1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Lollipop 5.0 [Its out! 11/12]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by charliecc, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Whats the screen say or look like?

    You can attach an image by going to the little paperclip looking icon from the web.
     

    Advertisement

    twright9789 likes this.
  2. twright9789

    twright9789 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013

    Dec 1, 2013
    15
    0
    35
    Sadly, the picture is on my ipad, so I don't know how I could get the images URL. But basically it looks like this...

    http://www.littlegreenrobot.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/ip-multirom-step6.jpg

    Except the top says "MultiROM TWRP 2014-09-14 (v2.8.0)

    2:12 PM Battery: 64%+"


    EDIT: Sadly I seem to be completely failing with the image uploading part. Wait, got it to work, sorta

    Also I bought this phone used from someone on Swappa. I don't remember reading anything about him adding different ROMs, but this is my first Android phone so maybe I just don't know what I'm talking about. That is a likely truth
     
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It looks like the bootloader is unlocked and a custom recovery is installed. I'm not sure if the os is stock or a custom rom. Your best option is probably to install the factory image, but a full image install will wipe the device. Doing a partial image install works most of the time, but not all the time and will sometimes require a factory reset because it didn't install properly.
     
  4. twright9789

    twright9789 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013

    Dec 1, 2013
    15
    0
    35
    Haha, if only I fully knew what all that meant. Like I said, this was owned previously, so I don't know if the previous owner downloaded a custom rom. I know I didn't. All I installed was Nova Prime and AC Display. But how would I go about installing the factory image?
     
  5. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    This is a pretty good step by step guide that I wrote on how to do it.
    http://androidforums.com/android-system-mods-scripts-hacks/706533-guide-how-flash-nexus-factory-image-manually.html
     
    twright9789 likes this.
  6. twright9789

    twright9789 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013

    Dec 1, 2013
    15
    0
    35
    Thank you so much! I'll start working on this and see how it goes. Again, thanks!
     
  7. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    From those of you that have been running it for a little bit longer than me, does battery life start to stabilize after a while? Mine is estimating about 8 hours left from a 80% full battery. I'm assuming I just need to let it settle
     
  8. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    That prediction is solely based on the current usage. So for example if you keep using the phone for an hour and you go from 100% to 80%, it's more or less going to assume your phone will only last 5 hours on a single charge. So don't worry.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Same with the "time to full" estimate for charging.
     
  10. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    A fresh install wipes caches as well. Once those get repopulated it tends to help with performance.
     
  11. BuisyBizz

    BuisyBizz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    21
    1
    16
    Male
    NYC
    So I did the side load of the OAT, aside from a driver issue while the phone was in bootloader mode, no issues.

    I just noticed...has the Gallery app been replaced with Photos?
     
  12. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    Yeah, the AOSP Gallery is no more. You can download alternative ones like Quickpic if you don't like Photos.
     
  13. scythefwd

    scythefwd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    129
    16
    58
    flashed factory image last night.. not sure how I like it yet.. but seems less laggy, but not really any faster
     
  14. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014

    Nov 3, 2014
    10
    4
    16
    The OTA's don't care if you are unlocked or rooted. They do care if your system files are altered or missing. If you are using a stock-based ROM, you should get updates normally. If it has been modified, the OTA will probably be available and download, but you won't be able to install it.

    I've tried it before. I was able to see and download the (kitkat) OTA on my Nexus 4, but it would not actually install. It errored out in the process.

    So long as you are flashing an official google ROM, OTAs should work normally afterwards.
     
  15. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014

    Nov 3, 2014
    10
    4
    16
    Piktures is a good replacement for it. It feels like a stock google app, and has material design UI.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.diune.pictures&hl=en

    Google wants us to use the "Photos" app (which I personally hate). Thats why they removed the Gallery. Photos is supposed to be your Gallery app now.
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The new lollipop OTA does a check on the entire system, not just what its patching anymore.

    Chances are it will fail even if just rooted.
     
  17. biggiephil

    biggiephil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    May 3, 2013

    May 3, 2013
    674
    138
    93
    Male
    Massachusettes
    I think the latest L release is good, I'm at 55% battery with 2hrs and 13m SOT so far, that's pretty good IMO, using Franco's latest r67 as well
     
  18. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    I wish I could join in on the fun you are having. Some family medical stuff has kind of taken over --it will be alright in the long run, not fishing for sympathy-- but right now, with DU 4.4.4 rock solid on my Nexus 5, I'm leaving things as they are while all this consumes me. May be December even before I can get back on the train to Lollipop.

    Have fun, folks. I will be back!
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  19. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Anyone know a way to check the time on battery in the stock battery settings? Its got an estimate of time remaining where it used to be
     
  20. wolfen69

    wolfen69 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    51
    19
    18
    I had to toggle back and forth between MTP and Camera mode several times before windows finally recognized it as a Nexus 5. Then all was well.
     
  21. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    It's not there anymore. There's a way around it if you press on Mobile Standby.
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  22. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    I hate it that all of my pictures are collected in this app. Should be a way to filter it better.
     
  23. Paddy Landau

    Paddy Landau Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    95
    15
    48
    Male
    United Kingdom
    I also don't get on with Photos. I found QuickPic to be superior even to Gallery, though. I'll have a look at the Piktures app that you recommended.
     
  24. 326

    326 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    31
    10
    16
    So if I flash my N5 with 5.0, will I still receive OTA updates e.g. Android 6.0 or do I then have to flash everything going forward?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  25. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    When you flash a factory image, you will get any OTA updates. The only time you won't is when you are running a custom ROM or a preview.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...