1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

looking for a radio app with a specific feature

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by mvkiel, Dec 29, 2011.

1. mvkiel

mvkiel Lurker

I'm new to having a smartphone and the options for apps is a little overwhelming and intimidating. I was hoping someone would be able to direct me to an app that satisfies what I'm looking for.

I need a music app that will play my local FM stations and has a built in reminder feature that will let me know when certain radio stations that i select are beginning.

This can be attached to another radio app or be a stand alone app.

Thx for the help.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Sierra255

Sierra255 Well-Known Member

The problem I've found with online radio apps is that there isn't just one that collects all of the online streams and allows you to play them. The station itself signs up with a certain service. The two main ones I know of are IHeartRadio and Radio.com. There are apps for both.

For the second part, I don't know of a radio app that has reminders. I know Radio.com doesn't and I don't remember seeing that feature on IHeartRadio. Someone else may be able to help you better than I can with that part. One thought I had is just setting up a reminder using the Alarm Clock on your phone since most shows start at the same time every day.

3. jikhead

jikhead Android Expert

Check out TuneIn Radio. You'll probably want to setup calendar reminders for your second part you're looking for.

4. mvkiel

mvkiel Lurker

Thx for the help and advice. Will look into your suggestions.

5. Adauth

Adauth Android Expert

+1 for tunein

6. Saltine713

Saltine713 Android Enthusiast

Well this is impossible. A regular FM radio app will play your stations, but not remind you. Same with any other app, as FM radio is not digital, and there is no way to remind or give notification of when a station is "starting".

7. fightingirish