1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Lost zooming capability after rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jef400dread, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    So I used the "one touch" root method that I found in these forums, I think it was from Alldroid. Anyway so now I can no longer multi touch to zoom. Anyone else notice this or have an idea for the fix?

    Also I have no cursor while typing in this box...?
     

    Advertisement

  2. android2dev

    android2dev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    32
    4
    16
    Entrepreneur/Mobile Developer
    Did you remove the .apk named ZoomService.apk?
     
  3. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Whoa, my pinch zoom also doesn't work in the stock browser. I did the one click root yesterday. No idea if pinch zoom worked before rooting. I don't use the stock browser.

    Pinch zoom still works fine in dolphin and xScope. I didn't touch zoomservice.

    I don't have any zoomservice running either. Should I?

    Pinch zoom does work in camera roll.

    Are there any other stock apps to test in?
     
  4. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    android2dev
    No i did not remove it, i dont see it in my list either. I used titanium to remove Bloat, i only see Zoom Mode 1.0.2 that i backed up after glancing at this reply about an hour ago...

    lexluthor
    i cant pinch to zoom on camera either, i didnt know that was an option before rooting, so if it was, then yeah i lost that too
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Make sure the website you're testing on is a full desktop site, and not the mobile versions.

    Pinch to zoom has never worked for mobile sites in the stock browser, as they are already optimally formatted for the screen (or so it thinks).
     
  6. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    OOOOOk, somehow i fixed it. All i did was i went into titanium again, which upon launch instructed me to go to settings, applications, and check Unknown sources. I had checked if i had zooming capability since then (i didnt) then i went to a picture that i took with the device to test zoom capability there, IT WORKED.Then for the hell of it, i went back to the web browser, now its working fine. Still no pinch to zoom on camera functions, but i havent tinkered around with the settings there, and dont care about that enough to.


    Thanks guys...?
     
  7. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Ok. I bet that's why it didn't work for me. It's fine on another site I tried.
     
  8. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    yeah, i got it working, and it was for this site, and the full autotrader.com site. NOT mobile verisons
     
  9. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    I don't know what's going on but I keep losing my pinch to zoom ability. Idk if its something that's triggered by autotrader.com's site (not the mobile version) but it will affect any other site I go to after that until I do a battery pull
     
  10. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I did the 1 click root and still have my zoom functions.
     
  11. mwpeck

    mwpeck Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    157
    10
    38
    I have never had Pinch-to-zoom on the camera, not sure if its a setting you need to change but the second I activated my phone and started playing with it I HAD to use the volume buttons to zoom with the camera. Tried pinch-to-zoom a million times on it and its never worked.

    As for pinch-to-zoom on the browser, have you tried another browser?
     
  12. jef400dread

    jef400dread Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    No, i've only used the standard browser that came on the phone. I think i have isolated the problem to New Cars, Used Cars - Find Cars at AutoTrader.com (again NOT the mobile version- i like to have the full function search capabilities) and after doing a broad search, that lists many vehicles to view, if i click on the "view larger photos" link, that seems to be when i lose the pinch to zoom. I did figure out a way to restore that function easier than a battery pull, i close all browser windows, open up a new google page, then select Classic version at the bottom. That fixes it. Still must be some kind of bug or something in autotrader's page that screws with android.
     

Share This Page

Loading...