1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Lollipop 5.0 [Its out! 11/12]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by charliecc, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Hmm - very bad cellular signal and a lot of wakelocks when screen is off. Bet that's contributing to battery drain.
    On the screen before this (settings/battery), what are the apps listed below the graph at the top? And tap on the top offenders and see how long they kept your phone awake
     

    Advertisement

    Rxpert83 likes this.
  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Bad signal and something keeps waking you up.

    The signal you may not be able to do anything about, the wakeups we can
     
  3. Paddy Landau

    Paddy Landau Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    95
    15
    48
    Male
    United Kingdom
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    I think the biggest drain here will be mobile standby (how much time without signal do you see there?) - which is due to poor cellular coverage.
    Paypal - if it is not something you use actively, yeah, consider removing it. Your play services is also causing some wakelocks, but that may be because of a pending update to play services.
     
    Paddy Landau likes this.
  5. Paddy Landau

    Paddy Landau Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    95
    15
    48
    Male
    United Kingdom
    So, that means it won't cause such problem when I have a better signal?

    Done!

    Huh, you're right
     
  6. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    I would expect a noticeably better battery life when you have better cellular signal, yes :)

    I realize that many people may disagree with this, but I think it has been helpful for me - restart your phone every now and then. Maybe once a week if you can (I do it more often).

    On Kitkat, I would often find play services going wonky and would start draining my phone battery (for no clear reason). I got into the habit of restarting the phone every now and then, and I haven't had that issue. May be just coincidence, but thought I'd throw it out there.

    Edit:
    The Play services update happens in the background - you can't update it from the play store. So the updates you applied are likely not the ones that caused this issue ;)
     
  7. Paddy Landau

    Paddy Landau Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    95
    15
    48
    Male
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all the education!

     
  8. mrdeucie

    mrdeucie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    216
    34
    43
    New York, NY
    Just got my update notification about an hour ago for my Nexus 5. Woohoo!
     
  9. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Just an aside for the play services update... I've noticed that my phone will never update play services unless i'm idle and charging for a long time. So, you might have to leave your phone plugged in overnight (if you don't already do that) to get play services updates.
     
  10. scythefwd

    scythefwd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    129
    16
    58
    I've been running 5.o since the posted the factory images. Noticing nothing keeps running in the background. I surf, go to launcher and it has to restart. Put Pandora on in the BG, stops a couple later, have to restart. Same with co-pilot, Facebook, gmail, everything. Trying chrome now just to verify with strictly google APS.
     
  11. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Check your developer settings to make sure you don't have something set to close all apps when you leave them?
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  12. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,086
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    Received update notification on both my Nexus 5 and Nexus 7 (2012, wifi only) today. Upgrade in progress for the 7; I disabled the update service and rebooted on the 5, as I don't want to lose Xposed capability.
     
  13. scythefwd

    scythefwd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    129
    16
    58
    One of the first things I checked. Reboot fixed it. Wonder if one of my favorite spots had a mem leak that's causing the system to close bg apps in order to free up more system resources...
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  14. Schex13

    Schex13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    134
    27
    43
    VA
    So, odd question about flashing. I did the manual fastboot flash to go back to stock and it won't go into stock recovery anymore. I go through the steps and flash the recovery.img and all seems to go well but when I reboot into it all I get is the open android and red triangle with no options. Buttons are not responsive either. The phone wouldn't boot either.

    Then, I flashed CWR and it went into that recovery fine. It's not that big of a deal since I juse CWR regularly anyway, but I'm a bit concerned that I can't do a stock recovery if I wanted to. Any suggestions?
     
  15. rhray

    rhray Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013

    Oct 13, 2013
    100
    63
    53
    I sell human capital
    Dallas, TX
    Is it just me or did Google just remove the "Miscellaneous" battery stat to fix the bug before the factory images were released?

    My battery seriously drains just as fast as during the developer preview. 19% battery left, SOT 48 mins, off the charger just under 24 hours
     
  16. pauladev

    pauladev Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Is there any way to change get the nasty orange colour of the notifications bar at the top of the screen and the Home/recent bar at the bottom? I also don't like the white background to the All Apps widgets and the Google search box. Apparently white or light screens use more power than black.
     
  17. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #204
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    479
    55
    53
    I've had these options enabled on all my Android devices spanning a number of years and have yet to see it actually work.

    I have never seen my next device install apps when I sign in or reuse any data from the previous device. I've always had to start all over again.
     
  18. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #204
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    479
    55
    53
    It irritated me when Google changed the Android YouTube app from white to black and still does.
     
  19. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Orange color? That should only show up when you have battery saver enabled
     
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Black only saves you battery on AMOLED screens, which we don't have.

    (The nexus 5 uses an HD IPS+).


    A more in depth explanation:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/131823/htg...allpaper-save-battery-on-your-mobile-devices/


    Pros/cons:

    https://www.phonegurureviews.com/ips-vs-amoled/
     
    mjpartyboy likes this.
  21. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas

    Someone else explained that white doesn't use any more energy than black on our phones. Orange should only be the color when you have battery saver on (settings>battery>3 dots: battery saver)
     
  22. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    Yeah, on LCD displays all the backlights are on regardless of bright or dark colours. It makes no difference. Dark colours only save battery on LED displays like the ones on the Nexus 6 or other Samsung devices.

    Actually, to really save battery on LED displays everything has to be pure black or it won't make any difference.
     
    #297 sherlock5545, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  23. socialphobia

    socialphobia Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    19
    1
    16
    Sorry for the duplicate post. I initially posted this in a different thread but it closed before I got an answer:

    I've had the OTA notification for a while but it won't install. It downloads and then when it does the reboot I see it trying to update then I get the 'Red Triangle'. It reboots again back to 4.4.4

    Phone was rooted but still using the stock ROM so I did a factory restore, I'm still getting the same issue.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance
     
  24. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Did you do a factory restore or a factory reset? These are different things, and doing one or the other could answer why the update fails.

    A factory reset simply wipes the user data. It won't touch anything changed during the root process.

    A factory restore typically involves reinstalling every piece of the stock software/firmware via flashing the factory image
     
  25. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I responded here:

    http://androidforums.com/index.php?posts/6803593

    I don't know if that helped any.... You may have to go another route instead of using the OTA.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...