1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Looking for OBD-II App and hardware

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kevineugenius, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. kevineugenius

    kevineugenius Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Student
    Seattle
    Didn't find a single thread using the term OBD so hopefully this isn't a dupe; I know I'm new here and all forum search tools work a little differently. Anyway, found a couple on ebay that look suspiciously uninformative about what exactly you are purchasing, there's a couple on Amazon that look promising but I figured: why not find out if someone has actually bought one of these things?

    Basically I want a bluetooth OBD ii (OBD2) interface, which is what car scanners hook into, that I can link to my phone and use an app to track gas mileage, clear/diagnose errors, and it would be a sweet bonus to get realtime HP and torque stats and that sort of thing as well.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

  3. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    There is a whole thread about it here:

    http://androidforums.com/android-applications/13211-obdii-apps-do-they-exist.html

    I would HIGHLY recommend Torque, great program. As far as the adapter, any will work. I would suggest NOT getting one from ebay, as they do not offer a return policy. I would recommend DealExtreme. It will take about 3 weeks to get here from Hong Kong, but its well worth the wait.

    Here is the one I got:

    $26.03 - OBDII Bluetooth Car Diagnostic Cable - Black + Blue + Orange (DC 12V) - OBD/OBD2 Car Diag. Tools
     
  4. kevineugenius

    kevineugenius Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Student
    Seattle
    Interesting... I guess I need to play with the search function and find out exactly what it looks for. I entered "obd" (without quotes) and it brought up nothing, no idea how it could have missed that thread. Thanks for the link.
     
  5. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    For future reference, its MUCH better to search google with this site, you will get many more relevant results. I.E. type this into google: obd site:androidforums.com
     
    salimundo, Darkseas and bberryhill0 like this.
  6. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Unfortunately DealExtreme uses PayPal. I keep trying but PayPal keeps sucking. Is there anyone who sells this unit who has their own merchant account? Any real business can take credit cards on their own.
     
  7. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    You can find the same unit on ebay, just search "obd bluetooth". Make sure you get the one with the blue and orange sticker, not the one with the blue/white sticker. Just be aware, it will probably take about a month to get it from ebay, and those sellers dont usually have return policies.
     
  8. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    What is the difference between the blue/orange, and Blue/white?

    the blue white is more expensive, but I dont see spec differences, especially since they dont show fully related specs.


    Blue/White:
    software ver: 1.4 W36
    Baud rate: 9600 or 38400
    Operating voltage: 12V, internal protection from short circuits/over voltages
    Nominal idle current: 45 mA
    Multi-Protocol Support:
    SAE J1850 PWM (41.6 kbaud)
    SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 kbaud)
    ISO 9141-2 (5 baud init, 10.4 kbaud)
    ISO 14230-4 KWP (5 baud init, 10.4 kbaud)
    ISO 14230-4 KWP (fast init, 10.4 kbaud)
    ISO 15765-4 CAN (11 bit ID, 500 kbaud)
    ISO 15765-4 CAN (29 bit ID, 500 kbaud)
    ISO 15765-4 CAN (11 bit ID, 250 kbaud)
    ISO 15765-4 CAN (29 bit ID, 250 kbaud)

    Orange/Blue:
    Software v1.4
    * Support OBD-II protocols as follows:
    * ISO15765-4 (CAN)
    * ISO14230-4 (KWP2000)
    * ISO9141-2
    * J1850 VPW
    * J1850 PWM
     
  9. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    From what I read, the blue/white one has an older obd version on it, while the blue/orange one has a more updated one. I got the blue/orange and it works on every car ive tried it on.
     
    w_bovine likes this.
  10. w_bovine

    w_bovine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,248
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,248
    147
    143
    This information es muy bueno. Thanks for elaborating. :)
     
  11. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    After reading this thread I ordered one of the orange labeled ones from eBay and am supposedly getting a free surprise with my shipment too! I was looking at a name brand solution that was about $100 so I'm glad I stumbled upon this thread trying to research the other one.
     
  12. Techno.Digerat

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Did you get a working unit and did everything work the way you wanted it? I ordered one from dealextreme, just like to know your experience so far. Thanks...
     
  13. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    I received the ELM327 device that sitlet posted a link to from Dealextreme and it works very well with Torque in my experience so far. Placing the displays in Torque can be maddening if you're OCD though.
     
  14. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    HAHA i have the exact same problem...
     
  15. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    Seems to work alright. I don't have a boost display which is the 2nd most important one I needed for logging purpose. I also need a knock sensor read but I think those two things aren't readily available via the OBDII port. I read somewhere you can write your own codes for various sensors that aren't showing up but I haven't dug any further into that. I should though because w/o boost or knock it's more of a novelty than a useful tool for me.
     
  16. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    If you have a VW/Audi product, they've added code a release or two ago to make boost work. If you haven't tried it lately, give it another try. I've installed a boost gauge in my A4, so I'm not motivated to see if I can get boost to work on Torque.

    I got it mostly to read DTCs, and, as I seem to have none, I also find it to be a novelty, but an interesting one.
     
  17. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    Yeah, it's a 2007 A4 2.0T. So you mean make sure that Torque is up to date and then try it? I'm not 100% sure but I think when I was using it the other day (had a battery issue so I was tracking voltage) I didn't notice the boost gauge was working. I still have that as one of my six gauges but I wasn't specifically looking at it. I'll have to give it another try. Then all I need is knock readout and I'll order up my methanol injection kit.

    DTC's?
     
  18. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    The changelog for Version 1.4.32 says : Boost fix for VAG/AUDI/VW vehicles (beta).

    Since Torque is now up to 1.4.47, if it doesn't work for you, that's not a good sign, except that the version updates come fast and furious.

    I know this isn't a good place for talking cars, but you really, really want a normal boost/vacuum gauge. I have one in the center vent and love it! If you want more info on that, write me privately.

    Diagnostic Trouble Codes, also called fault codes, or, in the Audi Service Manual, scan tool codes.
     
  19. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    I pickedup the blue/orange one, works better than I thought. I used it to reset the engine light as it went on after I used seafoam. I guess I gunked up a sensor, but after re-doing another cleaning (same day) it cleaned out. But the sensor didn't go away. This unit I got on ebay let me reset it and check if the code was still valid with Torque.

    definitely worth the money!
     
  20. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    For some reason when I access the version on my phone (have to go to Application Manager since the version I have doesn't even have a help or about option in the menu) is only 1.1.29 so it appears as though there have been MANY updates over what I currently have. Wonder why I haven't received any update notifications? I may go to the developer's website to look for the latest version since the Market has failed me this time 'round. Wish me luck that the new version gives me boost!

    Edit: I just realized you're talking about the paid version and I'm still testing the free version. I'm not willing to pay for this until I can get both boost and knock sensors to display.

    I couldn't agree more. In fact, that was the first thing I installed in this car (and just about every boosted vehicle I've owned) before I even did a single mod. I've been a bit of a car buff for a couple decades now and have owned some pretty highly modified vehicles so this ain't my first rodeo. ;)

    Ah, I see. I wasn't sure what it was you were trying to abbreviate there.
     
  21. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    Has anyone used the Torque application in the Market... er... Google Play :)mad:), for monitoring automobile engine functions and seeing fault codes?

    It requires a bluetooth adapter but they're not too expensive. The BAFX ELM327 is only about $20 on Amazon and plugs into the diagnostics port on most modern vehicles. And the pay version of Torque is about $5.

    EDIT: My post got moved from the EVO 4G forum, so I didn't know this post existed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...