1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Looks like Nexus One for AT&T 3G passed the FCC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wonderbread, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. wonderbread

    wonderbread Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    703
    297
    113

    Advertisement

  2. Three

    Three Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    50
    0
    35
    NYC
    With any luck, it is the Nexus One for AT&T and not a lazy HTC engineer not wanting to use different model numbers to differentiate the phones :)
    But seriously, this is great. I think it was about a month between FCC filing of the Nexus One and release date. Lets keep our fingers cross, those of use who want a N1 and 3G on AT&T
     
  3. dwd3885

    dwd3885 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    103
    2
    36
    St. Louis, MO
    This would be perfect, but with Tmobile my family would save $30/month, so that is an advantage. I'm not sure AT&T is an advantage for a lot of people. Although it would allow iPhone users who are tired of the platform an upgrade path.
     
  4. Three

    Three Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    50
    0
    35
    NYC
    I'm also on a Family plan but the with the iphone lovers in the house and me being too cheap to pay for a 2nd plan, I'm just hoping for an N1 or good looking Android Phone on AT&T.
     
  5. jblazea50

    jblazea50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    113
    3
    36
    now if this is the N1 that supports AT&T 3G band, does it mean that it will be subsidized through AT&T? if not, can't you just purchase the unlocked version of it and use it with AT&T and get the $15 ($10 if you have $30 unlimited text) data plan and get 3G?
     
  6. dwd3885

    dwd3885 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    103
    2
    36
    St. Louis, MO
    one of the reasons why tmobile is good is that you buy an unlocked phone and then take it to tmobile you actually pay less per month. with att and verizon, you buy unlocked phone and take it there and pay month to month, you get no monthly discount, just the ability to leave whenever you want.
     
  7. jblazea50

    jblazea50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    113
    3
    36
    i am currently with ATT and have family plan (4 total lines) with the $30 unlimited family text and i purchased a N1 and will add the data (yeah i know it's EDGE, but i am around wifi majority of the time) for $10 since ATT doesn't recognize the N1 as a smartphone; so what i was trying to understand is that if the new N1 with ATT 3G band isn't authorized by ATT, will i still be able to get the $10 data plan, instead of the $30 data plan

    right now, if you bring any smartphone that isn't offered by ATT, you can get the unlimted data plan for $15, so i was wondering if that will be possible with the new N1
     
  8. dwd3885

    dwd3885 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    103
    2
    36
    St. Louis, MO
    i'm sure if the nexus one with att band comes out, it will be authorized and thus needing the $30 fee.
     
  9. jblazea50

    jblazea50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    113
    3
    36
    yeah, that's what i was thinking
     
  10. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    no, you just don't tell att what phone you have, I've been on the 15 dollar thing for years with many phones, some att 3g compatible some not.

    you just go online an add the data plan, that's it
     
  11. jblazea50

    jblazea50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    113
    3
    36
    you can only do that if the phone isn't recognized by ATT; i couldn't add the $15 data plan on some of the smartphones that i've had with ATT
     
  12. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    idk, I've stuck my sim in iphones before to check. Sure, if you bring your phone in and show someone and ask of course they're gonna say that. Do you think someone's pouring over records to see who has what phone?..
    there is a line somewhere on a bill I received one time that stated something like,,,, If we catch you using a smartphone on a lesser plan we reserve the right to backdate charges. You know, small print on the bottom somewhere.
    I remember reading that and thinking maybe someone does look.

    there's much info about using the cheaper media net plan in MANY forums.
     
  13. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    copy and paste job




    [​IMG]
    tyj8tim wrote:
    Hello all, I have a question.
    Right now I have unlimited family text for $30. And with that I can get the $10 Unlimited Family Data.
    If I want to upgrade to a smart phone, I'll have to get the mandatory $30 data plan which DOES NOT include text and that's where my unlimited family text will come in.
    So...
    Unlimited family text ($30) + Unlimited family data ($10) = $40
    Data plan ($30) + Unlimited family text ($30) = $60

    The price is $20 difference per month.

    Is there a difference in performance/service?
    In both case, I'll be able to use the 3G network, access the internet....etc. Am I correct?
    If you want to get a smartphone from ATT, you will have to get the $30 data plan. There's no way around that since ALL smartphones require it. Also, if I may add, using the $10 Data Plan with a Smartphone is against ATT's Terms and Conditions.

    2) WIRELESS DATA SERVICE TERMS AND CONDITIONS (applies to all customers)
    I. GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO AT&T'S WIRELESS DATA SERVICES, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO, FEATURES THAT MAY BE USED WITH WIRELESS DATA SERVICES AND WIRELESS CONTENT.

    General Requirements: AT&T provides wireless data services, including but not limited to, features that may be used with wireless data services and wireless content and applications ("Services"[​IMG]. The absolute capacity of the wireless data network is limited. Accordingly, service is only provided for prescribed purposes and pricing for Data Services is device dependent and based on the transmit and receive capacity of each device. A pricing plan designated for one type of device may not be used with another device. Some devices or plans may require you to subscribe to both a voice and a data plan. If AT&T determines that you are not subscribed to the required plan(s), AT&T reserves the right to switch you to the required plan or plans and bill you the appropriate monthly fee. The Services may be subject to credit approval. An activation fee of up to $36 may apply to each new data line. Compatible data-enabled wireless device required.

    I don't believe it has been confirmed, as of yet, if ATT will charge you for the $30 Data Plan if you bought an unbranded phone and tried to use the $10 Data Plan. Personally, I wouldn't take the chance of using an unbranded smartphone and the cheaper plan unless you're willing to pay up IF and WHEN ATT catches up with you.
     
  14. lcrkz0023

    lcrkz0023 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    US
    I have my N1 but has anyone wondered why AT&T Isnt't listed in the coming soon part of the purchasing website like Verizon etc is.....
     
  15. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    I don't buy it either, they list their upcoming android devices on their site. who knows though, right?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...