1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lollipop SD Card issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rsmith95uk, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    Hi, just installed the UK Vodafone update and according to the storage settings I no longer have an SD Card installed - funny, looks like its there to me!
    I had a dig around and found one or two articles which gave some commands to be run via a screen emulator, but these don't work either.
    I don't currently have access to a card reader, so can't check the contents of the card - so in the meantime, has anyone got any idea what I should try next!
    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    For starters, I would recommend to do a factory reset (do a back-up first).

    I did not have this bug when I installed 5.0 on mine... weird.
     
    rsmith95uk and Mikestony like this.
  3. Klotar

    Klotar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013

    Aug 21, 2013
    166
    44
    53
    I assume by your wording that connecting the G3 to a PC doesn't show the contents of the SD card either (was going to suggest copying everything off, mounting, reformatting and copying everything back on). Possible suggestion also was to power down, remove the SD card, power up, then power down again, reinsert the SD card, power up and see if it's detected/remounted; and while the SD card is out -- check to see if any pins are bent, clean contacts, etc.

    Assuming that you have tried all that, then a factory reset is all I can think of also. Please let us know how you make out as the rest of us will likely be faced with similar soon. Do you have an old/spare SD card you can try?
     
    rsmith95uk likes this.
  4. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    Have tried all the above except a factory reset. Haven't got a spare card at the present, but this will be my next port of call.

    Something else I have just discovered is that in Apps in settings, its showing entries on the SD card???
     
  5. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    Yes, because the device sees a part of the internal storage as an SD card and the physical SD card as "extra SD card".
     
  6. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    thanks, that explains it!
     
  7. Uncle Tupelo

    Uncle Tupelo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    I have exactly the same issue. Tried removing and re-inserting the memory card - the card icon shows on the notification bar momentarily, suggesting the card is about to sync but the icon disappears and all SD options under "Memory" remain greyed out. The card is still readable on my PC.
     
  8. grdh20

    grdh20 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    180
    26
    43
    well this is certainly not good at all..
     
  9. Uncle Tupelo

    Uncle Tupelo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    I copied the data from the card my G3 didn't recognise to my PC, then copied back to another card - the G3 now reads the new card fine. Very strange.
     
  10. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    Thanks Uncle - thats worked for me too.
     
  11. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    It may be that your card is old and (maybe) not compatible with the phone.
    It is also a great possibility that the SD card was not properly formatted and this is why it will not be recognized.
     
  12. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    Hi, my card was working fine in the G3 prior to installing the update!
     
  13. Uncle Tupelo

    Uncle Tupelo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    My card worked perfectly in the G3 prior to the LP upgrade too. It also worked fine in my PC and in my old 4X HD.
     
  14. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    This is weird. I have a 32GB class 10 card and never formatted it since i inserted it in the device. Even when i flashed the 5.0 update it was running smooth.
     
  15. Spaceprobe

    Spaceprobe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    405
    57
    53
    Male
    Retired Nurse
    Brighton. UK
    Yep it seems I do not have an SD card any more! I will pick up a new card and see if i can copy it over
     
  16. Albie999

    Albie999 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    156
    14
    38
    Same problem with mine as well, prior to 5.0 all working fine .. post update, the G3 does not see the card. However, if I put it in my tablet, it can see all the files on it ... so must be something that has happened since the update
     
  17. Spaceprobe

    Spaceprobe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    405
    57
    53
    Male
    Retired Nurse
    Brighton. UK
    Update fitted new SD card yesterday , copied old SD card onto PC (PC had no trouble seeing it) and then back onto new card, works well and battery behaving very well. I got a 16 gb Samsung card from Amazon (had a Kingston before) they seem to get the best reviews and the price was very good. Put loads of music on the Kingston card and fitted it to my cars media system where it is performing very well, so all very odd but so far or is good.
     
  18. meyerweb

    meyerweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    441
    113
    68
    Those who have gotten a new card: try formatting the old one in another device, and see if your G3 will recognize it then.
     
  19. Albie999

    Albie999 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    156
    14
    38
    Card formatted in another device (which it was recognised in), and put back in G3 and now it can be seen. Bit of a weird one I think on this ... still no idea why it could not be seen
     
  20. Albie999

    Albie999 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    156
    14
    38
    Well, maybe I spoke to soon. My SD card was working, and I copied all my music back and it was working. Following day, tried to play music, and it said not found .... it seems the SD card has disappeared again ... really cannot figure this one at all
     
  21. Myren

    Myren Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015

    Feb 5, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I had the same problem, I went to factory reset my phone. When I was just about to select "Erase Everything" my SD Card decided to prepare and worked ... so it is now working and I didn't have to do the reset. Maybe this can work for you guys. Hope this helps.
     
  22. rsmith95uk

    rsmith95uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    22
    1
    36
    London, UK
    Just a quick update - recently had a trip abroad and when I re-started my G3 in flight mode, guess what!! As I couldn't then access my music, I turned it off for the duration of the flight.
    On arrival I restarted & still no SD card, however a few days later, I turned the phone off and on again, and it miraculously re-appeared. Been fine ever since.
     
  23. Ank22

    Ank22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015

    Jun 10, 2015
    3
    2
    6
    Female
    Hi! Ive got lg g2 mini, and yesterday i updated to lollipop. I had the same issue with my sd card, so i formatted it. After i formatted it, it worked well. Today i had to turn off my mobile and when i turned it on, the sd card was gone again! So i had to format it again.
    Now my question is, should i buy a new sd card? Would it happen the same with the new one?
    Please help!
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ank22 likes this.
  25. Ank22

    Ank22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015

    Jun 10, 2015
    3
    2
    6
    Female
    It says that the origin of my sd card is unknown.. does that mean it is fake? Also, it is a pretty old sd card. It was made in September 2010... and it has been used for 3 mobile phones at least... In the end, the best thing to do is to get a new one, right?

    Thank you for your reply! :)
     
    #25 Ank22, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
    EarlyMon likes this.

LG G3

The LG G3 was the 2014 flagship device for LG, and was one of the first smartphones on the market with a 5.5-inch 2560 x 1440 display. It featured a Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB or 3GB of RAM, 16GB or 32GB of internal storage, a microSD card slot, and a 13MP.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...