1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root lost root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by "idroid", Mar 29, 2010.

  1. "idroid"

    "idroid" Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    somehow i lost root using rom manager and cyanogen 5.0.5. how can i gain root back?
     

    Advertisement

  2. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    That's odd... but you should be able to just use the original update.zip you used to get root (back before you even had a custom recovery) to regain root.
     
  3. "idroid"

    "idroid" Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I used sholesmod to gain root
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    [quote="idroid";492528]I used sholesmod to gain root[/quote]

    So then download DM Updater and do it again :D
     
  5. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    If it's just your root access for apps is being denied try and update the busybox. People have problems with that sometimes.
     
  6. "idroid"

    "idroid" Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Can't use dmupdater because it just wants me to update to the new version. I tryed to install a nandroid from clockwork recovery and it says mismatch. I guess I'm ****ed
     
  7. "idroid"

    "idroid" Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
  8. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    This is exactly why Sholes/DroidMod is a stupid idea. I wouldn't know what to do either if I had a magical program do everything for me and then not tell me how to fix it.

    He needs to use the update.zip for root. Cause I'd say to try and fix busybox's permissions but to chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox he needs root first! :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...