1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Looking for someone to help me update...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fletchguy, Jun 27, 2011.

1. Fletchguy

Fletchguy Newbie
    None

Jan 26, 2011
    First let me send out a thank you to all the helpful people here on the forum. That said I am looking for someone to helpwalk me through doing some updates to my rooted evo 4G. I am still a noob at the whole rom and updating and backing up to work around non OTA updates so i apologize and just was wondering if I could find someone to have a bit of patience and teach me as we go through some things.

That disclaimer out front here is what I have. I have the htc evo 4G. I had help originally getting the froyo 2.2 for root on the phone when it first came out so I know I am rooted with a non OTA 2.2 froyo on board. I like the stock HTC sense set up so want to stay as close to that as I can. I havent updated anything since I rooted last year but get the OTA notifications alot. I would like to update the phone to firmware 3.29.x.x.x or whatever is the newest as Im still locked down on the old fps and such fixes since day one froyo. I also would like to update to evo gingerbread with root.

As I said Im new on this I understand the terms but not so much changing and installing. I have busybox and superuser on the phone.I have Astro File Manager free installed and I just added Titanium Backup for root free version to the phone. I think these are what will be needed if not let me know what else I need. I have the sd card in with space but have never done a backup. most of my apps are on the sd card except those that App2Sd can't move. I will need a walk through on how to save the stuff thats on the phone that will be lost during the process..