work fine.
     
    kellieannewhyte1985 and Hadron like this.

Samsung Galaxy S5

The Samsung Galaxy S5 was announced in 2014 and was the company's first flagship of the year. The device featured a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 1920 x 1080, 2GB of RAM, 16GB of storage, and a 16MP primary rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...