1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root lost my root when i installed 2.2 leak. is there anyway to downgrade to 2.1 that is simple?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by incrediblenotinstock, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    i want to be able to do wireless tether but for some reason when i installed 2.2 leak i cant do things that i usually do with root. i need a way to downgrade back to 2.1 easily
     

    Advertisement

  2. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
  3. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    thank you :) is it easy?
     
  4. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    yeah I just walked someone through it. Its not that much different than rooting the X on 2.1
     
    incrediblenotinstock likes this.
  5. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    I used to 1 click root for 2.1 because im stupid and dont know how to use command prompt. Think you could gimme a walkthrough?
     
  6. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    uh yeah
    turn off debugging on your phone then plug it in and put it in media sync mode when its done installing the drivers turn on debugging and let it install the drivers again
     
  7. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
  8. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    download the sdk
    here and put the tools folder from it on your desktop
     
  9. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    alright gotcha sorry for being a hassle btw
     
  10. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    open up a cmd and do
    "cd location"
    where location is where you paste the address of your tools folder, mine is like

    cd C:\Users\Jeff\Desktop\tools

    and then press enter and then do "adb devices" enter and what happens
     
  11. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
  12. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    open up the tools folder and copy the address bar

    open up a command prompt and do
    "cd pastehere" press enter
    then do
    "adb devices" enter
     
  13. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    it says the system cannot find the path specified
     
  14. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    if you put the tools folder on your desktop then do "cd location" then type "adb" what happens
     
  15. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    i have the tools folder on my desktop. what do you mean by cd location? type it in command prompt?cause when i do that it just says " the system cannot find the path specified "
     
  16. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    for me I do
    cd C:\Users\Jeff\Desktop\tools
     
  17. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    what does cd stand for? and when i type in C:\User\Marc\Desktop\tools, it says it is not a recognizable internal or external command
     
  18. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    change directory, you need to point it at the tools folder

    so do
    cd C:\User\Marc\Desktop\tools

    then
    adb devices
     
  19. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    the system cannot find the path specified =[
     
  20. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    are you copying and pasting the address bar from your tools folder
     
  21. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    hey i think i got it! is it supposed to say "list of devices attached" then a bunch of letters and numbers?
     
  22. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    yes you did it:D:D
    now take the contents of this file and put them all in the tools folder
    Here

    and then start doing these commands

    - adb push Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk
    - adb push su /sdcard/su
    - adb push busybox /sdcard/busybox
    - adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - adb shell
    - cd data/local/tmp
    - chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - let the process run until it 'kicks' you out (may take a minute or two)
    - cd c:/wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is
    - adb devices (to verify the connection)
    - adb shell (you should now have a # prompt, if not return to ./rage step above)
    - mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
    - cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/su
    - cp /sdcard/busybox /system/bin/busybox
    - chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    - chmod 4755 /system/bin/busybox
    - mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - exit
    - exit
     
    crentist likes this.
  23. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    so move droid2root.rar into my tools folder?
     
  24. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    no whats inside of it to the tools folder
     
  25. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    it says windows cannot open the file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...