1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

lots of awake calls when screen off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Noticed I've been getting a lot of awake calls since putting on revolution with ninphetimine.
    before updating my awake calls pretty much tied in with my screen on time.

    I've checked account sync, latitude etc and they are configured as before.
    Any ideas on what can be causing this or how I can find out?


    Looking at the battery usage breakdown nothing seems too much out of the ordinary.
     

    Advertisement

  2. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Theres an app called betterbatterystats here tells you your top wakelocks. It can be a bit complicated to understand but gives you an idea.
     
    Hawker likes this.
  3. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Does this look reasonable to you?
    Seems like too many wakelocks to me

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Definately to many wakelocks. Did you use the betterbatterystats app?
     
  5. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Not yet. Looks a bit complicated.
    Looks like I'm going to have to give it a try tho
     
  6. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    i got this app and don't understand a word of it!!!!!
     
  7. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    It is a bit complicated. Best thing to do is install the app, open it up press menu then actions then set custom ref. Then leave your phone for about an hour without using it. After an hour choose partial wakelocks from the top drop down menu and choose since custom ref from the 2nd drop down menu.
    This will give you a list of the top wakelocks while your phone was asleep for the last hour.

    Even better if you can leave your phone over night and then check the wakelocks, gives you a more acurate list.
     
  8. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    and what are wavelocks/what do they do?
     
  9. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've just downloaded Android System Info. See if this gives me any clues...

    Also, I've done a *#*#4636#*#*
    And the Usage stats option is reporting Go Launcher as most cpu time which is reasonable, but strangely, high on the list also are:
    Contacts
    KitchenPro
    JuiceDefender (which I have now disabled to see what happens)
    Samsung TTS
    Voice Search
     
  10. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Wakelocks keep the phone awake.
    A lot of people say that battery saving apps can drain more energy than they save.
     
  11. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I disabled JuiceDefender, but the wakelocks continue.

    I'm not sure if this is wifi related perhaps.
    I'm going to switch off wifi for the next hour to compare.

    By the way, in the list of available wifi networks, this scans+refreshes itself every 6 seconds. Is this normal?
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I hope so, as mine does it too. :)
     
  13. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Cheers slug. Seems a little excessive to me, but obviously this must be the norm.

    I switched wifi off at the notification bar and kept it off for a couple of hours, and there were hardly any wakelocks. Apart from 1 or 2 stray ones, they coincided with the screen-on time.

    I put wifi on again at the notification bar about an hour ago and strangely the wakelocks seem to be behaving themselves as per when wifi was off.

    confused.com

    I have now installed modem KI1, so I shall see if this makes any difference with regards to these spurious wakelocks, and the DNS problems I'm getting when connecting to my works router.
     
  14. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro


    Let me know if KI1 is any good
     
  15. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Will do Rich.
    I dont think it will make too much difference to be honest, but we shall see....
     
  16. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro



    my batt stats are pretty good averages use today few calls txts browsing etc 13.5 hrs on and down to 40%
     
  17. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I'm on 67% after 8 hours.
    My wakelocks definitely seem to be wifi related but I cant put my finger on it.
    I'm hoping this KI1 version of the modem will make a difference but I'd be surprised.
     
  18. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro

    cool yeah i'm still bit confused by wavelocks I'll get there
     
  19. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Have you checked your wakelocks without JD running but with wifi on?
     
  20. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I tried disabling JD but didnt seem to make a difference.
    I've disabled it now and installed Y5 Battery Saver for now to see how this affects the WL's
    If that makes no difference, I'll uninstall the 2 of them and see what that does.

    I've a feeling it may be maps, even though i've got not detection set in latitude.
    If I go into Running processes, I often see 2 instances of Maps in there, which drops to 1 and back up to 2 within the space of a minute or 2. and In view cached processes, there are 3 instances in there, also one of accuweather even tho i've not got it in any of my homescreens
     
  21. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Are you signed in to latitude?
     
  22. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I havent specifically signed in, but if I open Latitude, it says "sign out of latitude" so I assume I am signed in.
     
  23. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Sign out of latitude then compare your wakelocks.
     
  24. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Latitude automatically signs me in when i open it. When opened there is an option to sign out of latitude. If i click this, close latitude, and open it again, the option is there again to sign out. Not sure if it automatically signs you out on close?

    Trouble being, I've not gone into latitude before in the first place to get these wakelocks, so if this is the cause of the problem, what is signing me in? I cant see an option in Maps
     
  25. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Once signed-out, Latitude will remain inactive unless you specifically rejoin i.e. open it. Bear in mind that "Maps" can indicate a service as well as the actual Google app itself; anything that does geolocation will use this service.
     

Share This Page

Loading...