1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Looking up contacts in Jelly Beans

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mercmobily, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. mercmobily

    mercmobily Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hello everybody,

    I am the proud owner for a Galaxy Nexus. I love this phone, and have Jelly Bean on it.
    Question: with the "old" Samsung mobile, if I wanted to dial "anna" I would simply type 266 -- that's the first 3 numbers to spell "Anna" in the keypad. A list of matching contacts would pop up, with Anna on top.

    Also, if I dialed a number I had already dialed before, the phone would show it. It was very handy to know if I had called somebody before.

    Are these features available for the stock Android system? At the moment, I have to press the magnifying glass at the bottom left hand side, and _type_ with the keyboard the name of the contact I want to call... but this is hardly convenient!

    Thank you,

    Merc.
     

    Advertisement

  2. shelliewnj

    shelliewnj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    848
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    848
    199
    93
    Female
    There is a way to make contacts favorites, you push the star next to their name. You can put a favorites widget on your home screen, I believe. I've never used it, I don't have that many contacts in my phone.
     
  3. Italo

    Italo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    745
    169
    113
    Male
    Student
    Atlanta
    I don't think the stock dialer has that functionality. I use search on the phone or recent calls. I'm pretty sure Dialer One on the Play Store can do what you're taking about.
     
  4. gtbarry

    gtbarry Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    1,898
    736
    223
    Male
    California
    From google, Gesture Search. Simply draw the letter(s) to spell the name until you see the one you want to call:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch


    In my dialer, the middle icon on the top is a clock face and it shows missed, incoming, outgoing calls by contacts with most recent listed at the top. Each has a phone icon to the right you can tap to dial. This is stock for me on 4.2.1 and I believe I have had it since my first iteration of JB
     
  5. boyo1991

    boyo1991 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    574
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    574
    106
    123
    Male
    Claims adjuster
    the internet.
    as far as i know, there isnt this functionallity in all android phones, just make sure you download the apps listed above, all are of good quality! i personally just go to my contacts and type out there name to call them though..
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,617
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,617
    22,101
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    @mercmobily--
    I moved your thread here to your device forum so others can help out:)

    Thanks to all that have responded already!
     
  7. gtbarry

    gtbarry Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,898
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    1,898
    736
    223
    Male
    California
    This should also work for you. You can go to Contacts and create a shortcut on your homescreen. The shortcuts can be general for the contact, or to specifically send them a text or call them, etc.
     
  8. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    671
    68
    78
    Red Sox Nation
    Or you can open Google Now and say call Anna.
     
  9. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #587
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    465
    50
    43
    HTC Sense, certainly v2.1, had the same feature mercmobily talks about and I miss it too. Useful little feature that made it a bit quicker to make a call.
     
  10. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    yeah, most manufacturer skins added this because....well, it makes sense.
    its called T9 dialing or something like that.

    CM10.1 has this built in and i use it all the time...i dont even use my "people" app.

    i am hoping google sees this as a useful feature and throws it in on 4.2.2 or 5.0.
     
  11. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    I've never been interested in T9 as an option, though I've seen this posted before. I've seen Dialer One recommended for those who like that option. Personally, I dial from my history (clock tab in the middle) or my favorites/most called (right tab with the people icon). I think that I call so few people on a regular basis that they are always in the history at the top.
     
  12. patruns

    patruns Member
    Rank:
     #1,519
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    48
    4
    16
    Male
    Long Island, NY
    Just hit the microphone and say "call Anna". It needn't be more complicated than that.
     
  13. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    This is one feature that I miss on my Galaxy Nexus too. Google now works, but at a noisy restaurant or any other place where there are other voices, it has issues.

    I had looked at Dialer One too, and I'm sure it works great. But the permission set bothers me.
    "READ SENSITIVE LOG DATA" - why?
    "PRECISE LOCATION (GPS AND NETWORK-BASED)" - why?

    And
    "FULL NETWORK ACCESS", "APPROXIMATE LOCATION (NETWORK-BASED)" - ok - it is not as bad as Precise location, developer states location & internet permission is for "Yandex geo-search" - whatever that is - targeted ads in maps.

    Personally, I'd prefer an app that just adds T9 dialing, without asking for these permissions. Make it a paid version, that doesn't require these permissions - fine.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...