1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Loud Volume Warning

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sfdroidinc, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. sfdroidinc

    sfdroidinc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    19
    7
    16
    Hello folks. If there is one bad feature of the Moto X...it's that it is always warning me about how excessive volume can damage my ears when the volume is up about 75%...

    Moto X, you're not my mother! Sometimes I need to hook it up to my bluetooth speaker or car and turn that music up. I cannot find a way to turn off this warning. Please Moto X, let me enjoy my rock and roll.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    Mine only showed the warning twice so far in 2 weeks. I think it stops eventually.
     
  3. edcooper714

    edcooper714 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    169
    23
    38
    I have the same warning popping up ever single time. I too am connected to my car stereo via Bluetooth and it's a big pain while driving to have to deal with.
    Help from anyone?
     
  4. AVSkillet

    AVSkillet Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    93
    10
    18
    Male
    Electrician
    Southern California
    I had this problem occur on my Motorola RAZR also. I thought maybe it was a jellybean thing built in, or Motorola's. Either way, I have not figured out how to stop it. And it doesn't go away!
     
  5. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,083
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,083
    2,665
    533
    Female
    AZ
    I am thinking that this is not just a Moto thing as I am almost sure that I have seen my Samsung devices send me this notice also.
     
  6. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    538
    151
    103
    Male
    Senior nuclear reactor operator
    Pittsburgh, PA
    It must be a jellybean+ thing, as my s3 did it.

    It does it once after each reboot of the phone.

    Justin
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  7. sfdroidinc

    sfdroidinc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    19
    7
    16
    Yeah, I think anytime you power off the phone, it brings the warning back.. I never had it on my htc phones, that's why I thought it was a Motorola thing, because I had it on my Razr M too... maybe it's an Android thing if Samsung is doing it too.
     
  8. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,971
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,971
    3,604
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    To be fair, it's far better than the old "low volume" all android phones had to "protect" people.

    I like the warning: it tells me when I'm going to lose my hearing, then it let's me decide :)
     
  9. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    The warning is annoying, and IMO, should only be active if you actually have headphones plugged in.

    Anyway, if you're rooted you can install xposed and disable it with a module.
     
  10. jateed

    jateed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Do you happen to know which module does that?
     
  11. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    You'd want to get Gravity Box for kit kat. I need to update mine...realized I'm still on version 2.8.2.:p

    Link

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jateed

    jateed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    I'm running Jelly Bean and have Gravity Box for that OS, yet for some reason there is no option for me under Media Tweaks. Any idea why that is?
     
  13. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    It should definitely be somewhere in there. I just looked at the Jelly Bean feature list and it's definitely mentioned ("--- Option to control safe headset media volume").

    Maybe try to reinstall the latest version?
     
  14. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I believe it's a requirement imposed by EU legislation, mandated for all devices regardless of operating system.
    Unfortunately it never stops showing the warning of its own accord.
     
  15. jateed

    jateed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Thank you krouget. I'll give that a shot and let you know what I come up with. Also, just to make sure I'm not oblivious, I've attached a screenshot of my media tweaks in GB JB 3.1.0
     

    Attached Files:

  16. jateed

    jateed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Just uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled, reactivated, rebooted, and still no option under media tweaks (or anywhere else I looked in the app). Am I the only person who has had this problem? I see very few people with these issues, which leads me to believe that I got a crappy version of JB (and should probably go the custom rom route).
     
  17. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    Looking at your screenshot (not seeing virtual buttons and some other indicators), are you using a Moto X or some other device? I'm speculating, but there's a possibility that the feature list is different for each device. The Moto X is pretty close to vanilla, so it likely has a fuller feature list.

    Only other thing I could suggest would be to try contacting the GB dev in the JB link.
     
  18. jateed

    jateed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    I am using an Optimus F3 (VM), not a Moto X. I was initially posting a thread in the appropriate forum (that got me nothing), but the thread suggestions showed this one, so I thought to post here and see if I could get an answer. The OS I'm running is a little tweaked since it is LG, but not too different. I'm guessing it is just that the rom is poorly done, and I will have to move onto a custom rom to get these issues fixed. Also, I've posted in the XDA thread for GB JB, but nothing came of it. If you can think of anything, I'd appreciate it. Otherwise, thank you anyway for trying.
     
  19. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    Ok, that makes more sense. Doing a brief search, it sounds like you're on to something, regarding the ROM. I'm not sure which one you're using, but the quoted comment from the dev, below, validates your idea. Seems like a different ROM is the way to go (or if you like your current ROM, emailing the dev to support the feature(s)).

    "Next thing, GB is a complex module and is not suitable for 1 purpose scenario. This means, if you are running custom ROM built from source (CM, PAC, ...), and you are missing a certain feature, your best option is to go ask creators of those ROMs to implement those additional features. Supplementing missing features on well-known custom ROMs built from source by installing xposed modules (especially complex ones) is definitely not a good way to go and can cause more trouble than good."

    Source

    Cheers!
     
  20. Dmark

    Dmark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    50
    3
    16
    Any program that let's you set up a sound profile (Such as Sound Manager 2) or change settings based on an event (Trigger, Tasker) could be used to set the volume to the exact level you want and the warning will not show. The warning only seems to pop up using the volume buttons.

    You could use those apps to put a shortcut or widget on the home screen that sets the volume, or Tasker/Trigger can be used to set you volume when you plug in headphones or connect to a device.

    That's how I avoid dealing with the warning anyway. It is annoying. When I connect to my bluetooth stereo in the car, I want the Moto set to max volume because that output sounds best, and I control the volume of my stereo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...