1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Lost Root? :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hapworth, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. hapworth

    hapworth Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016

    Feb 19, 2016
    29
    11
    18
    Hey All,

    So after a frustrating run at getting root (using KingRoot, running as many apps as possible, making sure I don't have a Task Manager running)... I managed to get it after using the Desktop App, navigating the menus, having it reboot my phone a few times, errors with processes closing, and it saying it failed. Trying the App on the phone again nailed it. I was ecstatic.

    I installed Titanium Backup and it said I have root. I would still see apps and processes dying, so I reboot. And it still seems fine.

    After a second reboot, I apparently lost root. The Desktop App now won't let me run it anymore (there is a lock icon? Can't read Chinese) and the app no longer works.

    Any ideas? I'm just here trying over and over and it's super frustrating.

    One thing that might be important was Google Play kept updating apps during this process. Could there be something that installed that undid all of this? And if so, is there anything I can do to undo that?

    Thanks.
    -h
     

    Advertisement

  2. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,068
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,068
    5,638
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Go into settings-apps-(each Google apk) and uninstall updates then force stop the app, including the Play Store. Reboot.
     
  3. hapworth

    hapworth Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016

    Feb 19, 2016
    29
    11
    18
    Hey thought I'd come back to write an update. I managed to get root back by just constantly trying some combination of the Desktop app and the Phone app.

    I don't know if it means anything but whenever my phone would reboot, I'd make sure to unlock the lock screen. In an earlier attempt, I didn't touch it for a long time. When I finally got too curious, I unlocked it and there was a dialog from a root app that was waiting for me to push OK or something (one of the possible solutions that KR attempted).

    After which, I made sure I had the TWRP and replacement ROM (Carbon) to flash right away and it all worked out.

    Now I'm having SD Card issue... but that's for another thread I suppose.

    Thanks for all the support though!
    -h
     
    bcrichster likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...