1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LOTS of Questions!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Curtita1, Jul 27, 2011.

1. Curtita1

Curtita1 Member
    None

Jul 20, 2011
    Registered Nurse for 17 yrs
    Jesup, Ga
    Sorry, lots of questions, but figured it was better to put all in one thread versus starting a thread for each category/question. I apologize in advance for any redundancy.

1.I'm a total noob to android, and don't know what many of the abbreviations/acronyms or terms mean. I am only listing the ones I've come across and don't know so far. PLEASE ADD ANY YOU THINK I WILL NEED TO KNOW.

They are:
    OTA
    RFS
    Flashing
    Overclocking
    Skins (I sorta know what they are, but not exactly.)

2. UI's and Rooting: I am not a total technotard, and can navigate a pc decently, but have no idea where to start here. I know Kelmar posted a link for GB I think....but see that there are others and need some info on each as far as the pros and cons to each UI. Please post any that I've missed as well as why you like what you're using. I am looking for smooth, quick response when moving between apps/screens, etc, and the best web browsing. I have found that I web browse more than I realized.

I know there's:
    Gingerbread
    Altered Beast
    Humble
    Gummycharged

Also, if there is a link somewhere for rooting for dummies that explains everything, I'd love to for you to post it! For example, I know I need to root, but have no idea how to back up my phone yet. Once I root, I have NO idea what to do next. I have no idea how to install and use ROMs.

Browsers: I'm using Dolphin HD right now. Like it pretty well, but don't like that I can't get back to the top of a page without scrolling all the way back up. Would love to hear what browser you're using and what you like about it.