1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Lost

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SmithO77, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. SmithO77

    SmithO77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012

    Feb 12, 2012
    16
    0
    15
    My S3 is from Bulgaria, I'm in Canada. I've tried checking for the 4.3 Update over the air & it says there's none avaliable which I know is not true. I tried Kies but it says my Firmware is not recognized. So my only choice is through Sammobile but I'm seeing 4 different codes for Bulgaria. I'm seeing VVT, BGL, GBL & MTL. Does it matter which one I flash? I believe the VVT & MTL are carriers, mine came unlocked.

    Here's some info on my S3

    AP: I9300XXBLH1
    CP: I9300BULG2
    CSC: I9300EURBLH1

    Any help would greatly be appreciated. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    908
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    I trust your Bulgarian Samsung SIII is a GT-i9300 model ?

    Check here by entering the codes :

    Firmwares | SamMobile | Page 2

    To download it you'll need to register at SamMobile, use any old email addy to do so. They provide just about every official firmware Samsung release.

    I see you've checked, I doesn't matter really as long as you install a non branded GT-i9300 firmware. As you are in Canada Samsung Kies or an OTA check will connect to your local server and tell you it is not available as they won't carry firmwares for your Bulgarian CSC code in Canada.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. SmithO77

    SmithO77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012

    Feb 12, 2012
    16
    0
    15
    Thanks for the reply. Actually before I was informed of a software update over the air for the 4.1 Jelly bean update (think it was 4.1) & was able to update it. I didn't like it so I went back to 4.0.1. So I don't know why I can't pick up these updates unless Samsung made some major changes. Also if there's any issues like battery drain or UI going slow, would installing a different Bulgaria Rom solve anything? Just to be sure it's okay to install either 4 correct?
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Couldnt the OP just take a UK unbranded firmware or would the modem not work?
    p.s. once you flash 4.3, DONT try to flash anything below that :thumbup:
     
  5. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    908
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    The best thing the OP can do is check what frequencies his network uses and see if they match the Bulgarian ones. It would appear that so far they appear to have had no problems, so I would imagine any international stock firmware would be OK. While some modems that come with different firmwares may be better, I believe they all should work.

    The OP has, as they have said, have to play a bit of a guessing game. There are two different stock ROMs for Bulgaria. I have absolutely no idea on any differences.
     

Share This Page

Loading...