1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Support Lost tether under ICS, ICS no like ad hoc networks now

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lock-N-Load, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    Last night and for last 2 weeks I have been using Wireless Tether 2.0.7 to tether my Prime to my OG rooted Droid.

    Now, after ICS today, no joy. I have tried every fix I can think of. I have tried 4 tether apps. Nothing. It was fine under HC and broke under ICS.

    It seems now that under ICS the Prime sees the tethered Droid as an ad hoc network - something that was fine under Honeycomb and now.. no joy

    f***
     

    Advertisement

    Ramzes13 likes this.
  2. Ramzes13

    Ramzes13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    269
    49
    63
    Electonics Geek
    NJ
    now i know, and knowing is half the battle, thank you. I will not upgrade to ics now...unless a fix is found.
     
  3. ryguy5254

    ryguy5254 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    75
    8
    16
    Wow, that is a drag, I hope there is a fix soon!
     
  4. ryguy5254

    ryguy5254 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    75
    8
    16
    Actually, nevermind, works for me.
     
  5. agentjonnyb

    agentjonnyb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    28
    2
    16
    How'd you get it to work? It's not letting me do it, and I'm getting extremely angry about this, they had no business putting in this BSSI/Ad-hoc limit nonsense!
     
  6. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Tether apps do not work.

    Native tether apps do. If you're running a ROM that has that has that, ie. CM7, tethering still works fine.

    If you need that option, try a different ROM.
     
  7. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I have a 19 page thread on this on XDA to try to get a solution.

    SOME people using tether apps it DOES work for. So that is not entirely true and a bit over simplified. And for those that have native tether - either in their phone or in their selected ROM - seem to have no issues.

    Either way, it worked perfect under Honeycomb and now, due to an ad hoc change under ICS, is busted.

    IF we can get ICS on the Prime back to accepting Ad hoc networks like Honeycomb did, it can work. It has to do with the wpa_supplicant file needing to be sent to the Prime to tell it to accept ad hocs.
     
  8. ryguy5254

    ryguy5254 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    75
    8
    16
    My rooted Galaxy Nexus can wirelessly tether to my TFP, or rather the other way around.
     
  9. ryguy5254

    ryguy5254 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    75
    8
    16
    I think I just jinxed my self, it doesn't work now, and I seem to lose connectivity to the data network. I have to reset my GN.
     
  10. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Yeah I post over there as well, even though I try and avoid XDA whenever possible..

    but yes, I did simplify it, however it seems in general native tether apps have a MUCH greater chance of working, while I don't think anyone could verify having a working copy of wireless tether.

    Im sure it's going to depend on the phone and ROM, but CM7 does work just fine for me. I did need to connect twice to get the tab to connect initially, but it's been 100% since.
     
  11. agentjonnyb

    agentjonnyb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    28
    2
    16
    I don't know if this helps at all, but I'm on Syndicate ROM 1.2, it is a froyo ROM...it came with a wifi tether app, and like some of you, the Prime was able to connect to it while on HC, but not on ICS. Suppose there will be a command that we could use in Terminal Emulator once we root ICS?

    I also found this thread that may have a fix (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=754961), same issue with ad-hoc, shows some kinda patch, but I'm not sure it'll work, testing now, I think they mean use it on your phone so it hides the ad-hoc from the device you are trying to connect with (in this case, Prime) so it will connect?

    Idk bout you guys, but I think this is DEFINITELY an issue we need to scream at Google for, this change was completely unnecessary and very wrong.
     
  12. Richman21

    Richman21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    452
    320
    108
    Male
    Financial Analyst
    Albuquerque
    Mine too, just fine.
     
  13. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    wpa_supplicant is likely going to be the fix - it tells the Prime to allow ad hoc connections again under ICS. The trick is, we need a "correct" wpa_supplicant file for ICS. I tried one yesterday and it did not work.
     
  14. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    The easiest solution would be to flash a rom that uses the native hotspot tethering app. If you don't want to do that I would go to your phone's forum and tell them the trouble you are having and see if there is a way to make the WT into something other than an ad hoc network. Trust me, you aren't the only one that has had this issue. There are many devices that don't like ad hocs. There has to be a way around it.
     
  15. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    there is an app on the market that doesn't need root that uses the phone's native Wi-Fi tether/hotspot feature. The problem is that it's compatibility is very device specific. There is a two day trial to see if it works on your phone, and the full version is 10 dollars. It's called "Wifi Hotspot and USB Tether" by SVTP. It works on my galaxy nexus, for those who have that phone.
     
  16. Richman21

    Richman21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    452
    320
    108
    Male
    Financial Analyst
    Albuquerque
  17. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I have tried beta 3,6,9 and 10... so have many others. No joy. the 2.0.7 app worked fine before ICS. More and more people are reporting the issue under ICS. But our tablet is the first with ICS so...

    Yep, I know this is not a new issue in general.
     
  18. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009

    Mar 11, 2009
    296
    6
    36
    Im using AOKP Crespo 4G Milestone 2 Rom and the native tethering app does not work for me. Bluetooth is working tho. Ill use that till XDA comes up with something.
     
  19. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009

    Mar 11, 2009
    296
    6
    36
  20. Richman21

    Richman21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    452
    320
    108
    Male
    Financial Analyst
    Albuquerque
    Stock everything except for being rooted. I downloaded wifi_tether_v3_1-pre115.apk

    I can wifi tether perfect.

    VZW Nexus
     
  21. fuzzer

    fuzzer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    10
    4
    16

    I use this with my fascinate, it works. You have to play with the device profiles to make sure it is using infrastructure....

    always had issues with ad-hoc on my archos, didn't know HC "supported" it, so I never tried it, just sticking with infrastructure...
     
  22. bmacgyver

    bmacgyver Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    49
    27
    23
    Maryland
    This is what I use with my Galaxy Nexus, and it has been flawless before and after ICS. $10 well spent.
     
  23. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    USB wire tethering.. no thanks and with native tetheing, then VZW is likely aware of it and you will see that VZW tether notice? Plus, dont even think the Droid is supported and $10 no go for me. Not a viable option.

    Just want in ICS what I had hours before in HC.
     
  24. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    It is deeper than that. Even selecting different phone profiles does NOT guarantee your phone will have the infrastructure setting reveled. Mine does not and the same for many. The thread I have over at XDA is over 20 pages and many of us have tried betas 3,6,9,10, etc and many many different devices profiles and your phone will limit - even by selecting a different deice - what setting options you see. For example, under no phone profile I select - and I have tried them all nearly - is an "infrastructure" option reveled. You get WEXT, Auto, Netd, Softap never infrastructure. Some also get revealed different LAN options.

    Point is, it is not just device profile choices, but your actual phone.
     
  25. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Per site rules, refer to this post http://androidforums.com/3782020-post1.html tether talk will no longer be discussed, thanks:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...