1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Loosing data when traveling, and also roaming question

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by N9GSU, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. N9GSU

    N9GSU Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    10
    0
    35
    Musician/Comedian
    Indianapolis
    Hi, everyone. Please bear with me as I try to explain what is going on.

    I'd been a Blackberry user for the past several years, and never had any issues at all. I travel a lot, and it's important that I have data while traveling.

    I upgraded to a droid (LG Vipr) because there were more apps available. Now, while traveling, I am CONSTANTLY loosing data coverage. I can still make and receive calls, as well as text with no problem, but there is NO data coverage, and this was never an issue with my Bberry. Same company (sprint), same plan, the only thing that has changed is my phone.

    AND, It's popping up as roaming VERY often...even while in my own home, which has NEVER happened before.

    So, is there something I am doing wrong? Do I need to adjust my network settings? Any help would be much appreciate. The folks at the Sprint store told me "there shouldn't be a problem"....but there obviously is.

    Thanks for any help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    Im no expert but try updating your prl. Go to settings then system updates.
     
  3. N9GSU

    N9GSU Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    10
    0
    35
    Musician/Comedian
    Indianapolis
    OK, I'll give it a try and let y'all know what happens ;)
     
  4. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth

    I hope it works cus if not then I honestly don't know what to tell you.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Have you updated the firmware and software? I know there has been at least one update ...iny opinion I would also think there would be another soon as more LTE sites come up.
     
  6. N9GSU

    N9GSU Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    10
    0
    35
    Musician/Comedian
    Indianapolis
    I have. I'm going to be traveling tomorrow to one of the areas where this has happened, so we shall see if it happens. It's not happened at home again, since I did this.
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Awesome. Keep me updated, I will have my Viper in hand over the weekend
     

Share This Page

Loading...